We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love to drive the Toll Road and hike to the top.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Mansfield

Mount Mansfield
Ranked #2 of 59 things to do in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vermont mountain resembling a person's profile.
Stamford CT
Level Contributor
289 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Love to drive the Toll Road and hike to the top.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

For years, we've enjoyed driving to the top via the Toll Road, then hiking to the Chin at the "top of Vermont" for a mountain picnic. Best on a clear day, of course.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandyRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    145
    22
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Auto toll Road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

After climbing Mt. Washington in my car couple years ago Mt Mansfield fall s short in comparison.

But if you do it with open mind it is a great road to go up to Mt Mansfield with some great scenic stops in between. The Fee is obviously hiked up like Mt. Washington as it is a tourist area. The road are all gravel and not tarred.

We started at the bottom around 50 degrees and by the time we got up there it was like 34 degrees cold as hell on 4th of July weekend. The road are very curvy and the curves tend to go uphill quite a bit but most of the cars dont have any problems.

The view from up the mountain is quite good. When we got there it was overcast and cold and did not spend lot of time there but while on the way down sun came out on full force and everything cleared up.

It is a great ride up if u never been to Mt. Washington but if you have then depends how much money you are willing to pay for an inferior view comparatively and if u haven't been to Mt Washington then go right ahead and enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tkantesaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Technical but the Views are Worth It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have skied Stowe many times & wanted to climb the highest peak in VT. We chose the west side of the mountain at the Underhill Camp site. We didn't camp there; it's a 45 minute drive from Burlington. We took the Sunset Ridge Trail up, which has one steep boulder section & a lot of scenic views. Starting up to the "Chin" or top of Mount Mansfield, we encountered wind & a drop in temperature. It was calmer on top & the views were amazing. We could see the Stowe ski resort through the fog. We took the Laura Cowles trail coming down by mistake, since it is rated one of the most difficult trails especially in wet conditions, which it was. But, we managed going down a lot of it "butt style" or maybe "bug style" would be more descriptive. I would not recommend this trail going down, but it was shorter & really focused us! I would recommend hiking Mount Mansfield.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MMingus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hell Brook !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hike the Hell Brook Trail for a technical trail adventure. Some very challenging sections and very steep. Not a gentle hike at all, make sure to bring plenty of fluids/food/energy supplements. Hike the long trail back down to the bottom, or you could hop on the gondola from the top.
The Long Trail, and other trails are more moderate, but still challanging ways to get to the highest point in Vermont atop Mt. Mansfield.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackstone164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent skiing for whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The amenities at Stowe are second to none. The snowmaking ensures good coverage even in warm weather. Lots of trails, great grooming. Lift tickets are expensive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luv2ski11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mount Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing