We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a gem as others describe”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stowe, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a gem as others describe”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The owners of this Inn are lovely people, but this Inn does not live up to the reviews. The biggest issue is that the whole Inn smells like stale cigarette smoke and air freshener to mask the smoke. Even the towels smell! If you are at all sensitive to cigarette smell then definitely don't stay here. The Inn must have allowed smoking many years ago. The room we stayed in was nice and clean and the breakfast was good but not the place to stay fora romantic experience with your partner.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hkapcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
We are very sorry to read that you did not have the type of stay we plan and work towards each and every day for our guests.

Secondly, we can’t help but stand by the previous 204 TripAdvisor review comments of “Excellent” to “Very Good” to help us understand this specific review comment and then formulate this following response.

In our 3.5+ years of operating this lovely Inn we have never had any complaints either directly to us or through TripAdvisor regarding even the suggestion of the smell of cigarette smoke in our Inn. As lifelong non-smokers ourselves we too are very sensitive to cigarette smoke. We make it clear to all guests at check-in that we are a non-smoking Inn by State Law and by our request to provide the safest and cleanest environment for our guests. We ask our guests to sign a registration card at check-in stating that they understand our non-smoking policy and are aware of the fine/penalties for violating this item.

We have documentation from the previous owners that this Inn was completely renovated approximately 6 to 7 years ago. All soft furnishings, window and floor treatments (curtains and carpets) were removed and replaced. Wall paper was removed and the entire Inn was repainted inside and out. We continue to upgrade our linen supply continuously as expected of an Inn such as ours and receive compliments on our soft, luxurious sheets, bathrobes, etc.

Your comment, “The Inn must have allowed smoking many years ago,” is ultimately very hard to understand given the renovations, non-smoking law/policy, and no such comments in the previous 205 reviews. Guess we just aren’t sure how that comment wouldn’t have surfaced prior to now if it were true.

Again, we are very sorry we were not able to meet your expectations and hope others reading this review understand our bewilderment of it.

Sincerely,
George and Mary Anne Lewis
Owners/Innkeepers
Brass Lantern Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    39
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
476
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We are regular visitors to Vermont staying at many different Inn's and 'wow' the Brass Lantern was a wonderful find. George and Mary Anne provided warm hospitality that was second to none. The rooms are tastefully decorated, breakfasts are scrumptious and the ease of conversation made us feel immediately like family. The Inn has a beautiful view of Mt. Mansfield and attractive grounds which provides opportunities to relax in common area's as well as a cozy porch to absorb the natural beauty of the surroundings. The Inn is located close to shopping, Stowe recreation path, the mountain and much more. George and Mary Anne are eager to assist with suggestions on scenic driving routes, hiking trails, etc. Each evening and/or morning Mary Anne was eager to hear about our days' activities. We genuinely enjoyed the Brass Lantern Inn and will most definitely be returning again and again..........

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
We felt so fortunate to have you stay with us. And even more happy to know that while you are a frequent and regular traveler to Stowe, that we had the opportunity to host you on this latest trip and appears, return trips.

Your stay, and the adding of an additional night stay each day (for a wonderfully extended stay)…, was a true pleasure to us, validation of our efforts, and this review is icing on the cake. We very much appreciate your heartfelt comments. And while these review comments are certainly invaluable to our small, family owned and operated business, the opportunity to meet you and make a new set of friends is the best reward we could ever imagine from this wonderful lifestyle of Innkeeping. We truly appreciate the fortunate position we are in.

We look forward to hosting you again!

Kindest Regards,

Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We are confirmed B and B travelers. We stayed here for two nights when attending a wedding. The view was sublime, or hosts, Mary Ann and George were so hospitable and helpful, I felt like I was back home in alabama. The public spaces are very pleasant with comfy seats. Bed was perfect, nice hot shower, and two superb breakfasts by George. If you stay here, please learn about Patrick's (the hosts' son)take home treats. They will delight your taste and warm your heart.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brysonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
We very much appreciate your time and efforts to share your experience with us and with others. And we take that compliment of southern hospitality in very, very, high regard! As we have had the fortune to experience some wonderfully warm people such as you in our tenure here at the Brass Lantern Inn we truly appreciate seeing these feelings expressed here. Thank You.

We enjoyed the warm days (though not so warm to you...) we had to share this great state of Vermont and truly hope our paths cross again.

Warmest Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I go to Stowe almost every year. I love all the outdoor activities, fantastic restaurants, shopping, and beautiful atmosphere. This year I decided that I wanted to stay at a bed and breakfast. When looking online I came across the Brass Lantern Inn, they had very good reviews. I loved the charm of the house. Immediately upon arrival we were greeted by the inn owners Mary Anne and George. They were so welcoming and offered to help bring in our bags, as well as going over the brunch and tea times that were available.
The room was exactly like the pictures, spotless, warm and welcoming. I immediately felt right at home. The brunch was delicious set in a spacious dining area with a beautiful view of the mountains. Off the main dining room was a large living room with fireplace and plenty of different seating areas, on the other side was a family game room. They have a Jacuzzi that is located in the back of the house where you can relax in with same pretty views.
Quite honestly this was the one nicest vacation I have been on. It was the rainy which could have been a huge downer but Mary Anne was able to tell us of different places and activities to fill our weekend that was not affected by the weather. Not only was it a relaxing atmosphere, the brunch and cookies set out at tea time were delicious, but I would have to say it is the owners who really made this bed and breakfast so special.
I now have a place where I feel is as comfortable as home with all the perks of being on vacation(feeling spoiled is very important). I hope to return soon!

Sincerely,
Stephanie

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you Stephanie for your stay and these wonderful comments. We really are at a loss to adequately thank you for sharing you experience here. It seems somewhat inadequate but hope "Thank You" covers our heartfelt appreciation for your time to post this review and for the opportunity to get to know you a bit.

We have the fortune to cross paths with some amazing people and realize just how lucky we are when hosting guests like you!

Thanks again and please let us know when we can host you again!

Best Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stowe's Brass Lantern Inn is a beautiful place owned and run by a very special family, which we felt part of by the time we left. George let us store our bikes in his garage, and made incredible (and large!) breakfasts. Mary Anne was warm and welcoming; she offered seconds on George's amazing almond cake, introduced us to other guests, gave excellent recommendations for hikes and meals, and was happy to fill our CamelBack with ice prior to our hikes. (: The breakfast room has a HUGE window facing Mt. Mansfield; in the morning we enjoyed sipping our coffee and looking out at the snowy peaks (Memorial Day snow!). It was about a minute by bike to Stowe's downtown and access point for the Stowe Recreation Trail. We reserved the smallest of the rooms, but it was plenty big for our needs, not to mention spotless and quite adorable. There were thoughtful touches in the room: local Lake Champlain Chocolates by the bed at night, an ice bucket and large water pitcher (with filter) on the dresser. Having spent some time elsewhere in Vermont during our trip, I can say the Brass Lantern Inn is an excellent value. More than that, as a guest, you're made to feel welcome, wanted, and well taken care of!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
"Place, People and Food" these are truly why we do this and so much appreciate when guests recognize us for these efforts! You were some very special guests for us that weekend and we hope you can feel comfortable to call us for anything, anytime!

Your time to share these details and attention to details is very much appreciated and invaluable to our business (it keeps the lights on ;-)! Thank you for your stay, your comments here and for allowing us the chance to get to know you and share life experiences.

Warmest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent two nights on Memorial day weekend. Accommodations, food, staff were great! We really enjoyed the conversations we had and breakfast was outstanding. Even though it rained all weekend, we visited the area. Tastings at local breweries and a distillery was fun. Great beer. And restaurants were great as well. Crop pub has great food and beer

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lejardinmanom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments and recommendations. You were such great sports on that rainy holiday weekend! No dampening of your spirits, no way! It was an absolute pleasure to host you and thanks for bringing a little sunshine to our review column!

Warmly,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Ct.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We recently spent a wet, snowy late season ski weekend at the Brass Lantern. The inn is located along Rt. 100 about a quarter mile north of the village of Stowe. It’s convenient to Stowe's shops and restaurants, but barely 30 feet off of the highway. The interior is comfortable and spotless. Our room was fairly large with a king bed and a gas version of a wood stove, but nowhere to hang damp ski clothes. The bathroom had fully modernize fixtures, but as might be expected, old and troublesome plumbing. The room had windows on two sides: one directly facing Rt. 100 and the other looking out toward some condos across a quiet field. It may have had a view of the mountains in the distance, but that weekend the clouds and fog never lifted high enough for us to see. The road noise was not a problem for us since we were up early both mornings and traffic during the night is minimal. It may be more of an issue in summertime, particularly if you plan on sleeping late.

Breakfasts were a bit different than most B&B’s. Each day, there was a fixed menu consisting of a starter course and a main course. The starters were a fruit, nut, yogurt mix the first day and an apple cobbler type dish the next. Both were very good. The main course the first day was an egg concoction baked in small dish that was rather rubbery and tasteless. The next day it was a more traditional but undistinguished plate of pancakes and sausage. Coffee, tea, and juice were available, but no alternative foods other than some packaged oatmeal.

A small room off of the main entrance hall serves as a reception area. Upon entry to the inn, you are greeted with signs on several door frames and on every table in the reception area stating that no shoes, boots or other footwear is permitted anywhere in the inn. Considering our need to move the baggage and equipment associated with a lengthy ski trip from the snowy parking lot, through several rooms, a long hall, and steep stairs to get to our room this presented some problems. While contemplating this, the owner appeared and immediately handed us a form to sign which said that we would be charged another $30 per half hour if we stayed beyond 10:30 am on the day of departure. This was not the most pleasant way to greet guests, but since we were planning on skiing both days, I did not think it would be a problem. We signed the form and went back trying to shuffle our gear from the car to the room while minimizing our violations of the footwear rule. On Sunday the clouds and fog had descended into the valley completely obscuring the mountain. In addition, my wife had a painful ankle from an injury on Saturday, so we decided not to ski that day. Although we were up early, we took our time having breakfast and packing. After breakfast we found the plumbing in our bathroom no longer worked, requiring several painful trips downstairs by my wife to use the lower hall bathroom. While she rested her ankle, I started shuffling our bags and gear downstairs. By now we were approaching the 10:30 deadline. As I arrived in the reception area with the second load of gear, I see the owner moving my first load including my computer case out onto the ground of the wet snowy parking lot. Since I was still in my stocking feet so as to not violate rule one, all I could do was ask him stop. As I scrambled to get my boots on, his wife cheerily assured me that she would not charge me for violating rule two while trying to comply with rule one. It all provided an awkward ending to a not very comfortable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outdoorenthusiast802, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
We are so very sorry that your trip to Stowe coincided with a rainy winter weekend. We tried our best to warm the environment and experience with our hospitality but based on your comments we apparently missed an opportunity with you. With that stated we truly believe we did our very best to provide you with a peaceful and quiet stay.

And to respond to your specific items-
Thank you for the note on hanging wet ski clothes. We will add drying racks (foldable types) in each room before this next winter. This is an excellent detail item we had overlooked.

The mountain views - yes, again the rainy, gray weekend precluded that view. I don’t know what we could have done to correct that item.

Plumbing, this building was converted to a B&B in 1988 and the plumbing, while not “old,” does have toilet fixtures that meet EPA standards for low water consumption and perhaps that was the issue you are referring to. If you had alerted us to the issue (clogged toilet?) at the time we would have been more than happy to address the issue immediately.

Breakfast service – as we typically explain to our guests during the check-in tour (which you did not want to take) we do offer alternative breakfasts for our guests. We completely understand that guests may have allergies, dietary restrictions and yes, preferences (for example, “I don’t like eggs”). Oatmeal was not your only alternative and sorry that you thought that it was. We explain to all guests that take the check-in tour that we are more than happy to make a separate breakfast if requested. If you saw something on the menu that did not look appealing or you preferred something else we just needed to know that then to allow us to make an adjustment, not now almost three months later in your review. Each day we post the menu for the following morning to allow guests the option to let us know of their preferences. Not sure how we could have adjusted our service without knowing your concern at that time.

Boots and winter wear – yes, as an intimate Bed & Breakfast we do ask guests to remove their shoes/boots that are laden with salt, sand and snow for the safety and yes, cleanliness of our Inn and absolutely for the sake of our other guests. We have maple wood floors through much of the Inn that, when wet, can be a safety hazard (slippery when wet). And as we can’t have someone standing in the foyer throughout the day mopping the floor as guests come and go we ask our guests to take off their snowy boots in the winter. We are sorry if you took offense to the signs and the convenience of having boot trays at the entrance foyer and for floors that were then dry and clean. And thanks for the 5 stars rating regarding cleanliness, and sorry you missed the connection here with our request for shoes off in the winter.

Luggage service – On check-out, after providing a bag of ice for your wife’s ankle, and noting your luggage in the foyer, I asked your wife if I could take the luggage out to the car for her. She said “yes,”and I took two bags out to your car. Upon realizing the trunk was not open to allow me to load the bags I returned to the foyer with bags in hand. And please let me make it very clear, I never, ever, set any bag on the wet parking lot as you claim. I am not that careless and feel that it is quite unfair for you to make such a statement when I did not do any such thing.

When I returned to the foyer with your two bags you quite loudly admonished me for taking your luggage outside and when your wife tried to explain I had offered my help you scolded her as well. The “awkwardness” that you so aptly note is perhaps due to that fact that there were several guests standing in the foyer at that same time witnessing this entire exchange. I am sorry, but we did nothing to deserve that kind of comment or action from you at that time. I felt awkward as well.

At check-in, we do ask guests to sign that they understand our need to have a smoke free environment, alerting them to the breakfast hours, and the time for check-out (as check-out times can certainly vary between lodging establishments). Again, we have these policies in place to provide the best level of service possible. If you wanted a late check out, and depending on our occupancy for that day, we are happy to provide guests with a late check-out in the room or store your bags and let you rest in our common areas for as long as you want.

We are sorry that you felt awkward and uncomfortable as you state. We feel that we did everything we could to afford you with a comfortable stay.

Sincerely,
George Lewis
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing