We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A repeat customer”
Review of The Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A repeat customer”
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We travel to Stowe every year and The Gables Inn is one of our two favorite places to stay. We just got back from a nice winter get-away weekend in which we stayed at The Gables. We were not disappointed. The Innkeepers take pride in their Inn and work hard to make sure every person feels welcome and comfortable. This Inn is on the Mountain Road and is close to many local attractions. We stayed in one of the Carriage House rooms which are detached from the main house and are spacious for 2 people. We found everything to be clean, a nice comfortable bed, new carpeting, firewood stacked in the room, cable tv, and a jacuzzi bath. It's great to sit in the main living room and converse with the varied people staying there - many are repeat customers and are eager to give their recommendations on the many local attractions. A review of The Gables Inn cannot be complete without the two-thumbs way up recommendation of their breakfast! The Gables serves the absolute BEST breakfast in Stowe! If you are looking for a friendly, value-minded place to stay, I recommend you look into The Gables Inn.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogMomPlymouthMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    68
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
19
112
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2010

The room was cozy and clean. The owners were truly friendly and engaging. And yes, the legendary breakfast was delicious. Also, the coffee was great. We were on a ski trip so a big breakfast was key. Hanging out in the early evening by the fire, watching Jeopardy, talking to the owners--who were very helpful with restaurant advice--and other guests made it a better than usual B and B experience. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, PA
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We've stayed at Gables Inn previously, during the ski season, and returned for a brief visit this fall. The proprietors are very welcoming and friendly (including Yogi, their Golden Retriever.) After a day sightseeing, shopping, or on the slopes, you can sit by the rustic hearth and relax. Their breakfasts are the best that Stowe has to offer, a great way to start the day.
If you are seeking a clean, comfortable Inn that exudes warmth and a rustic charm, I strongly recommend the Gables Inn. Comfortable and clean, with its own character and a good value. What else could anyone want?

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stiggs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We found The Gables Inn on the Vermont hotels website and the snowny scene would indicate a charming country B&B. In reality, when the snow melted, the worn exterior indicates that the interior is equally as worn, if not more. There was an odor about the place when we walked in, but we thought it might be cooking odors, so we said nothing. The room was as billed, small with 2 twin beds, but both beds creaked and groaned when either of us even moved. The room was stuffy, even in October, so we slept with the windows open and the fan on low. The road noise from the highway made it very difficult to sleep. Included in the room rate is the "legendary" breakfast. However, the dining room does not open until 8AM, which was too late for us to start our day of sightseeing. Even as we left the Inn at 7:20, there was no fresh coffee (as promised) available in the living room. We booked this room 2 months out and our credit card was billed immediately. We felt commited to stay here because of the prepayment, but it was not as represented and not a good value for the money at $133, tax included. The one bright spot of the Gables Inn is the owner, who made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1122011o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2009

As you take in the beauty of Stowe, the Gables Inn only adds to the entire ambiance. The proprieters are wonderful hosts and the Inn is warm and cozy. They treat you as family and it is nice to socialize with the other guests. Some of the benefits include fabulously diverse breakfasts, gorgeous mountain views and close proximity to the bike path and the village. The smells from the kitchen and the kindness of the host and hostess are enough to bring you back for that wonderful Vermont experience as often as possible. We would highly recommend a stay at the Gables Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChubbsinMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The Gables Inn makes the Bates Hotel look like the Ritz Carlton. It is old, dilapidated and very dirty. We booked two nights but only stayed one. The pictures on the website and in the brochures are total fantasy. We stayed in a Carriage House room. The beds did not have a mattress, only a box spring supported by a piece of plywood. It was like trying to sleep on a slab in the morgue. The room was sparsely furnished and had the atmosphere of being inside an empty cardboard box. The fireplace glass door was missing one side so you could not close the hearth which made the room smell like an outdoor campsite. We could not get out of this place fast enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickandNancy2715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This place was great for our 2 day trip to Stowe. The owners were very friendly and stayed up late to accommodate our arrival. There was coffee cake and hot chocolate whenever we wanted and a very good and filling breakfast out on the porch of the b&b. It is walking distance from a few restaurants and a bar. The rooms were comfortable, but it was a bit loud in the mornings.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAgradstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
1.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
482 reviews
2.7 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,091 reviews
0.7 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn

Property: The Gables Inn
Address: 1457 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4750
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gables Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its cozy atmosphere and great breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Stowe
The Gables Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing