We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Brass Lantern during President's week which coincided with our UK half term school holiday. After a delayed flight, landing in a storm and very poor driving conditions we ended up checking in quite late. Mary Ann and George were very accommodating and left us (amazing) cookies and everything we needed to get settled in straight away.

Food - fantastic! Best breakfasts we've had and different every day but they also cater for dietary and taste needs if required. We now have recipes to try and recreate some of George's masterpieces back here in the UK!

Location - about a 10 minute drive to the slopes (and about 5 mins to most restaurants) and very peaceful with stunning views of the mountain and the pistes.

Service - second to none! We stayed at a busy time and Mary Ann was brilliant with making sure we got into all the local restaurants and was more than willing to help and offer suggestions but didn't push us to eat anywhere specific. They are both brilliant hosts and we felt looked after right from booking.

Room - we stayed in Sterling Mountain (room 2) which was very large and comfortable with a 4 poster bed and a whirlpool bath. The room was spotless, well maintained and had everything we needed.

Hot tub - a novelty for us Brits! Sitting out there under the stars, warm but with frozen hair, and a great view of the mountain was just what the doctor ordered after a day skiing!

And lastly it was my birthday when we were there and I had candles in my breakfast! Lovely touch.

Thank you for a fantastic stay, it made our holiday!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Wow, just wow, and thank you for your stay and for this lovely review and the sharing of your experience here. We enjoyed having the opportunity to host you and to share some stories around the fireplace. You were just the most gracious guests and we can't begin to describe the appreciation and reward we felt with you here. Borderline magical!!

We just wish you weren't so far away.... Though the "pond" separating us is really not that great, right?

It was a joy to have you here. We are so thankful that you had a great time and enjoyed your time in the States. And we are most appreciative of your very kind and thoughtful review. Truly a priceless reward to us as a small, family owned and operated business. Thank You.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
486
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife, daughter and I spent 2 nights at this wonderful inn. It was a quick ski getaway after visiting some colleges in nearby Burlington. There is not much I can add to all the glowing reviews other than confirm what terrific hosts Maryann and George are - and how nice the Brass Lantern is. Very highly recommended.

The more I travel, the more I appreciate quality experiences - like a delicious breakfast at the inn's dining room overlooking the snow covered landscape towards Mount Mansfield - a family day skiing at Stowe (fresh snow, no lift lines!) - followed by craft beer and pizza at Piecassos - followed by a glass of wine by the fireplace back at the Brass Lantern.

If only I could have found a six pack of Heady Topper somewhere ;-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippingBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We are always very appreciative of all reviews and comments and never, ever take these comments for granted. Thank you for your stay, for bringing your lovely family (best wishes to your daughter on her choice of college!) and last, but not least, for taking the time to post this wonderful review.

As previously noted in our comments below, we appreciate the credit to that which we do here at the Brass Lantern and for the fortune of being here in Stowe to provide, as you describe in your headline here the perfect formula for a "Great Getaway."

Best to you all,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We chose the Brass Lantern Inn for our Stowe winter vacation - what a warm and wonderful place it was!!. Thank you to the entire Lewis family for sharing your beautiful home with us. Breakfasts were delicious and the hospitality unbeatable! Hot cocoa and cookies by the fire after skiing each day was a special treat. All suggestions they provided for activities and dining were perfect! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words on our behalf and for your extended stay this past winter season (we can say "past" as at least the calendar says "Spring" now....).

And at the risk of bragging, we are so lucky to have landed here in Stowe for this wonderful experience of Innkeeping as you no doubt discovered is a wonderfully friendly town. Stowe is filled with unique shops, amazing restaurants and wonderful outdoor opportunities (of all kinds, in all seasons) and "topped off" with the Stowe Mountain Resort just 12 mins. away.

We very much enjoyed our chats with you around the fireplace and catching up on your day's adventures and getting to share a few life stories as well. You two made for some wonderful memories for us as your Innkeepers! Thank You again and hope we can host you again, soon.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had not been away together for a few years. This was a much needed time away and through my search for a place to stay I found this gem with nothing but good things. My husband has always been standoffish when it comes to B&B's but he said with all the little touches they added for comfort he now wants to stay at the Brass Lantern Inn our next trip to Vermont. Mary Anne and George greeted us at the door and right away made us feel welcome. They have popcorn and hot cocoa out for guests after a long day of sight seeing or skiing. The rooms have whirlpool tubs which is a bonus for those tired legs and feet. They even have a hot tub year round on the lower level. The bathrobes are so warm and cozy in the morning when you want to go and grab a cup of coffee or tea set up in the breakfast area. George is a fantastic cook... we were so full we didn't even think about lunch during our stay at the Inn. Mary Anne is a very positive upbeat person always asking how our day went and offering tips on places to shop and dine out. They are both extremely friendly... just seeing what they do for their guests, the wine and beer glasses set out, the mid afternoon snacks, the board games and such a large area of the house is open to guests to relax. There are books to read, movies to take to your room, in addition to the fireplace in your own room they have a cozy fireplace in the living room as well which guests are welcome to sit and enjoy.
Thank you Mary Anne and George both for making us feel at home. We had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Madonna room. It was very quiet and gave a nice view of the mountains. The first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Of course we love, love, love the adjectives used in your review heading to describe your experience here and thank you so much for sharing them.

We understand each guest brings different expectations and we very much enjoy reaching out to each and every single guest to create a memorable experience. It is so very kind of you and all to take the time to thank us when we are thankful to you!!

We certainly hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you again. Spring is here, well, kind of, since as we look out the window this second day of Spring and see another fresh 5" of snow. Beautiful in it's own way of course and always happy to experience the next season upon us.

Thank you,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our first experience staying at a B&B and we were not dissapointed. MaryAnne and George were so kind and really took the time to make us feel comfortable and at home. The Inn is so charming with the decor and peaceful surroundings. The view of Mt. Mansfield is beautiful. Breakfast in the morning was always delicious. We stayed in the Madonna Peak room and it was so quaint. It was my birthday the weekend we were there. When we arrived there was a sign on our door wishing me Happy Birthday and in the morning MaryAnne put a candle in my pancakes and had everyone sing happy birthday to me.. It was really very sweet.The atmosphere in the Inn is very relaxing. It's located in a great location. At night we really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub staring up at the stars. George and MaryAnne do a great job of making you feel like friends. we will definitely return to visit again.

Room Tip: The Madonna Peak room was beautiful. views of mt. mansfield and has a nice fireplace. the room was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We are so very happy to know that we made such a warm impression on your first B&B experience. As you can appreciate our intimate scale with just 9 guest rooms allows us to have the kind of experience we dreamed of as aspiring Innkeepers and having first time B&B guests truly make that dream come true.

We are so glad you enjoyed your room and the fireplace in the Madonna Peak room and hope you will come back again and perhaps experience another of our great seasons here in Vermont!

Warmest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunapee, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Brass Lantern. It was our anniversary and it was such a relaxing and enjoyable experience. The vermont breakfast was phenomenal! Maryann and George are extremely personable and made us feel right at home. The afternoon tea and homemade cookies were a nice touch. We normally do not like the bed in most hotels but we actually slept pretty well here. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you very much for the compliments and for sharing your experience here at the Brass Lantern Inn. First Class guests deserve First Class treatment! And we are so very fortunate to have had the opportunity to be your getaway spot for your anniversary. You were such great sports regarding the tricky weather that weekend and just rolling with the conditions.

Thanks again and hope we can have the pleasure of your stay again in the near future.

Happy Spring,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.A.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Brass Lantern Inn is more than just a perfect place to stay in. It is Mary Anne and George who make you feel so welcome with their warm hospitality and delicious food. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Romy Bass and Avner Lahat

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
And it is guests like you two that make our lifestyle all the more rewarding! Thank you for your stay and for your lovely comments here and in our guest book in the lobby. Very, very touching and we certainly hope we can have the opportunity to host you again, soon!

Kindest Regards,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
191 reviews
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,265 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,803 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing