We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My teenagers loved this vacation!”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Trapp Family Lodge. We live in the south and hardly ever get snow, so this vacation was a trip for our children, aged 14 and 16 to play in the snow. We went cross country skiing and snowshoeing, a first for us. The lesson was good, and the folks in the outdoor center were helpful. FYI, don't worry about bringing waterproof shoes to snoeshow--they are included in the rental. Other reviewers had commented that the lodge is due for some updating, painting, etc, and that was true of our room, but it didn't keep us from enjoying the stay. The staff was friendly, and the complimentary valet parking was a treat. The staff even declined a tip! The food was good, and the prices are typical of resort prices. We didn't eat in the dining room, but enjoyed the lounge and the deli-bakery. Don't miss the outdoor hot tub, no matter how cold it is!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladydoc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your awesome review! We are so glad you took the opportunity to introduce your family to winter sports. Cross country skiing is becoming more and more popular each year - it is a great sport for family's to enjoy together. Thanks for sharing the info about not needing waterproof foot gear as we supply cross country ski boots with all rentals. Our staff will very much appreciate the compliments your shared and our Lounge and DeliBakery staff will be pleased to know you enjoyed your meals. Our outdoor hot tub is very popular - glad you were able to enjoy it! Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

I can hardly wait to return to take a cross country ski lesson,buy a pair of used cross country skis at 109.00 bucks, or just hang out in the hot tub after a workout at the fitness center. The pool was also awesome and the breakfast…not bad.

Room Tip: Visit Stowe and take a gondola ride!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your upbeat review! We can't wait for you to hit the cross country trails again with your new skis! Hot tub is waiting...
Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A historic lodge nestled in the mountains near Stowe (great downhill skiiing) and its own nordic center, so something for everyone. Rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated, a bit kitschy but that is part of the European atmosphere that includes good food and high espirit on the part of the staff. Very nice public rooms for reading or lounging. Pool, sauna and outdoor hot tub are a nice treat after a day outdoors. My one criticism is that the options for vegetarians on the menu are limited. In the dining room, one fish and one pure veggie dish that did not change over the weekend we were there, and in the casual bar area, I don't think there were any main courses without meat. A place that attracts people who try to stay fit and healthy should be more accommodating in this area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank West105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoy both the closeness of downhill skiing at Stowe Mountain Resort and our own 65k of awesome cross country skiing on groomed trails. We also have excellent snowshoe trails! Our staff is delighted to read your appreciation of their "esprit"! Our common rooms are very popular with comfortable couches, chairs, some with fireplace and our Sunroom with lovely plants and seasonal blooms - we are pleased to know you enjoyed them. We appreciate your constructive input regarding our dinner menus; this information will be shared with our Director of Food and Beverage. We hope to welcome you back again! In the warmer months we have Mountain Biking and hiking on what are the ski trails in winter - hope you get an opportunity to enjoy them too! Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Beautiful, unique looking lodge. Pictures of the family and other mementos make it truly unique experience. Our room was also terrific. The dining room, service and menu is also terrific. My only complaint is I wish the pastry shop was in the main lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Trapp Family memorabilia and found our lodge to your liking. Our Director of Food and Beverage will be pleased to know your praise of the meals and service in our Main Dining Room. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A great stay for a couple or family. Absolutely gorgeous grounds & beautiful lodge. A little bit of Austria in quaint Stowe, VT. So much to do right on the property - cross country ski, snow shoe etc. Not to mention Stowe is a great town. Great downhill skiing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACT72014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent vacation with us. It is nice to know you appreciated the winter skiing and snowshoeing activities we have at our resort and our close proximity to Stowe Mountain Resort for downhill skiing. We also have shuttle service to and from the mountain for our guests on weekends and busy weekdays. We look forward to welcoming you back to our mountaintop again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I travel here with my fiancé and his parents, they own a week so I can't really comment on the hotel accommodations. But I thought the place was super comfy and relaxing. A nice place to start a family tradition. Staff was friendly and the grounds were kept very nice. A very unique place to visit. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsDreaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Our Guest Houses are very popular with family's, many of whom do make it a family tradition to return each year to enjoy their vacation - we hope you join us again same time next year! Thank you for letting us know you found our staff to be friendly and the grounds well kept. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Me and my husband brought our 4 year old daughter and 1 year old son. We had a wonderful time. Our two room suite was flooded before we arrived, but we were given a slightly larger suite in it's place. It had a lovely view. The breakfast was excellent. The dining area had the friendliest staff in the mornings. We were the only ones in the dining room all three mornings of our trip. A lot of older couples (50's, 60's plus). None of the other guests were interested in our children, but they didn't complain either. The staff, however, was excellent and very sweet to our children. The only thing we would have liked is room service. It would be nice to have the option of dining in suite with young children.
Our maid service was good. The maids were quite friendly, even on the day we were all in the room getting ready for nap time. She cleaned quickly around us.
The staff at the indoor pool was wonderful. They were very friendly and so great to the children. They even had life jackets. The pool is a plus because it is only up to 4 1/2 feet deep. Perfect for swimming laps and for children. Early in the morning (after adult lap time) was best for kids. Evening time it was usually quite full of older adults just off the slopes (again, not at all interested in having to co-exist w / young ones).
The sleigh ride on the premises is a must do! The horses and the driver are amazing! So kind and friendly. A great ride for all... even our 1 year old!
We can't wait to go back, maybe this summer!

Room Tip: Two-room suite is a must with kids in tow! One suite has a fire place, very romantic when kids are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear that a family with young children enjoyed themselves and had a comfortable stay. Thank you for letting us know that your Housekeeper was accommodating to you and worked around the children's nap times. Out indoor pool is a nice attraction for the young children and is a great option for entertaining them. Thank you for letting us know the Fitness Center staff was wonderful - they will be glad to know this. Deb will be glad to know the horse-drawn sleigh ride was a high point of your vacation - she does a wonderful job with her horses and the sleigh ride takes you back in time! Your recommendations of suites is very helpful to others traveling with young children - thank you for mentioning this. We hope to welcome you back again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
155 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £141 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing