We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing inn with amazing hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing inn with amazing hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here on for one night on the 19th December 2013, was fantastic. Cookies and tea in the afternoon when we arrived.
The hosts/owners Mary Anne and George are so friendly it was like visiting friends.
The inn is so beautiful, the rooms are comfy and warm.
Mary Anne showed us around the inn and even the kitchen which was clean as a whistle.
The lounge is amazing with plenty seating and a cosy log burner.
The breakfast was made by George was fantastic and not rushed even though there were 12 people.

The only downside to our stay here was that it wasn't long enough.
We will be back in 2016 look out for us.

Matthew and Family

Room Tip: If you ask for the mountain view but all rooms are beautiful and I would be happy stopping in any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattyptheskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
We were so very fortunate to have you and your wonderful family even if it were only for a single night. Imagine the stories we could have entertained if you had had the chance to stay longer?! And we hope that we enticed you sufficiently to come back for a longer stay, perhaps bringing the full family and friends and having our Inn as your full home away from home.

You are so kind to take the time to share your thoughts and experiences while here. It is our pleasure to be here for the opportunity to cross paths with guests just like you.

When your work doesn't feel like work you feel pretty darn good. And we feel excellent!

Thank You,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    39
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
92
475
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hacketts Cove, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just got home from a wonderful 3 night stay and ski trip to Stowe. Without a doubt the Brass Lantern is the best B&B we have experienced yet. The property and atmosphere were absolutely perfect. At the end of the day we enjoyed the hot tub and lounging in the family room. We felt completely at home!! The breakfast was excellent. I originally booked the Brass Lantern based on the affordability of the room, so we were expecting to get what we payed for. However, the Brass Lantern far exceeded our expectations. Everything we experienced was 5 star and even if it wasn't, George and Mary Anne would more than make up for it with their wonderful personality and attention to detail. We left feeling like we just met new friends. Thank you George And Mary Anne.

Rob and Paula, Nova Scotia Canada.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
The chance to make new friends is an absolute priceless reward of being Innkeepers/Owners here at the Brass Lantern Inn. We especially enjoyed the opportunity to relive our past travels to Nova Scotia, your home, with you. And we would not have had that opportunity if you had not stayed with us! Thank you for that chance and we are so thankful that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to share that experience here.

Thanks to you, a trip to the maritime Provinces of Canada is firmly in our thoughts and plans for the near future.

Your friends,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in the Mt. Clark room. Mary Anne and George are wonderful hosts and welcome everyone with open arms - (straight or gay. - no worries!). They even helped us find a justice of the peace for our wedding! The room is very comfortable, the food is fantastic. I wish we didn't have to leave. We will come back here, for sure. It highly recommend staying here! Thx, Sharon and Melissa

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you very much for this wonderful review. Our primary goal in this hospitality business is to welcome our guests and make them feel like they have new friends here in Vermont. We felt so fortunate to be able to play even a small piece of the planning of your wedding. We wish you both all the best and truly hope our paths cross again (maybe an anniversary stay?!).

Happy Travels,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We spent a wonderful four day weekend in Stowe and really enjoyed our stay at the Brass Lantern Inn. The property is clean, tastefully decorated and the breakfast was tasty. The innkeepers are friendly and knowledgable and truly make you feel at home. We really enjoyed the breakfast quiche! I can't imagine staying anywhere else when traveling to Stowe.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stcymccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review and thanks for letting the secret out of the bag! We enjoyed the opportunity to host you and to get to know you a bit.

We are grateful for your comments as we are keenly aware that so many travelers look to this forum for validation of their intended home away from home. And, we recognize how important time away is and how critical the lodging piece of your travel will be to the overall experience.

Thank You again,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I have been all over Vermont, and can say without a doubt that Brass Lantern Inn is one of our favorite B&Bs. Mary Ann and George treat all of their guests like friends, and the warm atmosphere that they create is very welcoming. Beautiful house and rooms with personality, a great living room area for guests to gather by a fire, and a game room stocked with games for all ages - not to mention the superb breakfast (we highly recommend the french toast :)). We're looking forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Wow, a great compliment indeed as we know there are many wonderful places to stay in Vermont and we feel very fortunate to have the opportunity to be of service. And the friendliness, well, that is actually right in line with the friendliness of our guests. Its a two way street as they say!

We enjoy this life as Innkeepers and realize how fortunate we are to be the latest stewards of this intimate B&B in Stowe. Thank you for your time to share these comments and we truly appreciate the chance to meet you and hope we have that opportunity again, soon.

Best Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here Jan 31-Feb 2 weekend in the Mt. Mansfield Room. The room itself felt modern, cozy and spacious at the same time and the bed was very comfy - we slept so well (though the day of skiing might have something to do with that too!). It was easy to relax there or downstairs where there is a piano, books, games and comfy couches everywhere.

The breakfasts both days were delicious (loved the quiche!).Mary Anne and George were very kind and welcoming hosts, around to provide recommendations or just to chat. Mary Anne sent us on a great snowshoeing expedition. Oh and check in was easy, even though we arrived closer to midnight on Friday, so don't let that deter you. My only hope is that piano gets tuned up next time we come visiting! :-) Thanks so much, Mary Anne and George, for hosting us and helping make the weekend a special one.

-Natalya and Sawyer

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shulgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you very much for your stay, these very kind words and the opportunity to host you this winter season. And sorry about the piano tuning. It is scheduled for a tuning later this month. We do love it when our guests play and it does get a intermittent play, especially around the holidays. We are so very fortunate to have so many musically inclined guests that play in our living room. Always a great way for us to know that again, we are in the right place at this time of our lives!!

We very much look forward to having you stay with us and promise we will do our best to have the piano in tune for your next visit. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences of your stay as this is amazingly helpful to our small, family owned/operated business.

Happy Travels,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed at the Brass Lantern this past weekend with my girlfriend. Mary Ann and George were great and nice hosts. Breakfast was wonderful and they were very accommodating to my vegetarianism and my girlfriend's selective tastes. We stayed in the Sterling Mountain room, which had a nice view of the mountain, a gas fireplace, comfortable chairs, and a wonderful canopy bed. There were beautiful common spaces including the breakfast room, a living room with a big fireplace and Piano and book case, and a game room with board games and seating. The location is good, a little north of the center of Stowe, and maybe 7 miles east of the ski areas. There's a Shaw's supermarket directly right next door which was useful one night when the roads were icy and we didn't want to drive anywhere if we could help it. We had a wonderful time, not one complaint to speak of. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your impressions and experiences from your recent stay. It was our pleasure to host you. Of course as a B&B, we think Breakfast is an integral part of the experience here and we were happy to accommodate your requests.

And thanks for the warm conversations, and your very nice note and the self portraits in our guest book. We chuckled when we saw it and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple Street, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing