We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Very Special Experience"”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn the evenings of July 13th thru July 17th 2012. The Innkeepers and Owners, George and Mary Anne Lewis are wonderful hosts.
They both take a personal interest in their guests and are always willing to take extra time out
of their busy schedules to discuss attractions in the area. Also, to give you directions to your
destination.
The grounds at the inn are very well maintained by George and he Housekeeping is
impeccable. The rooms are very well furnished and comfortable. We were a little concerned
about potential noise levels being on a main road. However, this was not a problem at all and
the rooms are very quiet.
We found their breakfasts to be exceptional(prepared by George) and the service to be very
friendly, efficient and relaxed. Mary Anne also provides special homemade treats for guests
in the afternoon, including lemonade, ice tea, etc. On more than one occassion we " camped
out" at the serving table at 4:00. They were great!
Their recommendations as far as restaurants are concerned were very helpful and never a
disappointment. Their suggestions often coincided with those that we found on the Trip Advisor
website.
George and Mary Anne truly go the extra mile to provide a very warm and comfortable experience for their guests that you will never forget.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOHN1443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

We enjoyed the opportunity to host you for your extended stay here in Stowe. We also enjoyed the time we had with you each afternoon at tea time to hear about your days' adventure - you filled each day. We missed that afternoon chat on your day of departure!

You two brought a wonderful and generous personality to our Inn. For that we are also very grateful and thankful.

We appreciate the very kind words.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

We traveled from Michigan to this Inn based on the Trip Advisor rating and we were more than pleased. The room was amazing and quiet. We were in Room 7. The sheets on the bed were amazing. We loved the breakfasts, the location and our helpful innkeepers. They didn't hover but offered amazing advice. We would definitely stay again if we were in Stowe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariejoan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

We appreciate these very kind words. We strive to be attentive without being intrusive and it appears we hit the mark with you. We recognize and respect you taking the time to let other potential guests know of your stay. Invaluable comments for our small business. Thank you and we do hope to host you again.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We just returned from another delightful visit to the Stowe and the Brass Lantern. It was the 26th Annual Hot Air Balloon Festival, the flowers werein full bloom, the weather was terrific and we all had a great time. George and Mary Ann of the Brass Lantern continue to excel as inkeepers. You can see that they take a keen interest in their property and in their guests. The place was as neat a a pin, the reception was warm, afternoon treats were delicious, chocolates in bowls in the sitting room made me feel at home and the breakfast was quite a treat every morning.

This was our second visit and it certainly will not be our last. The Brass Lantern is located on the main road (Route 100) only a few minutes from Stowe village and just next door is a Shaws supermarket if you need to buy anything. Though it is on the main road, the rooms are quiet, cosy, clean and a good value. Furthermore, there were four (two adults and two teens) of us in a room with two queen beds and we did not feel crowded.

The Purely Patrick products sold by their special needs son is also a great product to support and makes an excellent gift. Truly very special folks with a truly special and down to earth inn in Stowe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouloys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your comments and especially for your return trip with your children! We feel very fortunate to be the current caretakers of this great place and your recognition is as they say, "icing on the cake."

And our son, Patrick, thanks you very much for the shout out of his little cottage business. What a treat to be able to share this with you and our other guests.

Best to you and your family,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

What lovely place. George and Mary Ann make you feel at home at their Bed and Breakfast. It is a beautiful Inn - the room was wonderful - all comfy like home. We made ourselves at home in the family room, watching TV and reading magazines. It was so much nicer than sitting on a bed in a hotel room. And breakfast - what a treat. Home cooked and delicious. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PALANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

We are so glad to hear that you felt so welcomed and so at home here. That's our plan and appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know of your experience. "We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay." - Thank you for this priceless compliment!

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B anywhere, but could not imagine any being better than The Brass Lantern Inn. From the ideal location in Stowe, VT, to the comfortable rooms, to the delightful breakfast and afternoon treats, it was first class all the way. We were able to watch the 4th of July fireworks in Stowe from the deck of the Inn. Traveling can be very stressful, but George and Mary Anne no how to relieve the stress and make you feel right at home. Gracious hosts from the moment you walk through the door. Three people in our party were alumni of The Ohio State University, as is George. He took the time to do the O-H-I-O in front of The Brass Lantern Inn sign. If we ever return to Stowe, we will only stay at The Brass Lantern Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

What a great treat to provide you with your first Bed & Breakfast experience, and great fun to welcome fellow Buckeyes to Stowe, Vermont! It was also a wonderful time watching the 4th of July fireworks with you and our other guests from the back porch. "Small Town Independence Day Celebrations" at its best!

We very much appreciate these kind words and compliments but most importantly apprectiate the opportunity to be of service to you and make new friends.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back. "O-H,

Best Regards,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We spent three nights at the Brass Lantern Inn at the end of May and had a wonderful time. George and Mary Anne were perfect hosts, and they pay attention to all of the little details that make a guest feel at home. The Inn is clean, well maintained and very comfortable, with beautiful views of Mt. Mansfield. Breakfast was superb. We were only there three days but felt like we were leaving close friends when we checked out. George and Mary Anne, and their family, are awesome. We feel it is the best B&B we have stayed at. Thanks for a great experience.

Ken & Pam

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mizzouengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you Ken and Pam, thank you very much these kind words! At the risk of sounding like a broken record we truly feel that the best perk of being an Innkeeper is the opportunity to meet guests that become our friends. Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your experience here at the Brass Lantern Inn. Oh, yes, and the second best perk as an Innkeeper; welcoming guests/friends back for another visit!

Happy Summer,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Brass Lantern recently and had a great time! The room was comfortable, the breakfast delicious, and our host and hostess extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. We stayed in a room with 2 queen bads which was very comfortable and met our needs quite well, and my brother and his fiance stayed in a room with a small fireplace - very romantic. The chocolates in the room were a nice treat! George and Mary Anne even let us send some items to the hotel in advance and held them for us until our arrival - and these were big boxes! Very kind folks indeed. I stayed with my 5-month old and they were also very accommodating in terms of her needs, anticipating what we would need and responding immediately to all requests. On one evening, we sat outside in the quiet and expansive backyard of the Inn looking out at the beautiful view of the mountains in the distance, sipping red wine and eating vermont cheeses and other treats that we had stored in the guest fridge that day. It was fantastic! Next time we will be sure to bring bathing suits for a dip in the hot tub. Did I mention the fantastic breakfasts? yummy indeed, and very filling. We would definitely return. Mary Anne and George treated us like family. The only downside was the walk into town - although the Inn is conveniently located close to the centre of Stowe, the walk to town was along a main road with no sidewalk. I certainly hope the town decides to go ahead with extending the sidewalk along that portion of the road - it would benefit those with a stroller to push.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voyageur925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you for the kind words of praise and recognition! It was our pleasure to host your family and friends and of course your little girl with the great smile and giggles! And those sparkling eyes!!

Our reward, among many in this business, is hearing that we met and hopefully exceeded your expectations. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Stowe and perhaps even with more family (sorry your sister couldn't be here this time).

Have a wonderful summer,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Stone Hill Inn
Stone Hill Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,881 reviews
2 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: £97 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing