We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM”
Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kenilworth, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A GEM”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent the past weekend at Top Notch Resort and could not have been more pleased.
The staff was exceptional….helpful and exceedingly pleasant. We ate at the 2 places there and the food was excellent…The Roost (bar and light food) and Flannel…again service tops.
The resort has been updated very recently. Our room clean, good sized and airy. They have a spa, indoor pool and 2 outdoor pools which, because of time, we were not able to take advantage of. The landscaping is appropriate to the area and well done.
We felt Top Notch is elegant/rustic. All that has been done to update the resort is tops.
If we ever return to that area, we would go back. We are very happy to give it a 4+ to 5 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    201
    97
    37
    23
See reviews for
272
392
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We experienced excellent, friendly customer service, delicious and healthy gourmet food, and thoughtful and well trained employees in this newly updated resort. We made arrangements for our dog to stay with us and found the resort to be very welcoming to her.
This is a clean and well maintained resort beautifully set in the mountains with a lot to do. A wonderful place to relax and nurture the soul.

Room Tip: Dog accessible rooms are on the first floor and were excellent in all ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onawhim4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at TopNotch for a wedding and found it to be a clean, comfortable resort. The bed was very comfortable. The spa was very nice. Our only issue was the location of our room on the backside of the hotel. When you are in such a nice environment with clean mountain air you want to have the windows open. Unfortunately, our room was directly over the entrance that was used by the catering staff to load and unload all of the food and supplies, so all we heard was a cart going back and forth...and back and forth...and back and forth. Get a room with a view to avoid this -- the front desk acknowledged that this was an issue when we checked out. We also experienced a fire alarm go off on Sunday night of a holiday weekend at 10 pm and had to evacuate for 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Get a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Soulshine3620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie M, General Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. I am so sorry that we did not have a room with a view for you when you arrived. We work very hard with our reservations department and in managing our website to make sure that we are assigning the appropriate rooms. There are many categories of rooms, and would have to look into what was booked. During our summer months, we do have a lot of catering in the hotel, and have many weddings and social events I also apologize for the fire alarm going off during your stay with us as well. I know it was a false alarm, however, safety is a primary concern for all of our guests. I am happy to know that the rest of your stay was good, and I hope that you consider visiting us again in the future! Please let me know if I may be of assistance to you with further bookings.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Mehail
General Manager
Topnotch Resort
802-253-6490
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Basically a mountain resort where the relax is the most important thing. Everything is studied to make relax being the most important thing when staying at Topnotch Resort.
The rooms are clean and spacious, overall sense of clean and organisation, pools are perfect, heated (i stayed in April).
Great food and lots of hiking and things to do. Simply perfect !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RealBusinessReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Recently stayed 3 nights at Topnotch for a wedding. The resort has undergone extensive renovations, and it looks great.
The most impressive part of the experience was the customer service. Every staff member I met was friendly and helpful and seemed eager to assist. We actually stayed in an adjacent townhouse (perfect), and with a quick dial we could get the townhouse cleaned, more coffee to brew ... even room service from the main hotel!
The main restaurant is "Flannel" and all our meals were cooked to order and fresh. The breakfasts especially were excellent. There is also an inside/outside bar with a firepit ... great for an after dinner drink with friends. The resort also has three pools. Both of the two outdoor pools are heated and there are hot tubs inside and out as well. Did I mention the spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield?
As for the wedding, it was fantastic. The ceremony was held in a meadow with views of the mountains, and the reception was in a tent ... also in the meadow.

Room Tip: - The townhouses are a good option if you have more than two people. - There is a great spa, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RootBeerFloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great outdoor pools, hot tub and lounging area, cool bar/dining area called The Roost, well-equipped fitness facilities where guests can even take yoga and other classes, even a personal trainer available on site. The facilities at Topnotch Resort really are just that. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed, the staff is helpful and friendly. We thought Topnotch Resort hit every note just right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coloradogirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Do not miss the Top Notch get away experience in Stowe, VT! I pride myself on finding the "it place" in any travel destination and Top Notch is it!

The grounds and rooms are beautiful. The resort is next to a 10 mile bike/walking path to Stowe. What a beautiful experience to take this path to town and cross the nine picturesque bridges. Of course there is always the skiing and many, many other places to hike too.

The beautiful spa was another pleasant surprise. I'm an LA Massage/Spa snob and the 2 treatments and the gorgeous facilities, the indoor pool and waterfall jacuzzi were great.

I can't say enough about this place except to concur with other reviews that state the service is fantastic. Everyone who works there is helpful, friendly and professional and they quickly learn your name.

I can’t think of anything they could do to make you feel more comfortable. I have recommended Top Notch to several people and we will definitely come return as often as possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Property: Topnotch Resort
Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch At Stowe
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing