We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hills are alive with the Sound of Music:)”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stowe is a wonderful destination in itself, but when you combine it with the resort at the Trapp Family Lodge, you will feel alive and in love with life again. Really everything is done to the best standards and you are there to enjoy. The facilities are excellent. We had the pleasure of spending a weekend in one of the Villas on the property and were able to take advantage of the indoor pool and spa, as well as the hiking trails through amazing woodland. Don't miss the Austrian Tea House which we visited for Sunday lunch and had the best meal....all fresh and delicious. Cabbage soup was superb and the special, bacon, pineapple, cheese wrap out of this world, I have to try that combo at home. The new brewery, (well, it was new to us) had a great bar on the same premises. As we were driving back to Qc. we couldn't partake, but next time:)
All the staff were very helpful and accommodating. THANKS everyone

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

Great location for a Stowe, VT visit. We spent 3 nights in October having missed the foliage and too early for skiing. The lodge was open for business trying to give us a good experience. We took all the tours (some at $10 a person though we were spending $375 a night to stay in the lodge). We enjoyed the tours and took a hike up to the cabin on the back of the property (1 1/4 hr one way). We had dinner in the lodge, enjoyed the hot tub with a sunset view and truly relaxed for 3 days.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are sorry you missed the foliage but on a positive note, you visited at a quieter time of year. We are glad you enjoyed the tours and took a hike to Slayton Pasture Cabin. This is a destination ski and snowshoe spot during the winter where hot soups, sandwiches, and a huge roaring fire is burning in the fieldstone fireplace for skiers and snowshoers to relax and warmup for the trip back down the hill. The sunset view while in the hot tub sounds perfect! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The room was lovely, and big too. The fitness centre was really super and probably benefitted from being across the road. Everything felt a little quirky, and the place was certainly unique in style. The staff were nice in the hotel, but the restaurant at night were sniffy, not so the lounge dining. The food was ok, but expensive especially the breakfast. Stay here but eat in Stowe or drive to The Bees Knees in Morrisville up the road and save cash. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sargonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

It has been a dream of ours to visit the Trapp Family Lodge. Location is extraordinary, the personnel was delightful(everyone was extremely helpful and always a smile on their faces) and the room was opulent. There is a strong sense of history at this place. We took an afternoon hike up to the cabin in the woods and were the only ones on the mountain which was incredible. We took the history tour which I would recommend to any one who comes because it really gives you an understanding of the family. We had drinks in the lounge, dined in the dining room for dinner and breakfast, all of which were delightful meals. For lunch we had brats at the Deli. Their home brewed Laeger is exceptional (I normally am not a beer fan but this brew is so very smooth!). There is a small chapel on the hill behind the lodge that was hand built and worth the short hike to see. This place has so many activities, you could make this your destination spot for Vermont and be happy just to stay there if you could.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort. Your compliments have been shared with all our managers and their staffs. We are delighted to know our staff more than met your expectations. We are also glad you enjoyed the History Tour and your hike to the chapel. Werner von Trapp built this in 1950 in honor of World War II soldiers. Werner and his brother Rupert served in the 10th Mountain Division during WWII. The chapel is also the site of Lynne and Johannes von Trapp's wedding ceremony as well as their son Sam and his wife, Elisa, who were also married therel. It is a wonderful destination hike or snowshoe in the winter to come upon a quaint stone chapel in the woods that is surrounded by peace and quiet. We appreciate you letting us know how much you enjoyed the Lager - it is quite popular and adds an authentic Austrian experience to our visitors. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to our resort. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We occassionally go to the Trapp Family Lodge with my in-laws. We have brunch and it is quite good. If you are nearby and know anything about, "The Sound of Music", you owe it to yourself to visit. It is a worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Thank you for your endorsement of Trapp Family Lodge. We are glad you enjoy having brunch with us on occasion. It is always nice to hear from our guests that live in Vermont! We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our Main Dining Room again. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I had the pleasure of staying two nights at the Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe, VT on October 5-6, 2012 during a bus trip of New England. The room was huge with a sofa and other chairs to sit on. The bed and pillows were probably the best we had during our entire trip. They have a deli/bakery down the road, a huge excerise building across the street, and a sports building down the road. I wasn't prepared to not have a coffee maker or mini refrigerator in the room. I want coffee as soon as I wake up which was hard for me. They said they had coffee in the lobby in the morning. They also serve it in the lounge from 7am until 10am. My husband was wonderful about going to the lobby to get coffee for me. I also like to keep bottle water in the room and prefer that it is cold. Without a mini refigerator that wasn't possible. The bathroom linen was something I have never experienced in any hotel I have ever stayed. There were only two wash cloths, two towels, and two hand towels in the bathroom when we arrived. They ask that you reuse your towels and wash cloth. My husband doesn't like to do this so he put his on the floor. I hung my towel and wash cloth over the shower rod. When we returned to the room for the second night, the maid had left us one wash cloth and towel. If we had wanted more towels, we would have had to call room service. We ate dinner in the dining room the first night and found the wait staff to be very snooty. They definitely acted like they were better than us. I wasn't very happy about this. Other people on our bus also felt this way about them. If you don't mind not having a coffee maker, refrigerator, and ample towels in your room, or snooty wait staff in the dining room, then this is a nice place to stay. I would have given it a higher rating if they had supplied us with the things listed above and the wait staff been nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sugarfoot1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our resort with your coach tour group. We are glad you found our room furnishings and the bed to your liking. As you stated we do provide coffee in the lobby for early risers and in our Lounge beginning at 7am each morning - both are complimentary for our guests. Although we do not provide mini refrigerators and coffee makers in all our rooms we can do this by request. Should you make a return stay to our lodge please feel free to contact us prior to your arrival and we will make sure you have a coffee maker and refrigerator in your room. Our hotel uses "green hotel guidelines" which include only refreshing towels that are placed on the floor of the bathroom alerting our housekeepers to replace them in their daily room checks. They assumed that the towel and washcloth you hung from the shower rod was placed there for reuse. We are sorry our policy was not made more clear to you. The time period of October 5th and 6th was during a peak time in foliage and our hotel was at full occupancy including our dining outlets. The waitstaff in our Main Dining Room was extremely busy which did not allow them to take a more leisurely time in serving our guests with a more relaxed interaction. Our waitstaff maintains a professional demeanor with all guests and would never treat them with an attitude of condescension or arrogance. We hope you were able to fully enjoy the excellent fall colors this year as it was one of the best displays in the last few fall seasons. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My husband and I visited Trapp as part of our three week honeymoon road trip. We were pumped about staying here, but sadly it was one of our least favorite places we stayed. I'd like to start with the good, because there were several positive things about our stay here. Obviously, the views are hard to beat. You have a breathtaking view of the mountains from nearly every part of the lodge. The front desk staff and bellhops were amazing. They were friendly and always willing to answer questions or give recommendations. Another high point of staying here was the work out center. I took a morning yoga class (offered daily) that was taught in a room with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the mountains. The instructor was kind and attentive to what everyone needed. The lodge also has its own brewery, and the beer is delicious if you are into that kind of thing.

Now for the unfortunate stuff - we found several bugs in our room, our hot water was very picky, and the bar staff that worked the patio completely ignored us on two separate occassions (even after making eye contact). Not only that, but more than once we were served beverages that were not what we had ordered. For the price we paid for our stay, this was really hard to overlook. I also had a hard time eating while staying here. I am a vegetarian, but the dining room/bar does not have a menu that really caters to people who don't eat meat.

The Trapp has a lot of potential, but overall it definitely felt short of what we were expecting, especially in this price range.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a mountain view, however, the balcony was a "strolling" balcony so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meagan_N_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your mentions of the positive aspects of your visit and your compliments have been shared with the appropriate managers of those departments. We are sincerely sorry that your visit was marred by a few negative experiences. The issue you mention with bugs in your room was reported to our Executive Housekeeper who had his staff deep-clean the room in which you stayed to make sure this did not occur with any other guests. The waitstaff that did not provide the proper service to you when you dined on the Lounge patio were not performing in the manner in which they were trained. Please accept our apology for this experience. The Food & Beverage Director will follow-up with his staff to remind them of the importance of connecting with guests in a reasonable amount of time after they are seated. Your observations about the menu will also be brought to the attention of our Executive Chef. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
143 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
187 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £142 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing