We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for work ... stayed for family time.”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just had a wonderful overnight trip to the Trapp Family Lodge and can't wait to go back. I had a seminar in the late afternoon at the Lodge and although I only live an hour away, I decided to bring the whole family to stay overnight. We've tried before to mix family and business and it hasn't worked out as well. The Trapp Family Lodge accommodated both perfectly. The seminar was in a beautiful meeting room with tall ceilings, great light and atmosphere. If you're looking for a place to host a business meeting, retreat or family reunion, this place does not skip any of the comfortable details you'd want to find. After the meeting, my family was only steps away in a beautiful one bedroom family suite. It had a living room with a pull out bed, they brought in an extra cot to accommodate all three children. Even with the extra cot there was still plenty of room, we never felt crowded. The additional bedroom was also very roomy and comfortable. In the 20 hours we were there, we hit the fitness center and pool three times! The indoor pool and fitness center were clean and architecture was beautiful. The whole trip was wonderful, really looking forward to next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for such a glowing review of your group meeting and family stay. We are delighted you combined business with a family getaway. Our group sales department will be thrilled to know they exceeded your expectations which led you to bring you family for an additional night at our resort. The accommodations you reserved are perfect for a family in that the suite provides so much room for all to relax and enjoy. Our indoor pool with fitness center and outdoor hot tub are a big attraction for adults and children. Thank you for complimenting the architecture! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to our mountaintop resort. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for Trapp Family Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

I've been here twice now, this winter and last winter, and loved it both times. The rooms are a nice size...LOVE the chocolates on our pillows at night and the daily schedules in our rooms...and there are numerous common areas throughout the lodge, little nooks and alcoves, game rooms with fireplaces, where you can go a read a book or play board games with the kids or whatever. There are bookshelves located in multiple places with books or games or puzzles for everyone's use. Of course it's fun to see the Trapp family history stuff around the place but it's not overdone. I also like that each night there was a family movie playing downstairs. We took advantage of the massages, pool, and sauna, but perhaps my favorite thing was the fact that you could walk right outside, put your skiis on, and within a few feet, you're on the beautifully maintained cross-country trails. There's nothing quite like the feeling of climbing the mountain and having a hot drink and homemade soup at the cabin at the top and then skiing down. Exhilarating!
Finally, the food at the lodge is very good, and we also enjoyed going downtown and trying out the fabulous restaurants and fun little stores there. There's also a brand new ice rink in town where we went skating a few times...both with and without hockey sticks. :-)
We're planning to make this a yearly event. Can't wait to go again next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We love hearing from our loyal guests who embrace all our resort has to offer. Our Turndown crew will be quite pleased to know how much you enjoy the chocolates on the pillows each night. Glad you and family made use of the game rooms, common rooms, family history, movies, massage and pools - all popular choices. The Slayton Pasture Cabin is a wonderful destination for skiers and snowshoers in winter. So many family's make the trek as part of their "must do" experiences while staying with us - glad you enjoyed it so much! Stowe village is also a wonderful place to spend a day shopping and dining. The hockey rink is brand new and a source of great fun for family's that skate. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back next winter. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My visit was for work but as a single traveling female I so loved visiting this spectacular property! I was traveling with a co-worker and we were greeted at the door by a friendly bell man full dressed in austrian atire. We got a warm welcome and helped to our rooms after registration. We did arrive late at night in the snow so, we completely missed the pristine views driving in as well as the furry cows and goats in the pasture. I was pleasantly suprised at the views at sunrise over the mountians. Just beautiful. The room was really large and very clean with the great additions of a coffee maker and the ever loved fridge. Very quiet sleeping with super comphy beds and pillows. Only downfall to the entire trip is that I couldnt share the expereice with the family. I hope to return with family and enjoy all that the property has to offer.

The lodge its self has a home feel with many Trapp Family memorabilia decorating the walls. as well as the wild game that the Captain Von Trapp use to hunt. definately adds a "lodge " feel. the dinig was devine as well as a live pianist on the lounge during dinner taking requests and playing wonderfully.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have mountain views but, I was on the front of the building in a King with a f...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you Shannon for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Our bellmen will really appreciate knowing that your "first impression" was made more positive by their welcome and that their attire added to the Austrian atmosphere. How nice for you to get the surprise of a mountain sunrise after a late night arrival and not knowing the views in store for you. We are glad to know you appreciated the coffee-maker and fridge in the room - not all rooms have them but you can request this at time of reservation and if we have enough available we are glad to put them in rooms that ask for them. The von Trapp family will be glad to know you liked the memorabilia and wild game trophies. John Cassel, the Lounge piano player will be very pleased to know you enjoyed his music. We hope you do return with your family for a future visit with us. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The purpose of our trip was to cross-country ski and snow shoe which we did for four days. In particular, we were attracted to the fact that the lodge is located on 2500 acres with 100 km of trails. We stayed for five nights in a spacious and comfortable lodge room called "Salzburg". We ate our meals at the lodge or at the nearby pub that is part of the facility. (Our car sat in the parking lot the duration of our stay.) The large room had a comfortable seating area -- important for us since we relax and read in the evening. Getting to the room involved two elevators or a long walk and five flights of stairs. This was not a problem for us since walking along the tastefully decorated halls, common areas and stairs provided an opportunity to view the many photographs and memorabilia relating to the Trapp family's history in Vermont. The lodge is not a high rise building. Rather it is a low rise building conforming very nicely to its mountainside location but requiring longer walks to get to some rooms than if the owners had built up rather than out. Prior to arriving we were concerned that the lodge might be a tacky testimony to the Sound of Music's success and the Trapp family's fame. It isn't. The lodge fits well into the Vermont farm-to-table ethos, offering some food from its own farm -- including beer brewed on the premises and maple syrup from its own sugar house. The common areas of the lodge are awash in fresh flowers from its greenhouse. As noted earlier, we came to ski and snow shoe. The facilities and trails are excellent, including a cabin near the summit of Mt Mansfield where one can take a break, sit by a roaring fire, sip local apple cider and munch on a sandwich. Cell phone service is available at the cabin -- nice for an emergency but not so nice to hear a giddy woman blathering on a speaker phone with her equally frivolous friend. Perhaps a sign to turn off cell phones at the cabin, including the porch, would be helpful. Speaking of what would be helpful, we would appreciate room safes in the rooms. The lodge's staff are very pleasant and helpful. In particular, we appreciated the staff at the sugar house who were collecting and boiling sap to make maple syrup when we snow shoed by. They were very welcoming and went out of their way to explain the process to us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BushPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed four days of skiing and snowshoeing. The snowfall during March and so far in April is incredible and producing some of the best spring skiing on record! Love hearing your car sat in the parking lot during your entire stay and your immersed yourselves in the resort and all it has to offer. Your appreciation of the hotel design and how it conforms to the hillside will well received by the von Trapps who try to integrate structures along the lines of the existing landscape. Thanks for the recognition of our farm-to-table program from which our guests get so much enjoyment. Your suggestion to put a sign stating that cell phones should be turned-off at the cabin is a good one and will be forwarded to the management for their decision. Glad to hear the maple syrup producing process was explained to you - the sugar-makers are so enthusiastic about making syrup and love to talk to guests about it. Will let them know how much you enjoyed their discussion about the maple syrup making. We hope you return again next winter. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What a wonderfull place, so beautiful. The rooms are massive, bits of them are a little bit dated (i.e the tv) plus there was no tea and coffee making facilities but as soon as we asked for some they were brought up to our room immediately. In fact nothing was too much trouble for them.
It is also the wonderful touches such as in the evenings the staff turn down your bed leave you 2 chocolates and an information sheet with that evenings film showings and the weather for the next day.
We ate in the lounge area twice with the sounds of the wonderful piano player each evening (he even takes requests!!) Also the food is cooked superbly and plenty of it.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough if you ever want a real treat stay at The Trapp Lodge it is superb. Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowdenperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for the lovely review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your compliments of our staffs willingness to respond to your requests such as the coffee-maker for your room. Our Turndown staff is delighted to know they made a positive difference in your experience. Chef Cody is also appreciative of your compliments. We are glad you enjoyed the Lounge and John Cassel music. We hope you return to visit us again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the guest lodges. It was clean, dated, but clean. It was 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. The kitchen was tiny only big enough for one person to cook in there, however, it served its purpose. The unit was spacious enough for our 2 families. They have cross country skiing and snow shoeing right on property. I went snow shoeing to "The Cabin" it was so peaceful and scenic on my trek there. Had a cup of home made pea soup which came with a healthy serving of ciabatta bread. Plenty of free water. I would definitely come back. The pool was clean and not crowded.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in one of our Guest Houses. We are pleased to know it was comfortable, spacious for two families. We are delighted you were able to enjoy the fabulous snow conditions we had all of March - in fact we still have awesome snow conditions for skiing! Glad you made it to the cabin and its peaceful environment and excellent soups! We hope to welcome you back again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We went here for a get-away weekend and were not disappointed. There is something to do almost every minute of the day. Activities range from free to expensive and there is something for all ages. The cross country skiing is a must to try. There is so much history of the family here and they are willing to share it in so many ways. The staff is incredibly attentive, friendly and helpful. If you stay here try and take advantage of all that is offered--you won't be disappointed. A family can stay here for a week and never run out of things to do. The views are spectacular--inside and out. They grow many things in the greenhouses there and even though we stayed in the dead of winter, there were blooms and fresh flowers everywhere. The lodge was built in the early 1980's and is old-world European style, so this setting is not for the contemporary modernist. No cell service unless you have Verizon (this according to the staff)--so turn off your phone if this is not your carrier or you will spend all weekend charging your phone like we did.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your recent vacation on Trip Advisor. We very much value constructive feedback from our guests. We are proud of our staff and their commitment to helping our guests enjoy their stay to the maximum. Thank you for mentioning our greenhouses and our fresh flower arrangements in the lodge - many guests comment on this during the winter as the contrast to the snow and cold weather is a beautiful distinction. One quick note: we do have cell service for all cell phone carriers in the area, not just Verizon. The issue with cell phones is the walls of the hotel are thick cement - purposely built this way for fire proofing. We suggest to guests to step outside to use their phones; however, we also have wireless in the entire hotel, guest houses and villas for Internet communications. There are also phones in each hotel room for guests to use. I hope this explanation is helpful to you. We hope to have you as our guest again! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
133 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £141 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing