We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gables Inn offers a warm , comfortable and pleasant B & B experience”
Review of The Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gables Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2009

As you take in the beauty of Stowe, the Gables Inn only adds to the entire ambiance. The proprieters are wonderful hosts and the Inn is warm and cozy. They treat you as family and it is nice to socialize with the other guests. Some of the benefits include fabulously diverse breakfasts, gorgeous mountain views and close proximity to the bike path and the village. The smells from the kitchen and the kindness of the host and hostess are enough to bring you back for that wonderful Vermont experience as often as possible. We would highly recommend a stay at the Gables Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChubbsinMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2009

The Gables Inn makes the Bates Hotel look like the Ritz Carlton. It is old, dilapidated and very dirty. We booked two nights but only stayed one. The pictures on the website and in the brochures are total fantasy. We stayed in a Carriage House room. The beds did not have a mattress, only a box spring supported by a piece of plywood. It was like trying to sleep on a slab in the morgue. The room was sparsely furnished and had the atmosphere of being inside an empty cardboard box. The fireplace glass door was missing one side so you could not close the hearth which made the room smell like an outdoor campsite. We could not get out of this place fast enough.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DickandNancy2715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This place was great for our 2 day trip to Stowe. The owners were very friendly and stayed up late to accommodate our arrival. There was coffee cake and hot chocolate whenever we wanted and a very good and filling breakfast out on the porch of the b&b. It is walking distance from a few restaurants and a bar. The rooms were comfortable, but it was a bit loud in the mornings.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAgradstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

It was the first Christmas my mom and I spent together in years so I wanted to find a place where she would be comfortable while I skied (she is diabetic as well). I was just thrilled with the attention my mom received from the owners. They were very accommodating to her special needs. Now let's talk breakfast.... I am not surprised they are well know for their breakfast because it deserves all the notariaty - it's filling and tasty!!! For the price, location and food... I would (am) definitely stay there again! This place is a diamond in the ruff for skiers.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cavaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Gables. The location is great, the price is right, the rooms are charming, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The facility has not been recently renovated, and the fireplaces make the carpeting a little dingy, but if you can look past that you're likely to love this place. We stayed in the Riverview Suite, which was spacious and delightful.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We had the pure pleasure of staying at the Gables for 12 nights – some would call that a long stay during Christmas and New Year’s at a country inn or B&B. This was not the case at the Gables. It was truly a home away from home. After many years of travel all over the world we are writing our first review here on TripAdvisor.

We stayed in the Gables Suite in the main building. The bed was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed the hot tub and fireplace every day of our stay. We appreciated that the staff respected the idea of not changing out our linens every day but stayed true to the idea of conservation. They changed the linens as we asked. As in any old building, we occasionally heard noises in the adjacent rooms, but nothing that disturbed our rest.

Randy and Annette are wonderful hosts. They are extremely helpful with any request. They were forthcoming and friendly but they read carefully how much privacy we required and did not impose themselves in any way. We enjoyed getting to know them very much. One of the most unique and special features of the Inn is that the hosts offer a soup or snack every evening around 4:30 p.m. The guests and hosts sit together and enjoy delicious food and interesting conversation. It is a very relaxed and fun experience. There is no pressure to participate and we chose to do so about 50% of the time. Though we tend to be very private people we were happy to interact with the hosts and the guests on those occasions.

The breakfasts at the Gables met and exceeded all the positive reviews. The ingredients are extremely fresh and fascinating. The homemade Hollandaise sauce is incredible, as were all the seasonings and toppings. Randy is truly a wonderful chef as evidenced by the breakfasts and the evening appetizers. Annette and the staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. Watching Stowe wake up from the porch dining area was a treat we looked forward to every morning.

We really enjoyed Yogi, the wonderful 11-year old Golden Retriever pet of the inn. He is not, in any way, in your face. He does welcome you after a day of skiing or other activity, and he loves to plop down at your feet while you read and enjoy the evening’s delectable offering by Randy.

If you are looking for posh appointments and a relatively sterile environment, the Gables Inn is not for you. If you love country inns with character, if you enjoy a superior breakfast, and if you appreciate exceptional proprietors, RESERVE NOW at the Gables Inn. If you understand all that is Stowe, this inn is not to be missed. It is a diamond near the heart of Stowe.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa_and_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Gables Inn, in Stowe, while I was in Vermont on business. My secretary handled all of my bookings so I had no idea what to expect.

I was greeted at the door by a charming young couple, who turned out to be the owners of the establishment. They were ever on hand for assistance and information. One one occasion Randy, the husband, drove me to a meeting when a local taxi company had no car available.

The restaurant at the inn only serves breakfast, unfortunately. The food was great, though.

In short, if you are looking for a place to stay and you need something warm, rustic and homey the Gables Inn is it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WVA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.7 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
427 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
154 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
1.1 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn

Address: 1457 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4750
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: £65 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gables Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its cozy atmosphere and great breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Stowe
The Gables Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing