We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the Charm of Rural Vermont......with Stowe thrown in!”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All the Charm of Rural Vermont......with Stowe thrown in!”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Just had an enchanting 3-day stay at the Brass Lantern Inn. It truly is an island of peace and quiet with all the informal charm of rural Vermont less than a mile from the Stowe resort village. And we have never met Inn hosts as warm, friendly and knowledgeable as Mary Anne and George. The Inn has custom-decorated rooms as well as 3 different lounges that allow guests to spread out to read and converse. And it has acres of green grass for children to play. Not to be missed!

Guillaume Bissonnette

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guiillaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
What a charming note from the most charming couple. Thank you! Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
99
488
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn for two nights at the beginning of August. We had planned a very relax, romantic week-end so we hadn't planned many activities. It was a good thing because we could have stayed in the inn for the entire week-end since it was so enjoyable. We had the very spacious Mt Mansfield room which had a king bed, a decent size flat-screen TV, a modular couch, a mini-fridge, a microwave oven and a Keurig coffeemaker. The bathroom was nice, functionnal and always clean. The bed and couch were extremely comfortable. It's only a shame we weren't in the right season to make good use of the fireplace.
George and Mary Anne are wonderful hosts and keep an impressive attention to details in order to make their guests feel special. They are very knowledgeable of the surrounding activities and attractions worth visiting. The breakfasts, all made by George himself and served by Mary Anne, were exquisite. We would not have had a better breakfast at a surrounding restaurant.
If we return to Stowe, we'll definitely come back to the Brass Lantern Inn, which made for more than half the fun we had visiting this town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenceSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Brass Lantern Inn at the beginning and end of a holiday in Maine. Mary Ann and George are wonderful hosts - genuinely interested in their guests and passionate about their inn. Our stay was marked with a lovely large room overlooking the back garden and mountains, wonderful breakfasts, helpful recommendations for dinner, and the feeling of a "home away from home". If we return to Stowe, this is our first phone call!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PumaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband and I were looking to stay in Vermont but were unsure which city to pick. We decided to trust Tripadvisor and came across The Brass Lantern Inn. We could not choose better!
Perfectly located, close to all the attractions that Stowe has to offer, the Brass Lantern Inn was such a great romantic escape! Mary Ann and George are amazing innkeepers, very warm, helpful, great cooks (fantastic complimentary fresh breakfast cooked every morning and tasty afternoon treats - we miss it!!!) and obviously passionate about their "business": you'll notice in the attention to detail and customer care.
The inn is charming and you immediately feel at (an even better version of!) home. The room was lovely, extremely clean and comfortable with a great mountain view. We also loved playing bocce on the lawn, watching the sunset (there are other games available in the living room, which can be cool for the kids). Overall we absolutely loved our stay at the Brass Lantern Inn and were sad to leave...but I'm sure we'll be back at some point, I heard foliage season is not to be missed in the region!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which has a great mountain view, private bath and lovely decoration but all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Standjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
We are always very thankful to have this opportunity to be of service to our guests and are truly touched to know that our guests/friends appreciate and recognize our efforts. We feel privileged to host wonderful people and share this great community and this beautiful corner of Vermont. I know, sounds like a sales pitch, but as we hope you experienced from your visit, we very much enjoy this business/lifestyle. And while it certainly requires a lot of work and focus to maintain the level of attention to detail you note, it still feels more like an amazing adventure (each and every day) than a "job." Thanks to you and all of our previous guests that take time out of their busy lives to share such kind words on our behalf. Thank you very much, Mary Anne and George, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very comfortable,clean well appointed rooms .Convenient location. Our room no. 1 had a nice view of the mountains. Pastry snacks,lemonade/ice tea made available each afternoon after we got back from exploring. Our hosts ,George and Mary Ann were very cogeneal,attentive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyNiederst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stay Brass lantern inn for 4 nights. Very clean, great breakfast ! And excellent service. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrickville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Excellent. Friendly, cozy , clean. Everything you want at a Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tplovesducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
202 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,819 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing