We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time not far from main attractions”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the guest lodges. It was clean, dated, but clean. It was 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. The kitchen was tiny only big enough for one person to cook in there, however, it served its purpose. The unit was spacious enough for our 2 families. They have cross country skiing and snow shoeing right on property. I went snow shoeing to "The Cabin" it was so peaceful and scenic on my trek there. Had a cup of home made pea soup which came with a healthy serving of ciabatta bread. Plenty of free water. I would definitely come back. The pool was clean and not crowded.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in one of our Guest Houses. We are pleased to know it was comfortable, spacious for two families. We are delighted you were able to enjoy the fabulous snow conditions we had all of March - in fact we still have awesome snow conditions for skiing! Glad you made it to the cabin and its peaceful environment and excellent soups! We hope to welcome you back again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We went here for a get-away weekend and were not disappointed. There is something to do almost every minute of the day. Activities range from free to expensive and there is something for all ages. The cross country skiing is a must to try. There is so much history of the family here and they are willing to share it in so many ways. The staff is incredibly attentive, friendly and helpful. If you stay here try and take advantage of all that is offered--you won't be disappointed. A family can stay here for a week and never run out of things to do. The views are spectacular--inside and out. They grow many things in the greenhouses there and even though we stayed in the dead of winter, there were blooms and fresh flowers everywhere. The lodge was built in the early 1980's and is old-world European style, so this setting is not for the contemporary modernist. No cell service unless you have Verizon (this according to the staff)--so turn off your phone if this is not your carrier or you will spend all weekend charging your phone like we did.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your recent vacation on Trip Advisor. We very much value constructive feedback from our guests. We are proud of our staff and their commitment to helping our guests enjoy their stay to the maximum. Thank you for mentioning our greenhouses and our fresh flower arrangements in the lodge - many guests comment on this during the winter as the contrast to the snow and cold weather is a beautiful distinction. One quick note: we do have cell service for all cell phone carriers in the area, not just Verizon. The issue with cell phones is the walls of the hotel are thick cement - purposely built this way for fire proofing. We suggest to guests to step outside to use their phones; however, we also have wireless in the entire hotel, guest houses and villas for Internet communications. There are also phones in each hotel room for guests to use. I hope this explanation is helpful to you. We hope to have you as our guest again! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Trapp Family Lodge is authentic and comes complete with all the amenities you could want to make a successful vacation no matter what time of year you visit. Whether you are having a family vacation, romantic getaway, or a good time with friends there is something to keep you busy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. I peeked in many of them. I stayed in the Salzburg Suite and it was spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate that you recommend us in so many ways. Thank you for the special mention of our rooms. We hope you return to stay with us again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Trapp Family Lodge seemed to possess an unearthly, warm friendliness. From the snow-peaked mountains in every backdrop and view from the hotel, to the genuine service from the bus boy in the dining room to the waiter to the concierge at the front desk, one felt sincerity in the home-like atmosphere. We had a wonderful time when we ate dinner in the dining room. The food was excellent. Perfectly balanced with five-star quality yet had the all the comforting tastes of an unmistakable home-cooked meal. The friendly chef even came out to pay us a visit when we complimented on his cooking to the waiter. We spent a very enjoyable time later listening to a gentleman play piano. From songs from The Sound of Music, to Elvis, to Michael Buble, it was jazz mix at its best. We had such a fun time together as a family strapping on our snowshoes and adventuring through the trails in the woods. We climbed to the small chapel at the top of the hill that was built by a Trapp family member. The sugar house was such a cool place to visit and learn how they make their maple syrup, the classic, wonderful, old-fashioned way. They treated us to donuts, cider, and even let us try maple sugar on the snow, a delightful taffy that is entirely from heated maple syrup. The lodge itself was full of enchanting rooms to visit and spend quality time together. The lounge, library, game room, and family room were complete with board games, a tv where they will put a movie on for you, and hearty, warm fireplaces that were perfect for the chilly weather outside. The rooms truly warm your heart. After we heard the history tour (colorfully acted out by an energetic young man), the grandchild of Baroness Maria Von Trapp herself came to visit and talk with us, answering any other questions we could have about the lodge or Trapp family. It was so cool to hear that the place is still family run. Their family story from beginning to end is heart warming and intriguing. The fitness center was beautiful as well, complete with a large indoor pool and oh-so-cool outdoor hot tub with a view of the mountains! The deli sandwiches were delicious, with the perfect touch of Austrian-ness. After spending a day of down-hill skiing at Stowe (only a few minutes away), it was delightful to settle back down into our warm, cozy room at the lodge! A wonderful, unforgettable experience all in all! We plan on coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a premier suite on the 4th floor that was rusticly beautiful with the wooden details an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for writing such a lovely and all encompassing review of your recent stay with us. It is so nice to know the staff and von Trapp family made your stay so memorable. All who were mentioned have been given your praises and appreciate knowing how much you enjoyed visiting us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future and again thank you for sharing so many wonderful details about your experience. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Trapp Family Lodge is a lovely, welcoming lodge that makes you feel relaxed and right at home with the comfort, great food, and excellent friendly service. The setting is gorgeous, and the Austrian charm is just right to make it special without being corny or overdone. The scenery is breathtaking, and the cross country skiiing is fabulous. The ski set up is perfect for anyone, novice never on skis to experienced cross country skiier that wants a fun challenge,,,anyone can find a trail to enjoy. There is plenty of room in the lodge and outdoors, so you never feel like you are crowded or bothered, and there are lots of little get away spots settle in with a cup of coffee and a good book. The food is quite delicious and varied, and while we did not visit the brewery there is Trapp Lager brewed right there on property. Some of the food served at the dining room is grown on the Trapp Family farm, the eggs and pork for instance are all produced on the Lodge property. There are optional activities for families, like a movie night everynight with very kid friendly choices like Black Beauty or Fantasia. We visited in March and there were feet and feet of snow, and pretty sunny days to ski. Everything about our trip exceeded our expectations, and we are already looking forward to a return trip, maybe in the autumn for the pretty leaves, or summer for an escape from hot humid summer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Your review is delightful - thank you for taking the time to share so many thoughts about your stay with us. We are always so glad to know when our guests have embraced all we offer from skiing to dining to setting. The location is why the von Trapp's chose to settle her in 1942 - it reminded them so much of their beloved Austria and we have heard many guests comment about how Trapp Family Lodge setting reminds them of when they visited Austria. Thank you for mentioning our farm-to-table offerings such as the pork and eggs. Trapp Family Lodge is a year round working farm with cattle, sheep, chickens, pigs and in the summer extensive vegetable and flower gardens. We also make maple syrup in the spring - the sap just began to flow this week and the sugarmakers are boiling the sap to produce the sweet maple syrup Vermont is so famous for producing. We do hope to welcome you back again in the summer or fall; both of which are lovely seasons to enjoy at our resort. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed for 5 days/4 nights in one of the villas...which was like a dream home!

Our villa was two stories and fully furnished. It had three bedrooms, with decks off of every bedroom, 4 bathrooms, with jacuzzi bathtubs and heated floors (awesome!), a washer and dryer, and an open first floor with full kitchen, dining area, and living room, with a fireplace. The villa also had a two-car garage, in addition to plenty of parking space in the driveway.

The villas are separate from the hotel rooms, which are in the main lodge area, but they're just a walk/drive away.

The property featured a gym, indoor and outdoor pools, jacuzzi, sauna, kids' playground, tennis courts, bakery, spa, gift shop, laundry room, and plenty of Von Trapp memorabilia.

The only "negative" (if you want to call it that), would be that it takes approx. 20 minutes to get from the property to the town...but that isn't necessarily a bad thing.

Room Tip: Don't follow your GPS to get there. It will lead you through the back way (which is a dirt road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGTravels74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in a Villa. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our luxury Villas so much that you wished you lived here! We appreciate your extensive description of the Villas and in mentioned many of the offerings at our resort. We are in a very private location but as you pointed out we are very close to the town of Stowe with shopping, dining, craft shops, art galleries and more. We hope you return again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We exchanged in through Interval International. The guest houses are very nice. I hadn't cross country skied in over 30 years. Took a lesson at the Outdoor Center, got a great deal on an equipment package, and had a great time on the groomed trails. We could ski right from our guest house to the groomed trail going by. Be sure to get to the Cabin in the woods if you are able to and have the hot apple cider and soup. Food at the main Dining room was SUPERB. Be sure to do the history tour and learn the real story behind the family. Rewatching the movie after speaking with the Von Trapps was very interesting. Wish we had gone to the deli/brewery earlier in the week. A very pleasant place to spend some time. Next time we need to get in the hot tub as well. It was just too easy to get back to the warmth of the guest house after a day of skiing. Stowe Mountain is just a couple of minutes away. We spent a day downhill skiing there as well. Stowe is a very nice area in general and the Trapp Family Lodge specifically.. This is a place to get back to!

Room Tip: Don't think there are any bad ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiteguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Great to know that although you had not cross country skied in over 30 years that a lesson and good equipment at a good package price made the experience a positive one. You will inspire many to do the same! Glad you made it to the cabin and enjoyed the soup and hot cider as well as superb dining in our Main Dining Room. Our Food and Beverage Director, Arnd, will be pleased by this. Definitely include a soak in the outdoor hot tub next visit - it is a wonderful way to end a day of skiing and the views are phenomenal as your relax in the warm, bubbly water. Thank you for mentioning our close proximity to Stowe Mountain Resort for downhill skiing - best in the east! We can't wait to welcome you back again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
143 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
187 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £142 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing