We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brass Lantern Inn
Nearby Hotels
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodores Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Mountain Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Mountain Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$84
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trapp Family Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$222
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edson Hill(Stowe)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
714
41
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
41
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmary anne and georgeb bcookiesgeorge makesmountain roommansfield roombeautiful view of mtwonderful hostsfiltered waterquichemount mansfieldback porchhot tubbreakfast was deliciousevery morningbed and breakfastliving room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 758 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The Brass Lantern Inn is the kind of place that one keeps returning to because the owners are so nice. The property is a more than 100-year old farmhouse that was converted to an inn and George and Mary Anne are the perfect host and hostess to the home away from home. Several areas are available for guests to sit and mingle. George is the former architect turned cook and the breakfast is simply sumptuous!

Room Tip: The rooms facing Mr. Mansfield have very nice views
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Can't say enough about the wonderful Brass Lantern and Mary Anne and George, the heart-warming innkeepers! We were welcomed like family and felt at home. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of September, two nights in Round Top Mountain and one night in Pinnacle. We enjoyed both rooms, each with their own character. Rooms were spotless with many amenities. Rooms pictures on website are exactly as we found as we walked through the door. We loved staying in each. Sitting areas of the Brass Lantern are cozy with plenty of magazines and TV if you so choose. The breakfast room was the best with individual tables for two or four guests.
Lots of windows facing Mt. Mansfield. The antique tables and furniture and the way Mary Anne had decorated the breakfast dining room reminded you of staying at grandma's house or the
"good old days." Breakfasts were awesome thanks to the best chef, George the innkeeper.
He is a creative cook and breakfast was truly a highlight. We would see George picking herbs from his garden and coming in to prepare his special egg dishes, from breakfast burritos to
herb and egg specialties. Another day there was pancakes with special toppings. The almond coffee cake and warm apple crisp were yummy. Fresh fruit and juice and delicious
coffee competed the breakfast. Mary Anne would post the breakfast menu the evening before, which added to the anticipation of a great breakfast that morning! Mary Anne would cheerfully greet us in the morning in the breakfast dining room where she was hostess and server. We can't say enough about the Inn. and the friendly innkeepers. It's obvious that George and Mary Anne love what they do and go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one.
You will be very happy staying at the Brass Lantern Inn and experiencing the warm hospitality.
The Inn is located less than a mile from picturesque Stowe and all it has to offer. Waterbury is a few miles away with Ben and Jerry's (a must to do), Cabot cheese store, and Cold Hollow Cider Mill, all close to each other. We traveled the country roads of Vermont through quaint towns with the beautiful Fall color. Our stay in Stowe was enhanced with our stay at the Brass Lantern Inn. You will not be disappointed!
Marge & Gus

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerWaukegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you Marge and Gus for your stay and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review or your experience here at the Brass Lantern Inn. It was a treat to have some mid-western charm added to our mix of international guests that were here during your stay. You made it so easy for us... as you were so appreciative of all of our efforts and level of service.

And we were of course delighted to see that the breakfast (since we are a Bed & Breakfast) was a highlight of your stay!

We certainly hope you enjoyed your travels through our Green Mountain State and if your travels bring you this way again please stop in and stay for awhile.

Best Always,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The owners are friendly and make you feel that they truly care about you. When we checked in, we were greeted at the door with a plate of home baked cookies, and then taken on a tour of the building before being shown to our room. There is plenty of parking and a well tended colorful garden of flowers. On the rear of the building are patio tables and chairs for relaxing and viewing Mount Mansfield. Next door is a grocery store for anything you might need. The common areas are tastefully decorated with comfortable seating. There is a room with games and puzzles for rainy days. Even a hot tub is available. Each afternoon the hostess puts out a variety of homebaked cookies along with teas, iced water, lemonade and coffee. The cookies are available not just for one or two hours but even at night when we came back they were there for an early evening snack. The owners will give recommendations and directions each morning to help you with your day. They have maps and brochures available on the area attractions. There are special touches in your room like a Brita water filter and good quality toiletries. Big points for how green the establishment tries to be with offering the dispensing option of soap and shampoo!
Breakfast is included in the price. It is of gourmet quality and changes daily. Sit at one of the tables near the large windows to take in the view of the mountain range. In nice weather you can even be served breakfast outside on the patio. Out of two weeks traveling VT and NH and numerous dinners, lunches and breakfasts, George’s breakfast potatoes make my top 3 best things I ate – and this is coming from someone who is not into potatoes. Yes, they were that good. I hope you have the chance to try them.
We got a great rate per night but next time we would pay extra for a larger room for more space and as we missed having a tv in our room – our fault. Safe travels!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyceTL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Wow, thanks for this in-depth review and compliments on our potatoes! Not sure which potato side dish you liked as we serve several including, herb roasted red skin potatoes, and yukon gold and sweet potato home fries to name just a couple. We like hearty breakfasts and like seeing empty plates return to the kitchen!

As you imply we really do enjoy this lifestyle of Innkeeping and appreciate it even more when recognized here on TA. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to host you again, soon.

Cheers from the Green Mountain State,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Brass Lantern for two nights. We stopped in Stowe while on our road trip from Boston, through New Hampshire, Vermont and into Canada.

Stowe was a lovely place to explore, made all the better by the high quality of the Brass Lantern as our home base.
From the warm welcome, great breakfasts, afternoon tea and facilities that although we under utilised, it was nice to know they were there if we had the time.

Plenty of local information on hand to help plan out outings and recommendations for dining that proved to be well informed.

If you are in Stowe for one night or more, i would recommend this to any one from singles, couples to families.

Easy walk into the town centre, and easy access to surrounding attractions. All that was needed to make the stay perfect was a pet moose on the back lawn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thanks Mike for your stay and these very kind words of compliment. We remember that you filled your days with a myriad of outdoor activities in and around Stowe and you learned how centrally located we are for a home base in northern Vermont. We certainly wish we could have provided that Moose Sighting for you. Maybe next time.... We have some additional spots that we have heard from the locals where we might find these beautiful, but rather shy animals.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Our stay at the Brass Lantern Inn was wonderful! Mary Anne and George were so friendly, helpful and accomodating; even bringing my breakfast with a candle for my birthday! Our room was cozy but very comfortable! Thank you for such a wonderful stay and will be back when in Stowe again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thank you for posting these very kind words on our behalf. And Happy Birthday again Cheryl!

Best Wishes,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews