We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we could have hoped for- and then some”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springville, New York
1 review
“Everything we could have hoped for- and then some”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I had the good fortune of staying at the Brass Lantern during our honeymoon in early August. We had a wonderful stay. Everything about the Inn was exquisite. The Innkeepers, George and Mary Anne, made us feel so welcome the moment we arrived. They are both very warm and personable. We were really impressed with the cleanliness throughout the Inn. The lay out of the Inn and our guestroom was terrific. The breakfasts were absolutely incredible! We are already plotting and planning a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyJohnLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
486
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MA
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is our first stay at the Brass Lantern Inn and we just loved it including our toddler son. The hosts were wonderful. She even let go of the charge for the bath salts (their son Patrick's products - impressive btw) I purchased because she had already charged my card without this, until I asked her again! What if i had forgot to ask her, she never would have charged me. They are that wonderful. Food was so good and so were the rooms. We will definitely be going there again!!

Lakshmi, MA

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAK674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at the Brass Lantern on our first visit to Stowe to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary, and we’ve returned there for our 15th.

The Brass Lantern provides everything you’d expect from a B & B, and then some. Attention is truly given to every detail. Thank you George and Mary-Ann, for a wonderful stay at your beautiful inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

If you're lucky enough to stay at the Brass Lantern Inn in Stowe, Vermont, you're lucky enought.

We've stayed in numerous bed and breakfasts across the country, but the Brass Lantern is by far the best in every respect. The accomodations are outstanding, the breakfasts are outstanding, and the hosts (Mary Ann and George) are outstanding.

Don't hesitate about staying in this wonderful inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
And we were so very lucky to have the opportunity to host you! Thank you very much for this kind gift of sharing your experience here at the Brass Lantern Inn.

We hope we can have the opportunity to host you again.... It's been awhile, eh?

All the Best,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Can add little but our concurrence to all the previous rave reviews. This an exemplary inn (maybe a little large to call it a b&b) in every respect: attractive building and setting, friendly and welcoming owners, well-furnished, clean, and comfortable rooms, really nice public spaces, and a good breakfast. Though it's located on a main road into town - probably a little too far from the town center to walk, given the absence of sidewalks - our room faced away from the road and was perfectly quiet, with a nice view of a spacious lawn and distant mountains. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Just had an enchanting 3-day stay at the Brass Lantern Inn. It truly is an island of peace and quiet with all the informal charm of rural Vermont less than a mile from the Stowe resort village. And we have never met Inn hosts as warm, friendly and knowledgeable as Mary Anne and George. The Inn has custom-decorated rooms as well as 3 different lounges that allow guests to spread out to read and converse. And it has acres of green grass for children to play. Not to be missed!

Guillaume Bissonnette

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guiillaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
What a charming note from the most charming couple. Thank you! Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn for two nights at the beginning of August. We had planned a very relax, romantic week-end so we hadn't planned many activities. It was a good thing because we could have stayed in the inn for the entire week-end since it was so enjoyable. We had the very spacious Mt Mansfield room which had a king bed, a decent size flat-screen TV, a modular couch, a mini-fridge, a microwave oven and a Keurig coffeemaker. The bathroom was nice, functionnal and always clean. The bed and couch were extremely comfortable. It's only a shame we weren't in the right season to make good use of the fireplace.
George and Mary Anne are wonderful hosts and keep an impressive attention to details in order to make their guests feel special. They are very knowledgeable of the surrounding activities and attractions worth visiting. The breakfasts, all made by George himself and served by Mary Anne, were exquisite. We would not have had a better breakfast at a surrounding restaurant.
If we return to Stowe, we'll definitely come back to the Brass Lantern Inn, which made for more than half the fun we had visiting this town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenceSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
191 reviews
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,264 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,803 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing