We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great getaway destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mountain Road Resort
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great getaway destination”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We decided to get away from Montreal during Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. Our original destination was Cape Cod but we decided to return to a nearby destination (Stowe) as our son faced a time constraint this year.
The Mountain Road Resort seemed like a reasonable choice if they had room for us. We have stayed at The Mountain Road Resort many times over the past twenty or so years - right from the beginning when owners Jeff and Bill had wooden cutouts of cows strategically placed on their front lawn!
Every visit we have seen improvements and experienced continued wonderful hospitality. We were very impressed with the newest renovations - especially the new deck and main lodge area. The staff catered to our every need as they have always done.
The breakfast was fine - good quality and selections. On day two, our son had a desire for pancakes. Not a problem - a short trip across the street and he was happy! Dinner at the Trapp Family Lodge was a little further up the road and we were thankful that we did not have to deal with the traffic delays in downtown Stowe.
We did not use the pools or work-out room. We were looking for a do-little weekend so we let nothing get in the way. Admittedly we could have done more - everything was available.
The location was great for sleeping too (important for me). We all had a restful weekend. Next time we will stay longer. Hats off to Mountain Road Resort!

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the older section (lower rates and nostalgic for us). We understand that ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tplmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    38
    27
    17
    10
See reviews for
34
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Mountain Road Resort this August. We wished we had booked it for a week and spent our whole vacation there. Everyone who works there is courteous, helpful and warm. The rooms were clean and well-put together. The amenities are fantastic, we spent many hours at the indoor and outdoor pool and sitting out on the lounges relaxing. Mountain Road Resort is close to town but far enough away that you feel like you are in Nature. We just had to cross the road to take strolls through the woods on the town's recreation path.
We can't wait to go back! We highly recommend the Mountain Road Resort!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlasnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The Moutain Road Resort is absolutely wonderful. I feel so sorry that it has obviously been receiving UTTERLY bogus reviews by some vindictive party. In fact, I'm so outraged by the injustice of it that I've decided to write my first review ever, and I really never bother to write reviews!

"Tasteful" was a word that kept coming up for us during our stay. My husband and I were so impressed by the eye for design and the amount of love put into the decoration and appearance of the property. Everywhere we looked we found excellent, quality, hand picked art that could easily belong in galleries. A pleasant surprise considering the number of hotels featuring drab and uninteresting artwork.

The grounds and building are quite impressive. The woodwork around the hotel is outstanding. We spent a lot of time on the wooden sitting area outside the lobby and it was very pleasant. The hotel also has the most delectable reclining wood and cushioned outdoor chairs I've sat in outside of Bali! There is a new and extremely well kept indoor pool, and a gated outdoor pool (great childproofing for kids) which we spent lots of time in. There is also a sauna and a hot tub that looks out onto the garden area. The hot tub was under repairs when we got there, but we had a whirlpool jacuzzi in our room so we didn't miss it! There's also an outdoor sitting area by the pool that's sleek and looked like something from a modern beach club. AND, there is a laundry room in the hotel too which is a nice reassuring feature for parents to have access to! Everything is very well maintained and spotlessly clean. The flowers and garden are well groomed. And there was painting and restoration being done every day that we were there. It's clear that so much care is put into the upkeep of the hotel.

The rooms themselves were extremely cozy and spacious and we felt immediately at home. We had 2 rooms- the Kibbultz (sp?) and The Club, which were right next to one another. One of them had a dining table, living room, and a little kitchenette with dining ware and cooking pots etc. Everything seemed new and we had everything we needed to make our stay feel comfortable. And even the rooms had excellent artwork up in them.

Breakfast was great. Fresh fruit, pastries, bread, excellent coffee. The dining room is cozy but a bit dark and I think management could improve on the lighting in that room. We brought our breakfasts outside to the porch on our last morning and that was wonderful.

Robert, the manager is warm and welcoming and always prepared to answer questions. He gave us a lot of good personal recommendations for restaurants and bars in the area. We used the brand new grill on the grounds and Robert was very helpful in getting us set up with it and directing us to a good place to get grill food items.

As for the surroundings, there is a gorgeous, fern-filled magical trail right behind the hotel. Right next door is Harvest Market which is a great gourmet store with wines, deli meats and cheeses, prepared foods, delicious breakfast sandwiches, pastries, and pretty much everything you need while on vacation. The Stowe Recreation Path is very closeby. The Recreation Path is just beautiful and I highly recommend biking it starting from the North entrance. Bikes are free to borrow for MRR hotel guests, which is a great feature of the hotel. We actually rented our bikes from a bike store, but only because we wanted a trailer for our baby and MRR didn't have one. But if you were to just need bikes, the hotel would save you a lot of money.

This place only deserves positive reviews. I feel so sorry that they have not received as much business as they could have because of these false, damaging reviews.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NomadTraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I'll start out with the good. The renovations that have been done are amazing and beautiful. The people that worked there were friendly. It's close to access the recreation path. You can walk to the village if your able to walk about a mile and a half. They have free wifi access and nice flat screen TV's with cable. They had some crusiser bikes that the guests could use. We did, and loved them and the ability to use them, free of charge. Now for the bad: the room was ok but it needed some updating, which I'm sure they will get around to. There was no microwave but we did have a fridge and coffee maker. Half of the outlets didn't work. The outlet in the bathroom didn't work at all, so I couldn't us the hairdryer or curling iron in there. We did let them know the first day, but we never heard anything and it wasn't fixed. The breakfast room is nice with a patio off it, however, there was no microwave there either. Breakfast was cold ceral, store bought danish, and some yorgurt. There was fresh fruit provided, but since that was the best thing, everyone took a lot of that and if you weren't there early there was maybe one piece left. The hot tub had no directions on how it worked. You just had to figure it out. The sauna didn't work at all. The control was broke. There was only one ugly plastic chair on our balcony.Now the ugly: Our room was not cleaned the first day until we went out at 4 pm to swim. it was at that time the housekeeper came and asked if we wanted housekeeping. The next day we went out at 10:30 and didn't come back till 4 and had our maid service request sign on the door. No one ever came. Needless to say, a tip was never left. The worst was the musty smell of the room. My husband took off the filter for the window air conditioner and it was black and disgusting! He took an old tooth brush and cleaned it for over an hour. After doing that the smell got better then next day!

Room Tip: It's better to call to see where the rooms are located. The ones in the pool building are the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendyxski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

THe MRR is a great place to stay - great bed, clean rooms, awesomely strong coffee at breakfast, and an indoor and outdoor pool with a jacuzzi and sauna. The prices for the place (at least in the summer) was amazing at $89. I was skeptical at first but the view alone is worth it. It is close to everything and the staff is friendly and make great recommendations for food and fun. It isnt extremely fancy - but I loved all of the free samples in the bathroom - especially all the Tom's of Maine stuff! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

So as my subject suggests, the common areas were quite nice. Clean, stylishly furnished, open, spacious, etc. The pool area and outdoor seating were also quite nice. The staff were also very helpful and polite.

The disappointment was in the room. It looked like the inside of an average motel, but definitely not a hotel and especially not a resort. I believe the bed was a double and looked like it was taken from a girls bedroom (it was gold). The decor was dated, kitchenette out of the 80s, etc.

Overall, it was a perfectly fine place. Neither amazing nor terrible. It's good if you're looking for a mid-range accommodation which it provides.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middletown, ct
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This place, and Kyle the night manager, define awesome service and 1st class accommodations. The rooms were clean, large and comfortable with a california king and a queen sized pullout. Kyle did everything he could to satisfy our requests and then some. The deck outside the lobby served as a perfect gathering location for the 36 people I was staying there with. Our annual trip to northern vt has already been booked for July of 2013 and we're all coming right back here. Anyone staying in or near Stowe should very seriously rethink booking a room anywhere else.

Room Tip: I was there with over 30 people and saw almost every room in the place, they are all awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S00f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.4 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Road Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Road Resort

Property: The Mountain Road Resort
Address: 1007 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain Road Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Mountain Road Resort. We are conveniently located on the mountain road just 5 minutes from majestic Mount Mansfield, Vermont’s highest peak and home to Stowe mountain resort. We are within walking distance to most of Stowe’s art and antique galleries, restaurants, shops and entertainment venues and we are just 35 minutes from Jay peak, Mad River Glenn, and Smugglers Notch. We offer high quality lodging with consistently excellent service and six different types of accommodation. The Mountain Road Resort offers our guests’ great value and a balanced blend of modern amenities and timeless rustic charm. Whether you are traveling to Stowe for business, outdoor recreation, or pleasure the mountain road resort welcomes you and looks forward to providing you a clean well appointed room at a terrific rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Mountain Road Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Road Hotel Stowe
Mountain Road Resort
The Mountain Road Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing