We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inn with a very home like feeling.”
Review of The Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gables Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed here for only a night but it was such a great time. The owner is a really great guy and was very accomedating to his guests. Rooms were on the small side but for the price that was not an issue. Great showers that don't skimp on pressure or volume like some hotels. Very comfy beds. Free wifi was very nice, fast, and easy to use. Pool was cold but great on a hot summer night. This place is also within walking distance of some shops, restaurants and bars, yet isn't on a very traveled road which is just great for this section of Vermont. I personally loved the homey feel of the place, it felt like coming home to a quintessential Vermont home where you are treated like a guest in someones home. Best part was the free breakfast, they say it is the best in Stowe, but I would say it is probably the best in Vermont.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewizard09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Gables and it was WONDERFUL!!!! The owners were the NICEST people! We were attracted to the low price and included breakfast, and we were VERY impressed! The breakfast was excellent: filling, lots of options, and DELICIOUS! The B&B was very cute and cozy. Very friendly (especially the dog, Yogi). The room was clean, and nicely furnished, the bed was nice and warm. Great water pressure in the HOT shower. Wished we had brought our suits for the HOT TUB. The wi-fi was nice. Very centrally located. The owners even put out FREE HOME MADE soup in the afternoon. Loved this place, and CANNOT wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maineiak07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed with Randy & Annette for our ski trip to Stowe. It was perfect. So much nicer than staying in a bland hotel with no atmosphere. Arriving at the Gables Inn, you are sure to be greeted by Yogi, who my girls adored. The atmosphere is great and you instantly feel like one of the family. We stayed in one of the Carriage House rooms which was perfect for us; nice and spacious and a comfy bed. Breakfast was excellent, especially the specials which are some of the most imaginative choices I've seen anywhere in my broad experience of American diners - my favourite was the smoked salmon risotto! The soup, hot cider and cake in the afternoon was a perfect way to relax after a day's skiing and it's lovely to be able to share your days adventures with the other residents and Randy.
Stowe is a lovely town and the Gables Inn is placed nicely within it to give easy reach to all the restaurants and bars and also to the ski slopes. I had originally thought we might need to drive to other resorts, but we were more than happy with the selection of ski runs available during our 5 day stay.
When we return to Stowe we will definitely be returning to the Gables Inn, thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyS-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

WOW great place to stay. The staff or owners make it like your own home, you sit and lounge around the fire place and watch TV. they let you use their own kitchen. Take the $5 omelette it's juicy, thick and very tasty.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabesTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I grew up in Vermont and the Gables Inn reminds me of my Grandma's home. After a day on the slopes we looked forward to Randy's hot cider, warm fire and soup ( Although my gumbo is better :>) )..... My wife and I have been a guest of the Inn three times now and we will be back for a forth...... I JUST REALLY LIKE THIS PLACE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpnivtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I was happily surprised at our stay at Gables over New Years holiday weekend. Our room was modest but clean and the staff was very friendly. The Inn offers delicious soup and hot cider every afternoon and has by far the best breakfast in town (the stuffed french toast is out of this world). We stayed for 2 nights and then 1 night at TopNotch with the intention of making use of their nordic ski package. Although the stay at Top Notch was nice with a great spa and would have been worthwhile had the snow conditions been okay to nordic ski, my husband and i are working through multiple miscellaneous charges to our credit card from Top Notch. Next time we'll just stick with The Gables for the entire time and save ourselves the hassle.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkmnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We travel to Stowe every year and The Gables Inn is one of our two favorite places to stay. We just got back from a nice winter get-away weekend in which we stayed at The Gables. We were not disappointed. The Innkeepers take pride in their Inn and work hard to make sure every person feels welcome and comfortable. This Inn is on the Mountain Road and is close to many local attractions. We stayed in one of the Carriage House rooms which are detached from the main house and are spacious for 2 people. We found everything to be clean, a nice comfortable bed, new carpeting, firewood stacked in the room, cable tv, and a jacuzzi bath. It's great to sit in the main living room and converse with the varied people staying there - many are repeat customers and are eager to give their recommendations on the many local attractions. A review of The Gables Inn cannot be complete without the two-thumbs way up recommendation of their breakfast! The Gables serves the absolute BEST breakfast in Stowe! If you are looking for a friendly, value-minded place to stay, I recommend you look into The Gables Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogMomPlymouthMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn

Address: 1457 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4750
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: £62 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gables Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its cozy atmosphere and great breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Stowe
The Gables Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing