We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our family (kids are 16 and 18) stayed at the resort two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time on the resort and exploring the Stowe area. We enjoyed the fitness facility and outdoor hot tub… we rented mountain bikes one afternoon and rode some of the trails (miles and miles of trails appropriate for all levels of ability)… and we enjoyed the output from the Trapp Lager Brewery.

Our room was very nice and the staff was very helpful and professional. A great example of that was Lilee who we talked with while eating breakfast one morning. The grounds are beautiful, the views are amazing!

The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 was that the dining and menu options are limited on the resort. Not huge deal as there are plenty of other options if you drive into town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyeAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful and comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. Glad that you and your family enjoyed the Mountain Biking trails and appreciate the mention that there are trails for all levels of ability from the very young to older adults. Thanks for mentioning your enjoyment of our Trapp Lager - our new Brewery will be open late fall or early winter and we look forward to making this part of the Trapp experience for our guests. Lilee is pleased to know she made a positive impression on your family with her helpful and professional service. Our grounds crew is also appreciative of your compliments of their work to keep the gardens and grounds looking tip top! We hope to welcome you back to our resort again! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    334
    133
    72
    33
See reviews for
486
461
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very disappointed in the staff! Flies in the Dining room, one landed in my wives water, when I told the waiter he just got another glass of water and dismissed the event as usual. Main Dining room menu needs to be updated. Only one selection of German food? The Lounge was totally different, better atmosphere, clean and the staff were really on the ball with great service. The menu had a wider selection of German food, and was delicious. The deli Bakery was nice, the Trapp lager was excellent. Our room was clean, and the views are spectacular. The ground are very well maintained. It was a bit pricey $$$ The staff just has a don't care attitude if something goes wrong, like advertising a wood craft class foe our son, then dismissing it as oh well not today, we're not sure when???

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the problem you encountered in the Main Dining Room and the reaction to a fly in your water. This is not a usual event and the waitperson should have apologized profusely in addition to replacing the water. Our Director of Food and Beverage has discussed your review with the waitstaff to prevent this type of nonchalant behavior in the future. The chef will also take into consideration your suggestion to offer more German menu items on the Main Dining Room menu. We are pleased you found our Lounge and DeliBakery more to your liking. We apologize that your son's woodworking class was cancelled and an indifferent explanation was provided. This is not the type of service our staff is trained to provide. We do sometimes have minimum numbers of participants needed to sign-up for a class as most are taught by those that do not work here but bring their service to the lodge for a class. If this was the reason the class was cancelled that is what you should have been told that and also when the class would be held again. We are very sorry and apologize to your son for this having occurred. Thank you for bringing both issues to our attention. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spacious grounds, beautiful setting, hiking & biking trails & views for miles! Plenty of things to from disc golfing, to carriage rides & more. Rain or shine, it's a very lovely part of the country.

The rooms in the main hotel are spacious & you simply can't beat the views. We had a sitting area, eating area, work/desk area, refrigerator, comfortable king size bed & large bathroom. The hotel is a bit of a maze, but the history & artwork you see along the way makes it seem like more of a museum than a hotel. Loved seeing the old albums on the wall...reminded me of my parents record collection (especially the Mary Martin album)! :)

Staff was friendly & about the only negative is that you can see some of the wear & tear showing in the carpets. It appears that some of the paint & flooring has been addressed, but it's a vast property & it will take time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AARPBOUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for a lovely review of your recent stay with us. We are always glad when our guests embrace not only our breathtaking view but immerse themselves in what we offer from biking and hiking to carriage rides and wine tastings! The design of our hotel is different in the sense it is built into a hillside and the room layout is quite different from the usual hotel room configurations. Glad you enjoyed the decor and historical info throughout the lodge. We appreciate your constructive input regarding the need for some upgrading for carpets but at the same time acknowledging the vastness of our resort and the time it takes to complete refurbishments. We hope you return to see us in the future! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe Area, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Full Disclosure - I live here in Stowe and know several of the VonTrapps. My wife and I were attending the wedding of another local couple at the lodge this past weekend and were surprised at the poor level of service throughout the resort. Aside from the annual 'ski bum' parties and a few other assorted events we've spent very little time at the resort in the past twenty some years we've been here.
My wife was officiating the ceremony so I met her at the bride and groom's room and hour before the rehearsal dinner was to start. A quick cocktail and we were off to the festivities. I should also mention that Stowe's antique car show was going on, bringing in hundreds of old cars to our small town. Anyway the rehearsal dinner was a casual affair. They severed the Trapp's Lager - not a great Lager in my opinion. Drinking wine, we went to the buffet style 'slider' bar. There the food was cold and undercooked. They served rare sliders and cold fries to go with my wine! My wife came with the bridal party after the rehearsal and valeted her car at the main entrance. When we were leaving she had to go through the valet station to find her keys, I then drove her around both parking lots before returning to the front desk. There the attendant suggested we should check again - complete with attitude. The car was actually parked in front of the resort when we found it.
Because my wife was officiating, the car show had the town packed and signs were up informing us that the 'both' roads that go to Trapps would be involved in the car show parade that afternoon she talked to the police that morning. They suggested we get past both roads before the parade began at 3. The wedding was at 5. We got there a few minutes after 3 no problem. The problem was that Trapp Family Lodge does not serve food between 3 and 5. We were advised to go down to the Brewery and order a sandwich or pastry. .The sandwich offerings were less than desirable and our plan to eat at the Lodge before the ceremony turned into a disaster. I asked for a sample of one of their beers, was poured a pint and then given attitude when I asked for something different. A few other guests had joined us and we all grabbed a few crackers and headed for the ceremony starving!
That was the bad - here's the good, the ceremony site was beautiful, with nice views of Nebraska Valley in the distance. The reception tent was a short walk from the ceremony site and was away from the rest of the lodge. It was set up great and a good time was had by all.
All and all we were quite disappointed with our experience at the resort. Our friends wedding was planned wonderfully and was a beautiful experience. Had we had better food, service and interactions with the resort staff we would have had a better time. Once we got the ceremony/reception everything went off great. It was our interaction with the resort itself that was so lacking!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights at this property. Beautiful location, very nice accomodations. The room was a 1 bedroom suite. It felt more like staying in someones home rather than a hotel.Staff was pleasant and helpful.
Upon arrival, we wanted to go hiking as the next day was supposed to be a washout (it never was!). We hiked to "The Chapel" which was supposed to be about a 2 mile hike which after getting disoriented, turned into a 5 mile hike (that's a story for another time). All ended well. The thing I found out about VT is: The towns around roll up their sidewalks after 5 (except during the ski season), there are few gift shops (except at our hotel), and there are no "chain" businesses in the state (AKA Target) etc.
If you want primarily a laid back vacation or like hiking or mountain biking, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: If all rooms are as we had (a suite), you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptnPopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our resort. We are glad you found our accommodations to be comfortable and our staff accommodating and pleasant. Glad you were able to make the hike to the Chapel but so sorry you had difficulty locating it. Please feel free to contact our Outdoor Center and Activities Director, Drew, to relate your experience and to discuss with him what difficulties presented to you and made the trip longer than necessary. We welcome any constructive input that helps us make our resort and activities more user friendly. Should you visit us again I suggest making a day trip to Burlington, VT, located 45 minutes from Stowe that has a wealth of shopping and eateries on the Church Street Marketplace. You will find independent and chain stores in the adjoining malls as well as many gift shops. We hope you visit us again! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were on a mystery bus trip with Foxy Travel and were pleasantly surprised to find out we were lodging at the Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe VT. The rooms were clean, spacious and wonderfully appointed. The staff is very friendly and informative. The facilities are great, pools, fitness center and sauna. There are many hiking and biking trails. Trapp Lodge has its own brewery on site and the beer is very good. Breakfast and dinner was included in our stay and the service and meals were great with a Austrian flavor. John Cassel on piano provides the entertainment after dinner. We will be returning again.

Room Tip: We were a group of 60 people. Many were doubled up and No one had any complaints about their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arturo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled the Foxy Travel group enjoyed so many aspects of what we offer from our Trapp Lager made in our own brewery to our resident piano man, John Cassel. Our staff will be pleased to know their friendly and helpful service added to the pleasure of your stay. We look forward to your return visit! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Place, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

If there were more than five stars, I would add more! What a fantastic stay we had at the Trapp Family Lodge. The room was spacious, clean, offered a wonderful view over the valley, and was beautifully appointed in the Austrian decor. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed our exploring. We ate breakfasts and dinners at the Lodge and lunch at the Bakery-Deli. The food was delicious each time and there was a nice selection of food and beverages. The staff was so very friendly and helpful; we felt truly cared for. We have been here before and hope to be able to come often!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your glowing comments about your recent stay. We are delighted to have provided a "fantastic" experience for you! Our gardening staff, food and beverage workers and chefs will be inspired by your kind words. We hope to welcome you back soon! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Property: Trapp Family Lodge
Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing