We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, Wonderful Hosts”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We spent three nights at the Brass Lantern Inn at the end of May and had a wonderful time. George and Mary Anne were perfect hosts, and they pay attention to all of the little details that make a guest feel at home. The Inn is clean, well maintained and very comfortable, with beautiful views of Mt. Mansfield. Breakfast was superb. We were only there three days but felt like we were leaving close friends when we checked out. George and Mary Anne, and their family, are awesome. We feel it is the best B&B we have stayed at. Thanks for a great experience.

Ken & Pam

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mizzouengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you Ken and Pam, thank you very much these kind words! At the risk of sounding like a broken record we truly feel that the best perk of being an Innkeeper is the opportunity to meet guests that become our friends. Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your experience here at the Brass Lantern Inn. Oh, yes, and the second best perk as an Innkeeper; welcoming guests/friends back for another visit!

Happy Summer,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
99
489
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Brass Lantern recently and had a great time! The room was comfortable, the breakfast delicious, and our host and hostess extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. We stayed in a room with 2 queen bads which was very comfortable and met our needs quite well, and my brother and his fiance stayed in a room with a small fireplace - very romantic. The chocolates in the room were a nice treat! George and Mary Anne even let us send some items to the hotel in advance and held them for us until our arrival - and these were big boxes! Very kind folks indeed. I stayed with my 5-month old and they were also very accommodating in terms of her needs, anticipating what we would need and responding immediately to all requests. On one evening, we sat outside in the quiet and expansive backyard of the Inn looking out at the beautiful view of the mountains in the distance, sipping red wine and eating vermont cheeses and other treats that we had stored in the guest fridge that day. It was fantastic! Next time we will be sure to bring bathing suits for a dip in the hot tub. Did I mention the fantastic breakfasts? yummy indeed, and very filling. We would definitely return. Mary Anne and George treated us like family. The only downside was the walk into town - although the Inn is conveniently located close to the centre of Stowe, the walk to town was along a main road with no sidewalk. I certainly hope the town decides to go ahead with extending the sidewalk along that portion of the road - it would benefit those with a stroller to push.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyageur925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thank you for the kind words of praise and recognition! It was our pleasure to host your family and friends and of course your little girl with the great smile and giggles! And those sparkling eyes!!

Our reward, among many in this business, is hearing that we met and hopefully exceeded your expectations. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Stowe and perhaps even with more family (sorry your sister couldn't be here this time).

Have a wonderful summer,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have stayed at plenty of B&Bs, however this is the first time that we have posted a review. We stayed for 3 nights in the Mount Mansfield room and it is hard to think of any way that our stay could have been any better. George and Mary Anne were the best of hosts and they did everything that they could (including early breakfast on the morning that we left) to make our stay relaxing and a true home from home. George's breakfasts are superb, and Mary Anne's service and advice (even after her hand operation) made the whole stay perfect - In Mary Anne's words "it's more than just warm muffins" - highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
And you two were truly superb guests. We are so glad you found us and for giving us the opportunity to show you the Vermont that we now know you were looking for. Thank you very much for the kind words posted here, in our guest book, and the warm conversations in our breakfast room. Please come back soon.

Best,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Loved staying here.

We felt totally at home in this warm and cozy B&B. Mary Anne was welcoming, super helpful, and warm. George was also extremely friendly and warm. When I asked Mary Anne where the nearing laundromat was, she offered to put in a load of laundry herself (this happened to be a day where there were fewer customers - not a standard service offered by the inn!) I'd 6 stars for going the extra mile if I could.

The inn has beautiful common space inside and outside. The back of the inn has stunning views of the mountains. The most coveted breakfast table looks out directly through large windows. There is some sporting equipment laying arund, and there is also a very nice hot tub outside! The innkeepers are very knowledgeable. The is especially helpful for small towns, where not all attractions have made it into yelp yet.

Breakfast stood out as delicious, even compared to other B&B's which had great offerings. Accommodating for a vegetarian was no problem.

Our room was very nice and well-sized, if perhaps a bit rustic. Having the AC was nice during a hot spell in May.

Wifi was fast and solid.

Getting into town requires driving about 1/3 of a mile (or a walk along the shoulder of the rural highway). Stowe is extremely small, but a really lovely small town. Everybody seemed to know each other.

Would not hesitate to stay again. We may even plan a future trip around getting a chance to stay here again.

Eric and Jessica.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
"Loved staying here" - Perfect, as that is exactly what we hoped you would feel from your stay! Thank you for your recognition of our service. And we really are very happy to hear of your plans to return. You seem to have found from your stay that sense of place/home that we call Stowe.

Best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back,

Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from a weekend in Stowe and had the privilege of staying at the Brass Lantern Inn. We just fell in love with place. We were greeted with open arms by the nicest people, Mary Ann and George. The inn was charming, very clean and breakfasts were awesome. The views were magnificent, the little town of Stowe was lovely. Can't wait to go back again. John and Carmela (Montreal,Canada).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmela/Marco/Luca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thanks John and Carmela - it was truly our pleasure to host you this spring. We really enjoyed the exchange of stories each evenings. You two certainly added some sparkle to our Inn! We very much hope to see you two again (and perhaps next time "with your friends"!).

Our Very Best Wishes,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband and I had been working very hard lately and just wanted an over night get away, but didn't want to travel too far (we live in NH). The hostess was warm, friendly, and welcoming when we arrived.The inn itself was nicely decorated and very clean. The food was delicious, the views spectacular, the location was not walking distance to town, but it was very close, and our room was very comfortable and pleasant. The only thing we had a problem with was that the bed was too soft for us. We have a very firm (probably too firm for most people) bed at home, so any other bed will always feel too soft. When we came back to the inn after dinner we were invited to a "sing-a-long," to which we had a very nice time. It was very informal, local musicians brought music and a couple played the beautiful baby grand piano and the sweetest little 99 year old lady played her accordian, sang, and recited poetry. What a hoot! The conversation was interesting, the snacks delicious, and there were lots of laughs. We will definitely go back there, and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend in Stowe and had the great privilege of staying at the Brass Lantern Inn! We arrived for our first visit to Stowe quite weary from the stresses of life and were immediately comforted when we stepped inside the Brass Lantern Inn. Mary Anne greeted us like she'd known us for years with her warm and friendly personality. The warmth continued as we saw our room which had a cozy bed, a gas fireplace, and an incredible view of Mt. Mansfield. Unfortunately George was out of town for the weekend so we didn't get to meet him, but Mary Anne remained incredibly attentive throughout our stay, checking-in with us often to see if we needed anything. Mary Anne was able to figure us out pretty quickly, thus giving recommendations throughout the weekend for restaurants and activities that were a perfect fit! She's a fantastic cook, too, and even adjusted the fresh fruit plate she brought to me on the second day based on the fruit I'd left on my plate the day before--not even my mother remembers that I've never liked blueberries and pineapple! When you stay here, expect great rooms, great views, great food, and incredible hospitality. I can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words, Michelle. I really enjoyed getting to know you and Derek. Next time you come we will make sure George is here so you can enjoy his great cooking, too! We look forward to seeing you again, maybe in a different season. Thanks! Mary Anne (and George)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,820 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing