We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annoyed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mountain Road Resort
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I understand the statement, "Looks can be deceiving" now. Upon arrival, the newly renovated check-in/lounge area was welcoming and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our room, in the not so renovated section, was clean and would have been the perfect place to sleep after a day of skiing. I say would have been, if it wasn't for the PAPER THIN WALLS!! Now I'm a pretty heavy, sleeper and never complain about noise, but I'm leaving this place completely irritated. The room next door had a crying baby that never stopped. The downstairs room had a party going on and were blaring their music. The loud noises triggered someone's dogs to start incessantly barking. I'm leaving more exhausted from this vacation than when it started. Hopefully, this doesn't happen to you on your vacation. If you stay here, bring earplugs.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Ittybittyboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I must admit me and my girlfriend are kind of picky when it comes to hotels but this place we thoroughly enjoyed. It was very quiet, rooms were clean and roomy. The staff was very knowledgeable about events in and out of town. The fireplace in the room was a nice touch. The pool, hot tub and sauna area were also very relaxing and seem to be recently renovated. Even when I needed more toilet paper they rushed it all the way over to me in sub zero temps really early in the morning. Mattress was not of the best quality but still wasn't terrible. Bathroom was large and the mini fridge and mini bar are a huge plus. Will for sure stay here again on the return to stowe.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cyril J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I went with a foliage photo group, so did not choose the hotel myself. Upon arrival around noon, the staff was working very hard to prepare the rooms. We only had about a 10 minute wait. Nice to be able to settle in right away. The motel style room was basic and clean. Even though we were in first bldg close to the road we nevertheless heard no traffic. Being set back and up a small hill helped. Breakfast was continental and coffee was good. Even supplied carry cups for take away. Liked that the in room fridge and coffee area were set apart with raised counter. Hate bending over low bureaus to prepare coffee.
I would return here. Location to town is just right. Nearby store convenient for snacks etc. next time would take advantage of the inviting pools.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I love going up to Vermont. This trip was about the fourth time to Stowe and our second time we stayed at The Mountain Road Resort. Our room was very clean and the staff was very accommodating. The market next door and the complimentary bike rental are just added bonuses. I will be staying here next trip to Stowe!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lor34Ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I came into town to bring my family to a wedding and we got a room here. We have 3 small children and always like to find a spot with a pool. We cannot express enough how nice the pool facilities are! Very clean and a great use of space! The kids had a blast! The overall experience was very family friendly and a GREAT option when staying in the pricey town of Stowe!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kati F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

The pictures on line are somewhat deceiving. The room is spacious and the bed was comfortable otherwise the room was very average, no frills. The curtain in the back of the room just outside the bathroom lacked about 10 inches in length but nothing a bath towel couldn't remedy. The front desk person was very cordial and helpful with dinner suggestions. The service however stopped there. Turns out that the nice appearing lobby shown on line is locked and not accessible except certain times. The 8AM complimentary breakfast did not appear until someone finally drove up and unlocked the door around 8:30. By this time we just left frustrated with the poor attention to detail. There are plenty of other places to choose from in Stowe and we will do so next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atowndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Had a group that used 19 rooms. Evidently they hopefully are remodeling. My room was good and roomy. Others were small and crowded with broken coffee tables or air conditioners that didn't work. Breakfast was fruit and cereal and a few sweet rolls. Staff was hardly ever seen by me. If you're driving a tour bus, get ready to back in cause it's hard to turn around.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.5 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#11 of 24 in Stowe
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#15 of 24 in Stowe
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
#14 of 24 in Stowe
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Road Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Road Resort

Address: 1007 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £74 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain Road Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Mountain Road Resort. We are conveniently located on the mountain road just 5 minutes from majestic Mount Mansfield, Vermont’s highest peak and home to Stowe mountain resort. We are within walking distance to most of Stowe’s art and antique galleries, restaurants, shops and entertainment venues and we are just 35 minutes from Jay peak, Mad River Glenn, and Smugglers Notch. We offer high quality lodging with consistently excellent service and six different types of accommodation. The Mountain Road Resort offers our guests’ great value and a balanced blend of modern amenities and timeless rustic charm. Whether you are traveling to Stowe for business, outdoor recreation, or pleasure the mountain road resort welcomes you and looks forward to providing you a clean well appointed room at a terrific rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mountain Road Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Road Hotel Stowe
Mountain Road Resort
The Mountain Road Resort Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing