We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Topnotch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We absolutely loved this hotel and resort. Unfortunately, we were only passing through the area and stayed only a single night. We promised ourselves that we'd come back here for a longer stay!

The location of the resort is great - midway down a mountain road with a great view of the green mountains of Vermont. The room that we got was very nice, with a modern, yet classic decor.

Much can be said about the staff of the hotel... great service and attention to detail. We even got a little spoiled after having mentioned during booking that this was our honeymoon trip (I simply asked for a room with a view if possible). We ended up with a room overlooking the resort and mountainside along with a bottle of bubbly and some chocolate truffles. All this on a discount booking! I was more than impressed and that's what I call going above and beyond!

A few things to mention... we enjoyed the on-site restaurant only for breakfast, but it was very good as well. We didn't get any spa treatment, but we enjoyed the interior pool and hottub, the latter of which has a waterfall (although, it can be a little noisy).

All in all, a great hotel and resort.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
There are newer reviews for Topnotch Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

Experience a warm welcome as you arrive. We were greeted even before we entered the resort. after a 3 1/2 hour drive we were pleased to be treated so kindly .
Our standard room was perfect . Decor was European style and bedding was of high standards. very comfy.
Topnotch offers many stunning areas with in the resort to relax and have drinks. Decor is a perfect blend of luxury while offering comfort and style.
Top notch has high standards. .you will not be disappointed.
I did not have a spa service but many of my friends told me the level of spa treatments was excellent.
Expect a stunning resort offering personal service and many comforting amenities. My husband and I plan to return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We arrived on a Friday, and reluctantly left on a Monday wishing we could stay much longer! The staff were all amazing, flexible, helpful, accurate and fun. The accommodations were great, and the suite we stayed in had a Murphy Bed....which was very comfortable.
We had several meals at the resort and engaged their catering services for a large gathering as well. The catering estimate was very accurate, which was very because we were on a very tight budget. The wedding went beautifully. The tent was picture perfect. The outdoor ceremony was attended by over a hundred people, and observed by several horses in an adjacent pasture. We think Topnotch must have a weather machine....the rain stayed for about 10 minutes, and left just in time for the ceremony and did not return. The sunset was spectacular.
Food service staff were professional and flexible. Front desk staff were amazing, fun and memorable. Event planning staff were impeccable and caring. Restaurant staff were helpful and elegant. Spa/fitness staff were excellent - with yoga, stretching & Qi Gung instructors competent and caring.
We have stayed at Topnotch many times in the past, and we will continue to go there for getaways and gatherings. In the past we have brought our dog along and he was always greeted nicely and we felt like he was welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gratefulmassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We had stayed at a condominium on the Topnotch property twice so we had the chance to enjoy the resort's beautiful setting, excellent outdoor/indoor pool area, incredible spa/fitness facility and the excellent Norma's restaurant. From the outside the hotel appears nondescript and we heard the rooms weren't that great, so we never considered booking it. With just the two of us this time, and a reasonable room rate, we took a chance. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in that the interior is much nicer than the exterior would suggest. Our large spacious room was recently renovated with an updated bathroom and walk in closet. It wasn't the most luxurious hotel we've ever stayed in but it was homey in a Vermont sort of way and the rest of the facilty is amazing. You can't beat the down to earth friendliness of the local staff and the wholesomeness of every you eat, drink or experience. We love going to Stowe and even in the rain we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ILoveMyChevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We love this resort. The setting is beautiful; tucked in the mountains of beautiful Stowe Vermont. Two outdoor pools and jacuzzi are all heated and over the green mountains. Norma's restaurant prepared incredible morning breakfasts and dinners were beautifully presented and the food, topnotch! We enjoyed treatments at the spa which included an amazing hot/cold stone massage by Danielle (highly recommend this treatment). It was 75 minutes of complete and total relaxation. There is a paved walking path directly across the street which allowed us to enjoy a 2+ mile walk each morning. There are multiple tennis courts on site and lessons are provided. Complimentary Morning Coffee/Tea and afternoon tea and cookies were added extras. Friendly and accomodating staff. It was a great getaway and each time we return to Topnotch we always leave relaxed, satisfied and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LDPECP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretaKipp, Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2010

Thanks so much for enjoying yourselves at Topnotch, that's how we know we're doing it right! The Little River Stone Massage is something everyone should get to experience (at least once!) in their lifetime. Thanks for sharing and we'll look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Having traveled all over the world, Top Notch is in my top 10. Beautiful spot, lovely rooms, spectacular food and attentive, gracious service. The consierge was wonderfully helpful and the service in the restaurant was impeccable. Don't miss a chance to stay at this world class resort.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We have stayed at Topnotch several times over the past couple of years. We've spent a week in a condo with extended family, had connecting rooms with our son's family, and just my wife and I in a King room. The rooms are immaculate and include turn down servce. Whoever is responsible for condo upkeep is to be commended.

Every aspect of this resort is top notch. It is a little pricey especially if you plan on utilizing the spa services. However...
The facilities are outstanding! The indoor pool complete with hot tub - water fall, the outside adults only pool and hot tub and the oversized family pool are awesome. They have also made several upgrades recently that are very appealling. Only five minutes from downtown Stowe.

Every time we leave we cannot wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank Homecaredpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#5 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Address: 4000 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4967
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Green Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £144 - £514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch At Stowe
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing