We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmost charm and welcoming”
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Just spent our September long weekend at this location. Initially when we checked in I was surprised and the, let's say "dated" interior of the rooms; however in the end it was just a detail - it's really all about the charm and warmth of this location, the people/employees and the history. We absolutely loved our stay and really can't wait to go back. It was a much needed break from our urban life and the hike to the summit was amazing, the beautiful gardens amazing; the views amazing. Service was excellent!

Room Tip: We slept with our windows open - not a peep! Slept like babies....zzzz
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PousinQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property on Trip Advisor. We love to hear that our guests have embraced the "charm and warmth" of our resort. One of our important goals is to give our guests the hiking and getaway from their normal surroundings and have them return home feeling revitalized and reenergized - It sounds like we succeeded in doing so! Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed the views and service - our staff will be delighted. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Our friend invited us to share their two bedroom cabin and I fell in love with the Trapp Family Lodge from the moment we entered the estate. The mountains were so very lush and full of life. We didn't know going in that the Trapp Family Lodge was also a working farm. The goats were right behind our cabin and we adored their little goat sounds. Our first night we were treated to a surprise performance by the Yale Whiffenpoofs (the Trapp Lodge pianist is a former Whiffenpoof) during a dinner featuring wines from a lovely winery in Chile and ingredients grown or breed on-site. The proprietors of the winery were present to introduce their family business and their wines and members of the Trapp family were present as well. They were such a friendly bunch. After the dinner, we tried the Trapp family brews in the lounge and really enjoyed the food.

I absolutely would recommend dining with the lodge - the breakfast buffet had the most delicious fruits, not to much a great variety of standard breakfast items. Absolutely check out the yoga studio, which not only provides a great yoga session but has fantastic mountain views. Our cabin was very comfortable as well and well stocked with towels, bed sheets and kitchen items. Also, surprisingly strong wifi throughout the property. Our friends, who stayed for a week, enjoyed cooking with ingredients from the local farmer's market. Most of the other residents of the cabins seemed to be families.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Picotin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for the lovely review of your recent stay with us in one of our Guest Houses. We are delighted you were able to attend the wine dinner that included a performance by the Yale Whiffenpoofs, the oldest all male a cappella singing group in the United States. It was a very special treat for everyone. Thank you for your compliments of our breakfast buffet which presents a cornucopia of selections from fresh fruit to baked goods and Muesli. We are very proud of our Yoga program and are fortunate to have some of the best instructors in the area teach our classes. We hope you can return to visit us again. Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We were at the lodge during labour day weekend. Our room ("premier room") was spacious, clean and very well-furnished. The hotel grounds are stunning. Each night, we received the daily activities list (like in a resort), which is a nice touch. Our room was not easy to get at (it could not have been further from the reception), but it was quiet and well-insulated (there was a private event going on outside, close to our room, one night but we hardly heard it in the room).

Dinner in the main dining room was fine, but we had better in the village (on which I will comment separately). After having cocktails in the Lounge, where a piano player was playing, we found the ambience in the dining room to be lacking and the service, through no particular fault, matched the ambience. Also, it seems like such a minor detail, but after seeing how nice and expansive the gardens were, we were slightly put off by the artificial flowers on the table.

I believe no hotel in the Stowe area can match the pristine location. With luxurious rooms and many activities to choose from, this hotel pretty much has it all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Axel108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for the comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know you were comfortable in your room and appreciated the quiet area in which you were located. It is always nice to hear that our guests find our grounds to be "stunning"; we have a full-time gardening crew that works very hard to keep our gardens and grounds looking as lovely as they do. The grounds crew will be very happy to know they hit the mark with you! We are sorry you found our Main Dining Room service and ambiance to be not up to the level of other areas of the hotel. Our Director of Food and Beverage and Executive Chef, Arnd Sievers, will review your assessment with his staff to improve in the areas you mention. We hope you will return to visit us again! Cheers! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We had a very fun stay at the family lodge this past holiday weekend. The staff is very friendly. We had dinner in the Lounge (Austrian based choices) and the drink selections were great. The grounds are beautiful and there are many trails/activities for the kids. Our kids enjoyed watching the cows and the horse wagon ride.

The only downside was the humidity and the room not having air conditioning. I didn't realize beforehand. I get having the lodge feel but upgrades would be nice.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for reviewing your holiday stay at our resort. We are delighted you had such and enjoyable time! Thank you for your compliments of the food and beverages in our Lounge. We are very glad that your children enjoyed the hiking trails and other activities. Our Highland Cattle are a great source of fun for children and adults alike to visit; also a great photo op! Thank you for your constructive input regarding your accommodation that did not have AC. Most of our rooms are air conditioned and we will soon have this available in all rooms. Even though we are in the mountains of Vermont we do occasionally get some humid and hot weather in the summer. We hope you make a return visit to our resort and if so, please ask the reservations agent to put you in a room that has AC. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We had another great week staying in a guest house at Trapp Family Lodge. The two bedroom house is perfect for a family of four. Our kids (10 and 12) enjoyed biking on the trails, tennis lessons, s'mores by the campfire, frisbee golf, the outdoor & indoor swimming pools, movie night, pastries from the bakery, frog hunting in the pond, the Wednesday evening trail race and so much more. There is so much to do on the property that we did not start our car for several days! Then there are all great activities in the Stowe & Smuggler's Notch area. We will be back again soon.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

We are delighted to know that you had such a nice vacation at our resort while staying in one of our Guest Houses. Thank you for mentioning all of the activities your children, ages 10 and 12, enjoyed - personally, I loved the mention of "frog hunting in the pond"; I don't think I have ever met a child who did not like "to frog"! We love to hear when our guests don't use their cars for several days - a testament to the number of interesting things to do on property. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for your awesome review! Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Let me start by saying we LOVE the sound of music. I was so excited to be visiting the place where the Von Trapp's lived. We didn't stay at the property, but we went for a visit, had lunch and walked around the grounds. I was in awe most of the time. Just thinking about the history of this family and what they accomplished. I was surprised to find out that the names of the children, were not the same as the movie. (You learn something new everyday!) After talking to the wonderful gentleman in the gift shop about the family, the history of the lodge and the children, we purchased a couple of books (I'm thoroughly enjoying the original story written by Maria) and had a wonderful "Austrian" lunch at the restaurant. We then walked around the grounds and came upon the private graveyard where the whole family is buried. I was so moved by this beautiful shrine to the family. Of course Maria's 3 children are still alive and well and living in Stowe. You may be lucky enough to meet them if you take a guided tour. We will have to come back because they weren't giving a tour the day we were there. If you love The Sound of Music, you must visit the Trapp Family Lodge. It's a moving experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank DKEVERYDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of your day visit to our resort. It is nice to know of your interest in the actual story of the von Trapp family versus the blend of fact and fiction that wove the well-known movie and stage production, "The Sound of Music". We are so sorry you visited on a day that did not have a scheduled von Trapp History Tour. Please check our website at trappfamily.com for the dates of the tours to help you plan what day to visit should you plan to return. Part of the tour includes watching a 45 minute documentary about Maria von Trapp's last visit to Austria in the early 1980's with her son, Rupert. Maria tells the story in her own words and it is very touching to hear her talk about meeting the captain and the family's journey that ended with them settling in Stowe, VT. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We've owned a Time Share at the Trapp for almost 30 years and had a wonderful trip this time. In the past few years our beloved Guest House stay was pretty much ruined by 'The Louds' a family of previously four guest houses and now I understand FIVE, all related of course and congregating under our abode every afternoon into the evening and often well past dark. This year, we moved to another location and were completely happy with the change. We enjoyed a peaceful stay enjoying the many pleasures of the property. Fortunately our time share was never bought as an investment, but as a guarantee of one week a year being able to enjoy the area. We do love Stowe! Funny but in the Guest House below us this year, there were four small children and adults and yet the noise level was NEVER a problem. Honestly although the Trapp Staff tries to accommodate everyone and they try to make everyone happy--something almost impossible to do-- as long as they sell to large families who can't help but "enjoy their joint vacations" there is always going to be the risk of being surrounded by an on-going party to which you are not a guest.

Room Tip: Phase I, upper level both in building placement and guest house units give the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jocey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
154 reviews
2.8 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
2.0 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-5074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £141 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing