We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brass Lantern Inn
Nearby Hotels
Commodores Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Mountain Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edson Hill(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Mountain Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Stowehof(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topnotch Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trapp Family Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveller rating
717
41
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
717
41
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmary anne and georgecookiesgeorge makesmountain roommansfield roombeautiful view of mtwonderful hostsfiltered waterquichemount mansfieldback porchhot tubbreakfast was deliciousevery morningbed and breakfastliving roomhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 761 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

George and Mary Anne are phenomenal hosts! From the moment your walk through the door, you feel at home. We enjoyed getting to know them and often found ourselves chatting instead of leaving to see the sites of Stowe. Our room was super clean and prefect for just the two of us. Breakfast will leave you stuffed because you will clean your plate, eating every delicious bite. My husband actually laughed at me for taking pictures of my plate every morning.The presentation and flavor is one of a kind. This was our first trip to Vermont and George & Mary Anne were great to point us in the right direction for local sightseeing. They offered recommendations for restaurants and answered all of our questions about the area. I was sad to leave, not only because the snow in Stowe was beautiful but, also because we had made new friends. Stay at the Brass Lantern Inn and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

It is always a treat to have some warm southern charm brought to us by our guests, especially during our winter season. We felt such a friendly connection with you immediately and did feel guilty holding you up from your sightseeing plans.

You two were always so very appreciative of everything we did and we are grateful that we had the opportunity to host you.

We know you enjoyed our snow filled town and hope we can share this area with you two again, perhaps in another season!

Kindest Regards to our new friends in GA!
George (aka Uncle Larry) and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We spotted the brass lantern inn on a past trip to Stowe. Just beyond the Main Street drag, the twinkling warmth of the inn called out to us as we drove by.

George and Mary Ann run a wonderful operation at the Brass Lantern. They accommodated our late night check in with ease - Left us a key in the front hall with clear directions to our room. They have thoughtfully placed boot trays in the entry with a kind note for guests to leave their wet boots behind. The room #6 was cozy with a fireplace and beautiful wooden bed. The bathroom was clean with good small amenities - hair dryer, shampoos, and even room spray and a make-up towel (black to avoid stains!), which I thought was cute. Although the slight smell of the water is typical for out in the woods, it did take me off guard at first, but I got used to it. They also have a generously sized filtered jug of water in the room for drinking. In many ways they have all of the details down that other inns miss. The towels were well sized. The robes were cozy too. For valentines day they even gave us a box of truffles in our room! In addition to that I loved the "sweet dreams" mints for a night cap.

We slept really well each night. We could slightly here noises from other rooms but it wasn't too bad.

Each morning we very much enjoyed George's three course breakfast. The breakfast room was great as it is large and has views of the mountain. The other guests were friendly too. Many return guests. Mary Ann was so wonderful at being helpful and friendly as she served. She learned everyone's names and used them which I was impressed by! The self-serve spread of teas, coffee and water was wonderful. It was nice that that was available all day too. My one feedback on breakfast was that it would be nice if it started a bit earlier like at 730, for those who ski at Stowe. The parking spots at the mountain fill up so it is important to get there ASAP. We felt a little rushed in the morning due to that timing.

We had some great casual evening chats with George and Mary Ann by the fire in the living room. They were other things but made time to make that personal connection. There are nice treats (out between 4-8) which is such a thoughtful touch and lures people out of their rooms to enjoy the larger spaces in the house.

The parking was great and they even have indoor ski racks for those who have their own gear.

We look forward to our next visit!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lexielu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you again for your stay and for your very kind words and thorough review of our B&B! We especially appreciate your notice of our attention to the details of your stay. As we have most likely mentioned in previous responses, we think the details are important to the overall quality of your experience. Thanks for noticing AND for sharing!

We truly value and respect your candid comments regarding your experiences here. It is a gift to hear these comments as we strive to maintain and continually improve our level of service.

Water, yes, here in rural northern Vermont we are on a ground water well system. Our water is tested quarterly with inspection completed by the Vermont Department of Health with documentation of each inspection on file, on site (as required by State Law). We recognize that many of our guests are used to municipal water systems and perhaps drink bottled water regularly. As a certified "Green Hotel in the Green Mountain State" we provide, as you note, filtered water pitchers in each room. Even with recycling of the traditional plastic bottled water we think the filtered pitchers are a more sustainable way to serve our guests. We are so glad you appreciated the filtered water in your room.

Additionally, we are planning to replace the existing water system in our building after the busy ski season (as we will have to shut down the building for a day or two to complete this installation). While the water is of course safe we recognize that the aesthetics; taste and smell specifically are also very important to the quality of the water we provide to our guests.

We are of course always glad to read/hear that our guests had a good night sleep. As a B&B that is central to our mission. And yes, President's Day Weekend was and typically is a lively one with a full house of guests. We are so happy that you enjoyed the conversations and opportunities to meet with new and many of our returning guests during your stay.

Breakfast serving time - We are very sorry that you felt rushed and we wish you would have mentioned your desire for a 7:30 breakfast start as we are happy to accommodate guest's requests for a breakfast earlier than our standard posted times. We too recognize the awesome benefits of getting on the "first chair" of the day at the mountain. We think there is nothing like skiing on untracked fresh powder or freshly groomed corduroy snow and agree the earlier start to the day the better. And while sometimes the menu of the day is a bit more tied to the 8-9:30 serving time we can, with a prior days notice, easily and do provide an equally fresh alternative menu option for early risers or those who want to hit the slopes early. We just wish we had made you feel comfortable enough to ask us for this change during your stay.

And finally, we very much enjoyed the warm conversations with you both by the fire each evening. While it may sound canned, a major piece of our reward of this business is getting to chat with our guests. We have found that each and every guest has an equally enjoyable story to tell. That is one of the most interesting parts of our journey in this adventure of innkeeping. Thanks for your stay and for sharing your stories!

Thanks again for this wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever the opportunity presents itself to you.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My Husband and I stayed for 2 nights in early February 2014. We had been looking for a place to stay since the inn we frequented in Craftsbury, Vermont was no longer in business. We are so happy we chose Brass Lantern Inn. The room was beautifully decorated, cozy and warm. Maryanne and George are very welcoming and friendly. And we just loved the breakfasts. They were filling and delicious and fueled for our days of cross country skiing. We highly recommend this beautiful inn. One other plus is that it is on Rte. 100 heading out of Stowe so it is away from the busyness of Rte. 108 yet still very close to everything. We will be visiting again for our next get-away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you to our neighbors and now, new friends from the other side of Mt. Mansfield! While we of course enjoy all of our guests from all over the country and world it is great to have those from Vermont stay with us. With your stay and warm conversations we truly begin to feel that sense of place and it is so wonderful to know that our place is now here in Vermont. Thank you for stay and for the opportunity to learn more about this little corner of paradise through the eyes of locals!

Please feel free to stop in anytime, even if you are just passing through - as you know, cookies and tea out everyday at 4!

Your Neighbors,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here on for one night on the 19th December 2013, was fantastic. Cookies and tea in the afternoon when we arrived.
The hosts/owners Mary Anne and George are so friendly it was like visiting friends.
The inn is so beautiful, the rooms are comfy and warm.
Mary Anne showed us around the inn and even the kitchen which was clean as a whistle.
The lounge is amazing with plenty seating and a cosy log burner.
The breakfast was made by George was fantastic and not rushed even though there were 12 people.

The only downside to our stay here was that it wasn't long enough.
We will be back in 2016 look out for us.

Matthew and Family

Room Tip: If you ask for the mountain view but all rooms are beautiful and I would be happy stopping in any of them. There is no pool I pressed this by accident and could get it off.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyptheskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

We were so very fortunate to have you and your wonderful family even if it were only for a single night. Imagine the stories we could have entertained if you had had the chance to stay longer?! And we hope that we enticed you sufficiently to come back for a longer stay, perhaps bringing the full family and friends and having our Inn as your full home away from home.

You are so kind to take the time to share your thoughts and experiences while here. It is our pleasure to be here for the opportunity to cross paths with guests just like you.

When your work doesn't feel like work you feel pretty darn good. And we feel excellent!

Thank You,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just got home from a wonderful 3 night stay and ski trip to Stowe. Without a doubt the Brass Lantern is the best B&B we have experienced yet. The property and atmosphere were absolutely perfect. At the end of the day we enjoyed the hot tub and lounging in the family room. We felt completely at home!! The breakfast was excellent. I originally booked the Brass Lantern based on the affordability of the room, so we were expecting to get what we payed for. However, the Brass Lantern far exceeded our expectations. Everything we experienced was 5 star and even if it wasn't, George and Mary Anne would more than make up for it with their wonderful personality and attention to detail. We left feeling like we just met new friends. Thank you George And Mary Anne.

Rob and Paula, Nova Scotia Canada.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

The chance to make new friends is an absolute priceless reward of being Innkeepers/Owners here at the Brass Lantern Inn. We especially enjoyed the opportunity to relive our past travels to Nova Scotia, your home, with you. And we would not have had that opportunity if you had not stayed with us! Thank you for that chance and we are so thankful that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to share that experience here.

Thanks to you, a trip to the maritime Provinces of Canada is firmly in our thoughts and plans for the near future.

Your friends,
Mary Anne and George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews