We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed and breakfast we know”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brasilia, DF
1 review
“Best bed and breakfast we know”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

My husband and are from Brazil and we wanted to go to Vermont to enjoy a few days of winter. We chose the Brass Lantern Inn after seeing internet reviews. The inn greatly exceeded our expectations and the owners, Mary Anne and George, are the perfect hosts! We were there for 5 nights and had an awesome time! The property is beautiful and very well kept; our room was beautiful, comfortable and cozy. All amenities, towels, sheets, etc. were top quality. As for breakfast prepared by George, they were the best! I thought he was a professional chef. In the evenings there was always fresh baked cookies by Mary Anne. They made us feel at home from the start and gave us great tips on where to go in the area. I felt like moving in! If you are ever in Stowe don't even think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner suite on the second floor, with a mountain view. Great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liana16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Thank you for your extended stay, sharing stories at the breakfast table, planning your day's excursion, and the follow-up de-briefing with tea and cookies. And, thank you for bringing so much warmth and personality and music to our Inn. We play Paulo Andre's music for our guests during breakfast - perfect for that setting and just beautiful music. Thank you, thank you to our Brazilian Friends!

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
99
488
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

My sister and I had the most wonderful stay at the Brass Lantern with George and Mary Anne. We went to Stowe for just one night (wish we could have stayed longer!). What a beautiful property and Inn. After a great ski day, we took advantage of the fantastic hot tub with the even more fantastic view of the mountain. George and Mary Anne were the perfect hosts. They recommended a great dinner spot and made us feel right at home (we loved the tea and cookies before bed). At the same time, they gave us the privacy and space we wanted for a relaxing sister ski trip. They really went above and beyond our expectations. The room was very spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. I will send all my friends and family in the direction of the Brass Lantern when they visit Stowe. Make this your Vermont home!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room #8- very warm and quiet, with 2 double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Thanks for your stay and wonderful recommendations of our Inn/home! We also thank you in advance for your referrals of friends and family. We do our best to create that home feeling as in "Your Home in Vermont." We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best to you and your sister,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We love the Brass Lantern Inn. Warm, cozy, relaxing. Absolutely amazing breakfasts. Very reasonably priced. And the owners, Maryann and George always treat us like family. (The kind of family that loves you, not the kind that drives you nuts.) If you're going to Stowe it's the place to stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms for every price range however, the place is popular so book as far in advance as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singerlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Always great to have you stay with us! And thanks for the very kind compliments, especially about feeling like family. We truly do enjoy catching up with your lives with each visit. Congrats again on passing the bar. Best Wishes for 2013 and beyond. See you next year!

Best,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

From the moment we arrived and throughout the entire weekend Mary Anne and George made us feel right at home. They had great recommendations for activities and restaurants in the area. Our room had a fantastic view of Mt. Mansfield, the breakfast both mornings was delicious, and the fire was cozy when the temperatures dropped! Would definitely stay here again if we ever find ourselves back in Stowe!

Room Tip: The Sugarloaf room is perfect for two and has a great view of Mt. Mansfield.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. We very much appreciate your recognition of our efforts to make you feel welcomed and at home. Our favorite time of the day now that winter has set in is to meet with our guests around the fireplace in the main living room. So glad you had a great time and we look forward to having you back again.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012

AWESOME host (mary anne & george), comfortable bed, GREAT breakfast (best quiche I've ever had!). We stayed in spruce peak - perfect room, love the fireplace!
Mary Anne & George are very informative, great restaurant recommendations. We love the sitting room with piano & fireplace. We spent the whole afternoon there just to relax & read. Great magazine selection as well. Mary anne serves homemade cookies everyday at 4 pm - yum! Stowe is very quaint and has a lot to offer in every season. We stayed in B&B all over the world and this one ranks among the best. We definitely will come back in summer & fall.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank You!!! What a wonderful review and what an amazingly gracious note you also left in our guest book! We really enjoyed having you with us during this quiet season. And we truly appreciate the acknowlegement of our plan here at the Brass Lantern Inn to provide you with a unique experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in one of our other great seasons!

Best,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you want to feel right at home when you're away from home, this is the place to stay. Cheerful, warm, welcoming, and at the same time efficient, George and Mary Ann can't be beat as host and hostess. We were cozy as could be! Fond memories of our trip will be with us for the rest of our days.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karla h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your kind words, warm conversation and for bringing such great cheer to our Inn. Your hat was voted best of Season! And thank you for your stay and hope we can host you again someday.

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Lovely Inn, teriffic hosts, lovely breakfast. A perfect place to stay while in Stowe. Comfortable beds, fireplace, hospitable and informative hosts. Within walking distance to the main shops in Stowe and yet off the beaten path; one can view the stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments! We very much appreciate your time to share your experiences here at the Brass Lantern Inn. Happy Holidays and New Year!

Best Wishes,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
202 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,819 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing