We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trapp Family Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Commodores Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stowehof(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topnotch Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edson Hill(Stowe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,431)
Filter reviews
1,431 results
Traveller rating
764
389
155
83
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
764
389
155
83
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housefitness centerdeli bakeryhistory touroutdoor centermaria von trappfamily historywiener schnitzelmusic fancross country skiingthe main dining roomtea roomaustrian styletime sharemountain bikingrock climbing wallindoor pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
883 - 888 of 1,431 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I had a great visit to celebrate our anniversary. The staff was helpful and accomidating - lending us a flashlight so we could walk the 1/2 mile to the brewery/deli. They didn't want us walking back because they feared it would be icy so they sent a bellman to pick us up. We ate in the lounge one night and our meal was tasty. The gentleman who played the piano took requests and was enjoyable. The venue is a short ride to town. I would have liked to go snowshoeing but there wasn't enough snow yet. A good reason to go back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for your delightful review. We appreciate knowing that our staff provided the service you experienced and made sure you were delivered safely to and from our Deli and Brewery. Glad you enjoyed the Lounge menu and our piano man, John Cassel. Please do come back in the winter months to enjoy our extensive snowshoeing trails, our Slayton Pasture Cabin in the woods that serves hot cider, soups and other goodies in front of a roaring fireplace - very popular destination for skiers and snowshoers. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This year my annual mother/daughter weekend was spent at the Trapp Family Lodge. The staff here go out of their way to make you feel important and like you are visiting family. The lodge itself is very comfortable and unique. I spent hours wandering the halls constantly discovering new rooms and pictures of the family throughout the years. It was fascinating to learn the true story of the Von Trapp history and I highly recommend the history tour that is offered. The views are spectacular. There is a huge variety of things to do from hiking to skiing to an afternoon trying the various Trapp Lagers. Dinner (while expensive) was delicious and again..the staff are extremely professional and courteous. I would definitely go back and personally feel that a weekend wasn't long enough to fully experience this Austrian inspired lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunfan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

We are delighted you had such a wonderful mother/daughter weekend as our guests. It is always a pleasure to know that the staff provided exceptional service during your visit - they will be pleased to know how much this was appreciated. Now nice to know you took the time to look at the pictures that line some of the lodge's hallways with pictures of the von Trapps throughout their singing career and life on their farm before it became the Trapp Family Lodge. Our History Tours are a source of great enjoyment and enlightenment for guests who love the fact that there is a real story, a book written by Maria von Trapp called "The Story of The Trapp Family Singers, about the family and their escape from Austria to the US that was the basis for the stage/screen productions of "Sound of Music". We hope to welcome you back to our mountainside retreat again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Amazing view! The hills were alive for fall foliage and for Oktoberfest! The grounds are well maintained and the staff was perfect. The building itself is old and in need of some basic repairs. Just look at the cedar shingle roof that is falling apart. Had a chance to meet the master brewer for the up and coming brewery on site and he showed us the facilities. Very impressive beer that will be expanding production and distribution soon! Overall, make a it a stop during a day trip in the Stow region or splurge for one of the pricey well appointed rooms. Great for romantic getaway and some history of the Von Trapp family. Average age on site was probably 60 yr old so if that's your demographic, make it a wknd! If not, stop in and say hi on your journey.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you were able to visit during the annual fall foliage season. We are very excited about our new brewery, on track to open next summer. JP, Brewmaster, is one of the premier brewers in New England whose expertise is well known by beer aficionados. The new Brewery will also feature a restaurant and bar with magnificent views of Mount Mansfield and the Worcester Range. Thank you for your compliments of our rooms and endorsement of our resort as a "romantic getaway". The family history is presented on History Tours that feature a wonderful documentary about Maria von Trapp's last visit to Austria in the 1980's told in her own words. A von Trapp family member closes the tours with a question and answer period about their history. To clarify, the average age of visitor during fall foliage does tend to be of the demographic you describe; however, we are well known for our cross country skiing ( Johannes von Trapp began the first commercial operation of its kind in the United States in the late 1960's) We now have 55k of groomed and tracked trails for classic and skate skiing, snow shoeing and also offer extensive Mountain Biking and hiking in the spring, summer and fall that attract a a wide variety of age groups. The resort has so much to offer for all ages at any time of year. Hope to see you again in your travels. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

stayed here in january. the bed was very comfortable and the ski lesson was great, we skied all weekend on the great trails. the bar is in need of an upgrade, you cannot see the fireplace unless sitting at table near it and the bar is small. seems like a great spot for a family to stay for cross country ski but not very romantic for two.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to our resort. We are pleased the you enjoyed your ski lesson, cross country skiing and that your bed was very comfortable. We are sorry the Lounge did not satisfy your expectations based upon, it appears, because of the size and location of the fireplace. Just to let you know we have fireplaces in the second and third floor common rooms with comfortable couches that are enjoyed by couples who just want to relax and snuggle in front of a fire. We also have suites with fireplaces that give you this romantic touch in the privacy of your own room. Please speak to our Reservations Department at trappfamily.com for more information about our luxury suites. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Sincerely, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

For Sound of Music fans this is a must stop. The lobby and downstairs have photos, memorabilia, and articles about the Von Trapp family. The lodge itself is situated on a beautiful hilltop in scenic Stowe in VT.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
3  Thank gl0baltr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for a very complimentary review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the family photos and "Sound of Music" memorabilia throughout the hotel. Our guests enjoy the actual story of the von Trapp's and it 's well known interpretation as the stage and screen play based on Maria von Trapp's book "The Story of The Trapp Family Singers". The resort has been owned and operated by the family since it's inception in the 1960's when the family home became a ski lodge. We hope you can return to visit us again and enjoy a History Tour about the family and how the resort came to be what it is today. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews