We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel was one of the high points of our recent trip to New England. The hotel was very comfortable and we had fantastic views over the Stowe valley. Would recommend staying here. If you decide to dine in the hotel then the lounge rather than the main dinning room is less formal with better service.but access to the same menu. The Trapp lager is well worth tasting. Make sure you tip well as we had a call to our room asking why I hadn't tip "Christian" in the main dining room and was then reminded three times at breakfast that the meal was included in my roomn package but I was still expected to leave a gratuity.
Beware of the bus loads of people that arrive at times and those that cruise past the front of the hotel each day on their sight seeing tours.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for Trapp Family Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here since she was a fan of Sound of Music and large acreage of the hotel in the woods. The hotel and the time-share villas are on the higher end of prices but Stowe is a resort town.

Hotel focuses on snowshoe / cross-country skiing in the winter and hiking / biking in the summer. It has a gym, pool, hot tub, and other outdoor activities as well.

The hotel exterior is rustic and charming. Inside, there are memorabilia items of the Von Trapp family and many nice furnishing items different from modern hotels. There are some areas that need refresh in the hotel and there is some complacency in maintenance and service. The rooms are very good: ample space, good beds, views (ours was of the garden and family cemetery plot), free internet, and adequate bathroom.

There food is very good in the bar and the restaurant but no free breakfast in the morning. I like their separate deli / bakery down the street with their beer selection.

- The visitors are older people and families versus young adults – do not expect a wild time but a quiet, pleasant time.

Room Tip: Plan time for the trails and a visit to Stowe. Note: Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream factory is enro...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SV_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your compliments and descriptions of different aspects of our resort. You also pointed out the need for some updating in the hotel - we are currently upgrading the carpet, painting and bathroom tiling in many rooms that need this. We have an ongoing schedule established for future upgrades and renovations. Thank you for your constructive input regarding this subject. We hope to welcome you back again to our resort. We will be opening a new brewery facility next summer with brewery tours and a lovely restaurant with patio that overlooks the mountain ranges, including Mount Mansfield, and valleys that surround our resort. Hope you can join us for a brew! Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was one of the places we stayed on our fall foliage tour. It was a beautiful location! After the busy tour, it was a nice place to stop and relax. We walked the grounds, saw wild turkeys grazing in a field, took in the beautiful fall colors. The meal we had was very good although the service was slow, but we did have a large group. They "encouraged" everyone to make reservations the next night in the restaurant because they were almost booked. We actually met some friends and went elsewhere for dinner but our travel buddies said there was plenty of room in the restaurant. There's also a microbrewery and sandwich shop just up the road on the Trapp Lodge grounds if you wanted a quick meal.

Room Tip: People with limited walking ability need to make sure they are on the bottom floor as the upper floo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for the lovely review of your autumn stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed the views, the food and even managed to see a flock of wild turkeys on one of your walks! We hope you have the opportunity to return for another visit in the future. Sincerely, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Can't say enough wonderful things about this place! We return year after year to spend the week between Christmas and New Year's. We have stayed in the Austria Suite, Mountain Suite, as well as the Guest Houses. Pros - very clean, friendly staff, access to XC ski trails, fantastic views, great evening programs/entertainment, cozy atmosphere, townhouses are very comfortable and quiet, great fireworks on New Years Eve! Cons - food is a bit pricey, some parts of the main lodge can be noisy. Overall - we won't stay anywhere else in Stowe!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DizGirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your praise and constructive input regarding your visits to our resort. We are so glad you enjoy the Christmas/New Year's holidays with us. We are getting ready to gear up for the holidays this year - I just saw a truckload of Christmas trees we use for outdoor decoration on our balcony being delivered and with the light snow falling it is very inspiring to get ready for the holidays! All of your comments have been shared with all managers and their respective staffs. We look forward to your return visit this season! Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We are staying in the Austria Suite and the Tirol suite - the good news is that they are across the hall from each other so its a perfect set up for a family traveling with grandparents.
The grounds are beautiful - hills, gardens, greenhouses, outdoor hot tub, nice hiking trails, etc.
For the price however, the service is disappointing. For $500 a night you would think they would have complimentary water - they don't. There is also no room service.
So overall, glad we saw it and definitely nice to connect with the Sound of Music but we wouldn't return. Its just average.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UpUpAwayLog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent visit to our resort. We are glad the Austria and Tirol Suites met the needs of your extended family. Thank you for your compliments of our grounds and hiking trails. You are correct in that we do not provide bottled water but the water from our taps is delicious, clean water and is readily available in guest rooms with glasses provided for drinking. We are sorry you found this to be a disappointment. We also do not have room service for any meals. Years ago we did have room service for continental breakfast but so few guests used the service that we discontinued it about 3 or 4 years ago. I will make sure our Food & Beverage Department is made aware of your observations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Warm regards, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

From Austria to various locations around the world touring and singing, the Von Trapp family finally settled near Stowe in Vermont. The original building unfortunately burnt down some years ago but was replaced by this impressive Austrian Alpine style lodge. The lodge re-opened as a summer and winter tourist resort hotel beneath Mount Mansfield, Vermont's highest mountain, and has spectacular views and scenery around Stowe. The Lodge has much charm with simplistic character, everything is impressively fresh and tidy with much attention to minimalistic detail plus the friendly efficent staff in their smart costume uniforms. There is the main restaurant or bar menu if preferred and the low ceiling public areas are comfortable and furnished appropriately. The Lodge has two main attractive qualities, its nostalgic Von Trapp family history and its multi-season location, however, historic quality sets its own price, and this is represented in the rates for the rooms and the menu prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive and complimentary description of our property and amenities. You also indicate displeasure with our rates. The time of year you traveled to Stowe is a high season period when prices are at a higher tier due to demand many times outweighing supply. There are other times of year to enjoy the property at a less crowded and less expensive rate; those being early and late spring and late fall/early winter. We hope to welcome you back to our resort again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel was a one stop over during a tour of New England. It was the highlight of our tour.
Many people will come to this hotel because of its associations, some might possibly be put off because of those same associations, but it is nevertheless a place that is worth coming to in its own right - it is an Austrian Chalet Hotel placed in a most beautiful valley in Vermont. I would say that the reason why it works so well is a real attention to detail - if there weren't this attention then the hotel would become a kind of theme park. So -
- It makes such a refreshing change to visit a hotel that hasn't been constructed from an architect's catalogue, and which has charm and character.
- It is very clean and tidy.
- The staff are not only very tidily dressed in Austrian costume, but are polite, friendly and helpful.
- The rooms are comfortable, well laid out, and I would not call them dated.
- The views are spectacular.
- The facilities are comprehensive.
- The food is beautifully cooked and presented, and is reasonably priced for the quality. The on-site brewed lager is well worth drinking.
- There is much to see and do both around the hotel, and in the locality, at all seasons.
- There are thoughtful things like afternoon tea (free) and wine tastings laid on.
My only regret is that we only stayed one night as we would liked to have spent more time here. If it were at all possible we would like to return some time in the future.

Room Tip: As far as I know all the rooms in the main building have great views across the valley.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogcollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your very thoughtful and comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. We are not only delighted you enjoyed your stay but that you also enjoyed the comfort, Austrian ambience, menus and amenities such as afternoon tea and our wine tastings. We are sorry you could not stay with us longer! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Cheers! Rebecca.
P.S. Thank you for mentioning our spectacular views! Not all rooms have views across the valley but some do have views of the Nebraska Valley Range which is a stunning view in it's own right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
133 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £141 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing