We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent breakfast”
Review of The Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gables Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I agree with the reviews on the excellent included breakfast and the need to update the place. We were lucky with our room because we were in the Riverview Suite which is a separate building that we had to ourselves - very quiet and roomy although could use some updates. The owners are friendly and accomodating, and it was a good choice for our dogs. There's a great trail for walking them right out the door. It's certainly cheaper than a lot of other inns in Stowe and a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for the Riverview Suite. It's quieter and roomier and includes a TV and kitchenette and hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trevian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed in one of the carriage house rooms which was very large with a great fireplace and king bed. The owners, Annette and Randy, are extremely friendly as is Yogi the dog. The breakfast was wonderful, the inn was quaint.

Room Tip: If you want TV and a coffee pot in your room, stay in one of the carriage house rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This inn wasn't what we expected. The common rooms were tired, worn, and not clean. Our room was cleaner, but needed updating. The whole inn had a feeling of neglect and disrepair.
On the positive side, the owners were very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious. The inn has potential, but needs a thorough cleaning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sojouner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Jury's out on this one. If we had turned up as a walk in, we would have walked out straight away. The main entrance area is very tired and worn and was, frankly, dirty.Similarly, the owner's clothes looked distinctly dirty, more like those of a mechanic than a B&B owner. As mentioned by another guest, the furniture in the lounge has seen better days, with the sofa feeling distinctly sticky.
However, the place wove its charm! It is what it is, a family run old house. The breakfasts were great, there was always free coffee and home made cake and it was lovely sitting in front of the fire with the old dog at our feet. No tv in the bedrooms if you stay in the old part of the house, neither was there a coffee maker. As a result, guests are almost forced into each other's company in the main lounge. The owner, Randy, likes to join guests for a chat, so If this isn't for you, then don't go.
Breakfasts are open to the public, which sometimes meant a long wait, but the food is fresh and well prepared with vegetarians well catered for.
A small investment in sofa covers and new rugs would make a huge difference to the feel of the place. Don't expect The Ritz and you'll enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Go for the best you can afford! Try to avoid rooms on the ground floor of the old house as they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandererCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Perhaps my view is tainted because we had just left an absolutely outstanding B&B in Sugar Hill, NH (The Victorian on Sunset Hill), but we were not terribly impressed with The Gables. On the positive side, the inn-keepers were friendly (as was Yogi the dog) and breakfast was very good. Our stay was OK, but not to the standard we hoped. The Gables, as far as I could tell, has 3 buildings. We stayed in the Gables Suite which is in the original (very old) building. The other two buildings appears more current, though not new, and the rooms are significantly higher in price. I don't mind the creaky floors, and I knew going in this was in the older section. I didn't expect picture perfect, but we had 1980-ish thread-bare furniture and the bed creaked every time you shifted position. The mattress was old as well. Furniture in the common room was in a similar state. The cleanliness, while not horrible, was not up to standards either. There was quite a bit of dust, and the big jacuzzi looked questionable. This particular room was a suite and it included a tv. However, the tv was only viewable from the old couch, not from the bed. I am guessing the rooms in the newer buildings are a bit more up-to-date, though the cleanliness standards would be the same. Our room faced the busy road, and we noticed a lot of traffic noise, especially when the windows were open. This would likely not be as much of a problem in the winter. The inn is in a very convenient location, and seemed to attract a significant number of foreign visitors (which made for interesting conversations). If you are on a tight budget, the inexpensive rooms in the old building are a decent value, but if your expectations are Hampton-inn-quality or higher, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moneeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Long standing patrons, subjected to surly, discourteous and angry service by the wait staff after making a request for table accommodation. After the request, our table subjected to long waits for coffee and then service.
The issue was not the policy but rather how it was communicated.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My husband and I decided to head up to Vermont for a weekend getaway and found this hotel due to other Trip advisor reviews and the price that was much lesser than rest of the bed and breakfast in the area. I should say- this was an IDEAL place for our needs. If all you are looking for is a BED and a BREAKFAST, this is it! It is a great value for money. Every room has a private bath and is clean. The breakfast spread that is complementary for inn guests is AMAZING. The options are plenty and tasty. Be it the house pancakes, the Waffles or the Benedict, it was thoroughly enjoyable
The inn keeper Randy was very friendly and so was the rest of the staff.
All in all- we would definitely return here and rate this as a great value for money.

Room Tip: Room with a Queen bed and private bath- great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harini G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn

Address: 1457 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4750
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: £62 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gables Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its cozy atmosphere and great breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Stowe
The Gables Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing