We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting location and facility” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enchanting location and facility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a very peaceful and comfortable resort in a beautiful natural setting in the hills. Great access to nature walks, hikes, countryside and lots of on site facilities. Friendly staff, good food, and very comfortable rooms. We especially enjoyed our meal on the outside terrace/lounge. We were in the Tirol suite, which was very plush. Wish we could have had more time there! Restaurant was good but on the pricey side.

Room Tip: Be careful, not all rooms are air conditioned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArnavM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for reviewing your visit with us in June. We are so glad you made use of the hiking trails and facilities. Our staff is delighted to be recognized with your compliment of their friendly demeanor and our kitchen staff is equally pleased that you enjoyed your meals! Our Tirol Suites are among the most popular accommodations at our resort and particularly those with fireplaces in winter. We hope you visit us again! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    332
    133
    72
    33
See reviews for
484
458
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central Ohio
Level Contributor
221 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Trapp Family Lodge lived up to our high expectations. I wish we could have spent more time there, but keeping our trip within our budget meant we had to limit our stay to one day. Now we have a special destination to save for.

Everything is immaculate inside and out. The staff are friendly and capable. The restaurant had good variety for adults and kids at dinner and breakfast, and the musicians were talented and suited to the venue, asking us for requests as soon as we arrived for dinner. The indoor pool is huge and we had it to ourselves.

I feared we might be barraged with Trapp family mementos for sale around every corner and was pleased to see that, while available, they certainly weren't intrusive. The gift shop is downstairs in the main lodge and features family memorabilia (books and DVDs, mostly) as well as tasteful local gifts and soaps, candles, etc stamped with the Lodge logo. Several of the pianist's CDs are also available.

Our only regret was that we only had a day to spend there. Not much was happening in the village of Stowe during our visit (early June) but the activities available at the lodge would certainly have been enough for a few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mapcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
We are delighted to read the lovely review of your visit with us in June. We are glad you enjoyed your meals, music, and our spacious indoor pool and fitness center. Early June is a lovely time to visit us with the arrival of early summer flowers and extended daylight hours. We are very pleased that you appreciate our low key references to our families heritage and that you enjoyed our gift shops. We hope you can make a return visit soon and we want to let you know we do offer special rates on our website that might appeal to you when you plan your next visit or speak to one of our reservation agents about any special packages we might have available. We look forward to welcoming your family to our resort again! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family owns a Guest House Timeshare at Trapp family. We have been going for 25 years with my in-laws and just had an opportunity to continue the traditional by buying our own timeshare. My grown children jumped at the opportunity. The guest house is two bedrooms and full kitchen dining, living, etc. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and it is a wonderful place to just relax and head to the pool, go for a hike, or play family board games at night. The bakery/brewery is a great place for a quick meal. My family hopes we will be going for at least another 25 years.

Room Tip: Buy a timeshare guest house or at least rent one for a week. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellight007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
As one of our Guest House owners we are always delighted to read your reviews. We are pleased to know you are continuing your family tradition of Guest House ownership in the purchase of your own timeshare. We wish you many, many years of enjoyment! Your descriptions of the aspects you and your family enjoy are so nice to share with other travelers. We look forward to many, many years of having you stay with us during "your week"! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just back from a lovely 2 nights in Trapp Family Lodge. I was expecting it to be over the top around the Sound of Music but in fact it was tastfully done. Beautifull setting and views. A little bit commercial though. Some guests wandered in to the last 10 minutes of a 90 minute "history" tour by accident and were politely but firmly asked to go out and buy tickets.

Room Tip: Suites with log fire are pretty cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank power123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the most beautiful resort we have ever visited and have been coming for more than 10 years. If you want to enjoy the best music in Stowe go to the lounge at the Trapp Family Lodge. The talented and amazingly versatile pianist is a musical legend in Vermont.. If you enjoy Gershwin and Rogers and Hammerstein you will not be disappointed. John Cassel is also a talented song writer. Vermont My Home goes right to the heart and Sap Beer is a must hear. Don't forget to ask for Analog Guy in a Digital World. Rhapsody in Blue trumps everything. It sounds like there must be two people playing the piano. If you like Jazz Wednesdays brings the addition of straight up bass master Will Patten. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred08844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, MA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have switched between Trapp and Topnotch on our last few visits to Stowe. The last time we stayed at Trapp (2012), we were disappointed in our main lodge family room because we thought it was outdated. But on this trip, we booked a Salzburg Suite for our family, and we loved it! The updated room and bathroom were both spacious and a wonderful place to come back to after our busy days. We were on the first floor, so the kids were able to go outside and play on the grass and ride bikes in the dirt parking lot while we sat on the Adirondack chairs and watched. We were also able to sit out there while the kids fell asleep and, because it was such a clear night, we sat there dumbfounded by the amount of stars we could see. The pull-out couch was perfect for the kids, and we also had room for a twin size aerobed. There is also a breakfast nook and built-in desk, which we used for breakfast, drawing, reading, etc. We could not have asked for a better room or location. As I mentioned in a previous review, the grounds of Trapp are just unbelievable - the trails, the gardens, the pools - a true vacation experience. Trapp is also close to area restaurants and the rec path. At Topnotch, you get a lot of people there for the spa, while at Trapp, many people are there to enjoy the outdoors and take advantage of the setting. For that reason, it always seems less crowded than Topnotch because people are dispersed throughout the grounds rather than crowded around the pool/spa area. After this visit, we definitely decided to make Trapp our "go-to" place in Stowe.

Room Tip: Book a Salzburg suite on the first floor for outdoor access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the glowing review of your recent visit to our resort. We appreciate your input regarding your room type and location and how well it worked for you as a family. It is amazing how many stars, etc. are visible on a clear night in our mountains. It is a relaxing pastime to star gaze! One of our goals as a resort is to make it appealing to those that are active outdoors in any season and it sounds like we hit the target with you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Cheers! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

When my wife found that I had made reservations at The Trapp Family Lodge for our vacation, she was ecstatic. I was a bit worried that it might not live up to her expectations. I should not have worried. From the service from Veronica at the front desk at checkin to the turndown service and memorable meals in the dining room, it was enchanting as anticipated. The room was immaculate with a view to match. Order the schnitzel with Lingonberry sauce and spaetzel for an Austrian treat. They offer an interesting background movie on Maria von Trapp in the basement theatre which we found helpful. We look forward to a return someday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We love to hear the words "exceeded expectations"! We are so glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay and want to return. Veronica, Reception Desk Manager, is a superlative guest services representative who truly cares about each guest and goes out of her way to make each one feel important. We are very lucky to have someone of her caliber representing our resort. Your praise of our Turndown staff and meals will be shared with the staff of both who also rank as outstanding. The "Maria" documentary is loved by all and it is interesting and touching to hear her tell the story in her own words. Thank you and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back again. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Property: Trapp Family Lodge
Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing