We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful and pleasant place to stay”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We traveled up to Stowe, VT and stayed at the Trapp Family Lodge. We had an upgraded room with a great view. Our bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. We ate dinner at the restaurant and had a very good meal. We snow shoed up to the beautiful chapel and down to the bakery for a great sandwich and one of their home brewed micro beers. This is an older facility that is very well maintained. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay,

Room Tip: Be sure and upgrade to a premium or above room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank French S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. We are always delighted to know when our guests enjoy so many aspects of their vacation. Our Diretor of Guest Services, Matthew, will let his staff know how much your appreciated the complimentary upgrade. Cody, our Executive Chef, will share your compliments of your experience in our Main Dining Room with his crew. Your snowshoe tour that included a trek to the chapel in the woods (built by Werner von Trapp on his return from serving in WWII), and on the the DeliBakery for a sandwich and a Trapp Lager sounds awesome and will recommend this to other guests. We hope to welcome you back to our resort again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Classic, one of a kind, great family vacation! I spent Christmas week there with my kids and grand children. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and spacious. The breakfast buffet is perfect, especially for any picky easters, delicious lunch and dinner selections as well. The outdoor Nordic ski is unparalleled, as it is the oldest in the country. And of course Stowe MT downhill ski is a classic close by. The indoor pool and fitness is enjoyable and they have a kids club that the kids really enjoy. The lodge is so unique because of all of the great history of the Von Trapp family and the music of "The Sound of Music". Every evening there is also a family entertainment, for instance, a sing a long, or a magician or movie. A great way for families to truly connect away from all of our usual plugged-in entertainment. (Of course there is wi-fi all around too!) In all, a very memorable and fun family vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday vacation with us. Thank you for mentioning who much your family liked our food choices and particularly the breakfast buffet. Out kids club is a favorite of guests with children and Holly, our Activities Director, works very hard to make sure our guests and their families are kept busy with all we have to offer. We appreciate you sharing that we have complimentary WiFi in our hotel, guest houses and villas. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed in a 2 bed 2 bath unit during Christmas Week. The unit was very spacious and had a very cozy atmosphere completed with a wood-burning fireplace. Some renovations are definitely needed though it seems to be a work in progress as some parts of the unit were updated and others were not. Cleanliness was acceptable but certainly not perfect. At first the unit looks fine but upon closer inspection, I noticed spider webs throughout and many dishes were not cleaned properly. The mattresses were fairly comfortable and they offered many extra blankets in each bedroom. The pool was very large and the outdoor jacuzzi was wonderful, especially after a day skiing! The staff was polite and professional and the Wi-Fi worked well. The property is located on a secluded mountain yet it is still close to town. However, the road leading up to it has no street lights and is not paved in many parts. This became a problem when we were driving up with very dense fog. Overall, an enjoyable trip and we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Trapp Family Lodge in one of the 2 bedroom, 2 bath villas. The villa was very spacious, accommodated the 5 of us very easily, was clean and had a wood burning stove that was great on those cold, snowy nights. Plenty to do on the grounds: swimming, outdoor activities, hot tub, etc. The spa was very good: I had a massage, my wife the facial & back massage. I recommend the snow shoeing/maple surgaring hike. We had a great guide and it was a wonderful 90 minute hike with the family - not for little kids because you stop often to discuss the maple sugar/syrup process. The main lodge was nice, Bar was small but beer and brats were great. They brew their own beer and make their own brat, knock & bauern...wurst Main dining room had very good food and service but it was loud which made it not very enjoyable. Their deli/bakery is worth a visit as well! We stayed between Christmas and New Year's so it was pricey but worth it. They are strict on the noise in the villas which makes it great for relaxing and quality family time.

One negative.....room was not ready until 4:25 PM on day of arrival. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3K-Seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent vacation in one of our two bedroom/two bath Guest Houses. We are pleased to know you participated in so much of what we have to offer. The outdoor hot tub is a wonderful experience in the winter months - nothing like a good soak in the deliciously warm, bubbling water while you look out over the snow covered mountains and valleys. The only thing that tops the experience is if it is snowing! Our massage therapists will be so glad to know you enjoyed your massage treatments. We are fortunate to have some of the best masseuses in the area. The Sugarhouse Tour is a favorite among guests and very informative as well - we are delighted you enjoyed it. Thank you for mentioning our very own Trapp Lager. We are very excited about our new brewery expansion slated to open in the late summer of 2014. There will be guest tours, a new restaurant with Austrian brew pub fare as well as more spectacular views from this location. We are sorry the Main Dining Room was unpleasantly loud for you and will make sure our Food & Beverage Director sees your review to share with his staff. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had the pleasure to return to one of the Trapp Family Lodge guest houses again this year for the New Year’s holiday and once again we had a great time. Our check in process was pretty hectic which wasn’t a big problem for us but the place was a bit of a nightmare when we arrived. We came in early around 3pm to see if our room might be ready fully understanding official check in wasn’t until 5pm. Unfortunately our room wasn’t ready so we just toured a bit of the property, hung out in the main lodge amongst the many different comfortable spots to relax waiting for them to call us when things were ready. 5pm came and went and we didn’t receive a call about our room so we checked in again with the front desk and were told that our room still wasn’t ready. This seemed to be a common theme for many of the guests hanging around the lodge. It seemed we were all waiting to check into our respective rooms. Some people were very rude and bothered by the fact the rooms weren’t ready and thought yelling at the staff would speed things up. Knowing this is not the case and that it certainly isn’t the fault of the front desk staff we simply waited around hoping to be notified ASAP. During all the confusion and “fun” the fire alarm went off. Fortunately it was a false alarm and there wasn’t a real fire but now we had the very audible alarm going off and it wouldn’t stop until the fire department came to turn it off. Fires have caused massive destruction here before so I was not put off by this policy and like their “better safe than sorry” policy. We were finally in our guest house around 6:30pm and the next 3 nights were fantastic with 0 complaints. We have really enjoyed the time spent here at Trapp & I would encourage you to read my review about the DeliBakery & Brewery at Trapp Family Lodge. They brew fantastic lagers here!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayTeaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent Guest House stay with us. We thank you for understanding how busy we are during the holiday period and your positive attitude about the fire alarm system including our policy of having the Stowe Fire Department being responsible for turning-off the alarm. We are in the process of evaluating and upgrading our current fire alarm system to help avoid disruptive false alarms. We sincerely apologize for the delay your experienced in checking-in to your Guest House. Thank you for your review of the DeliBakery and your mention of how much you enjoy our Trapp Lagers. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed with friends at Trapp for several New Years. We always stay in the 2 bed/2 bath guest house. Since these are individually owned, our week needed to be split between 2 units. Unfortunately Trapp neglected to hold a unit for the second half of our trip. Bad enough that the reservation was lost but the reservation staff and hotel management were outright obnoxious. I was made to feel that the error was my fault (told that I should have called back to reconfirm, should have checked my credit card to make sure the deposit showed up, they would need to review the archived tape of the phone call - which they refused to produce when I agreed that the tape would be helpful). Ultimately, they offered us a room at double the cost and cutting 2 days off our stay. Sadly, it took me speaking to 3 people before I heard any sort of apology. Unacceptable...especially for a resort that supposedly prides itself on its friendliness.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheleMcD0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you MicheleMcD0701 for your comments regarding your experience with us over the holiday season. We apologize for the issues you encountered regarding your reservation and are very sorry that our staff was not accommodating as we do pride ourselves on our customer service and the personal touches we offer to our guests. I would also like to thank you for the time you took to speak with us over the phone regarding your experience and am glad that we were able to rectify the situation to your satisfaction. We hope you enjoy a very happy and healthy new year and look forward to welcoming you back to the Trapp Family Lodge in the future!

Best regards,
Ryan Krukar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband, three children (ages 2 through 10) and I just spent four nights at the Trapp Family Lodge, and had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. We stayed in the von Trapp Suite, which was basically an apartment -- master bedroom with beautiful (comfortable) canopy bed, master bath with Whirlpool, large living room with fireplace and pull-out couch for the kids to play in, second bathroom in the hallway and a kitchen (described as a kitchenette, but actually a kitchen with breakfast table, coffee maker, stovetop, fridge, toaster and microwave. It was perfect for our family.

Despite the ice storm that hit the first night of our stay (and took out power to the ski lifts at the Mountain -- the Lodge also lost power for a couple of hours), we still had a wonderful first day since there is so much at the Lodge to entertain the kids. They loved the pool, using the Whirlpool in our room, eating in the Lounge and exploring the premises. The weather (fortunately) improved for the rest of our trip and we were able to ski, but I am not sure what we would have done with the kids on the day of the ice storm had we stayed somewhere that did not have so many family-focused amenities.

The staff was very friendly and responsive throughout our stay -- one night one of the kids clogged the toilet and it was fixed within 20 minutes.

We ate in either the Lounge or Dining Room three out of our four nights. The food was wonderful and the waitstaff accommodating to our kids.

In all, a wonderful vacation, and we look forward to coming back next winter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca02067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

We are delighted you had such a wonderful vacation with us over the Christmas holiday. The von Trapp Suite is a perfect setup for a family with the convenience of a kitchenette and a lovely living room with fireplace. Thank you for your understanding of the inconveniences caused by the ice storm - we were very lucky to get our power back so quickly. Our Activities Director, Holly, will be pleased to know your children enjoyed the entertaining activities that filled the time they could not go skiing. Thank you for letting us know our Maintenance Department was swift in following up with your needs. Our Lounge and Main Dining Room staffs will be very happy to know how much you appreciated their services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
156 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £142 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing