We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to another stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Looking forward to another stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2007

We stayed several nights at the Gables Inn and selected it primarily for location (about 10 mins from the slopes).

The Gables Inn is a truly "homey" place. My teenage daughter says she felt like she was at Grandma's house--very comfortable and relaxed. She felt so at home she constantly left our door open! Our room included a breakfast menu that was truly outstanding! Apres ski treats, prepared by Randy, were always welcome.

We stayed in the Master Bedroom, which was very large and clean. It includes a gas fireplace and a small TV and sofa. The bed was very comfortable.

There are many restaurants nearby and dinner plans, even during the busy President's Week, were never a problem.

I would recommend the Gables to anyone looking for convenience to Mansfield, a great breakfast and a very home-like setting.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank bilo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    66
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
110
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2007

We are frequent visitors to Stowe during the winter months. On our last trip we chose the Gables Inn and stayed in one of the Carriage House rooms, which are located to the left of the main building. Upon arrival we were pleasantly greeted by Annette, one of the owners, and her sweet dog Yogi. She showed us to our room which was extemely large, nicely decorated, and spotless. We brought our little dog with us, and this room was extremely comfortable for all of us, including our 16 year old son. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in our room after a day of skiing, which was made even nicer as the wood was all set for us and all we had to do was light it. Extra wood was available right outside the door. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, the room was quiet, and the bath towels were excellent quality and plush. The breakfast each morning was delicious, and the general feel of the inn was very comfortable and unpretentious. Annette & Randy made us feel as though we were at home, yet everything was dealt with in a very in a very professional & efficient manner. We were EXTREMELY pleased with everything, and as a family who has been traveling here for over 25 years, we know we will return many more times in the future. Thank You Annette, Randy & Yogi !!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2006

I learned a valuable lesson with this property- in an area where rooms are expensive, don't go cheap! This room was awful- the bed squeeked when just sitting down on it! Every time we turned over, it was so noisey. The place smells greasy when you walk in, interiors are old and tired. No place to put your luggage. The owner did get us a couple of tables, so he tried. One good point- breakfast was surprisingly good

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Bed was noisey and uncomfortable.
  • Tips/Secrets — Spend a little money and get a better place!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ski2pla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2006

We have stayed here several times, and are very pleased each time. The Inn is situated right on the Mountain Rd so it is conveinient for skiing and for dining in the evening. The hosts offer a pleasant environment with a warm apres ski drink and snack. Breakfast cannot be beat, great coffee and fantastic eggs benedict. We enjoyed the outdoor hot tub witha view of the mountain!

  • Liked — Great breakfast, outdoor hot tub
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank digtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2005

We opted for The Gables Inn for a long weekend. The spacious annex room (with king bed, fireplace and 2-person whirlpool tub) was just the ticket for a great ski getaway. A wonderful breakfast was included. The Inn is non-smoking, and Yogi, the resident golden retriever, gave us a warm welcome. We've been to Stowe a number of times and have usually been disappointed with the accomodations. This time we hit it right by choosing the Gables. Hope to make a return visit soon.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank disneygalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mountain Road Resort
1.5 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn

Property: The Gables Inn
Address: 1457 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gables Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its cozy atmosphere and great breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Stowe
The Gables Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing