We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We just returned from a delightful weekend at the Brass Lantern Inn. Maryanne and George were perfect hosts. They were very personable and inviting, and offered a number of helpful tips that assured that we made the most of our time in Vermont. Breakfast was delicious, with George cooking up quiche on Saturday, and French Toast on Sunday, paired with fresh fruits and pastries.

We stayed in the Mansfield Room. In addition to a beautiful view of Mount Mansfield, the room itself was spacious, impeccably clean, and charming, with a gas fireplace and a number of great amenities. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens. The fresh pitcher of water and ice was also nice touch.

The location can't be beat. It's just a 2-3 minute drive to central Stowe, about a 15 minute drive to Waterbury, and is situated near numerous Green Mountain sites.

All of this serene comfort was very affordable. My wife and I highly recommend the Brass Lantern.

Room Tip: The Mt. Mansfield Room was fantastic. Spacious, with a great view of Mt. Mansfield, and still very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words, for sharing your experiences here and especially for the notes regarding the great value you feel we provide.

Thank you for the compliment here and we truly hope we can host you again if your travels bring you through Stowe! Best wishes for your July delivery!!!

Happy Spring,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
486
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn five times now and will keep going back. It is such a welcoming and wonderful B&B with excellent owners/innkeepers Mary Anne and George. The breakfast is truly gourmet and the view of the mountain is breathtaking. We can't wait to go back because it has become our favorite weekend getaway!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB10010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Always, always a pleasure to have you back and we recognize and very much appreciate your comments here especially after making us your home away from home here in Stowe.

Thank you for your continued patronage and for sharing these invaluable comments to others.

See you Soon!!

All the best,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

When checking for places to stay in Stowe, I came across Brass Lantern Inn and read the reviews which were all glowing. Once I called to make my reservations, I knew I was in for a treat. Talking to Inn keeper MaryAnne felt like talking to an old friend. As I arrived, George, was making a fire in the fireplace in the living room. MaryAnne, greeted me and showed me around the Inn. The dining room was set with a variety of homemade cookies and tea. Our room was spotless and beautifully decorated in true New England country charm. The living room with classical music soft and low was perfect for a cold afternoon in lovely Stowe VT. Looking out the windows at the mountain was a beautiful site. My husband could not believe what a gem we had found. The Inn is clean and comfortable and George whipped up a delicious breakfast. Meeting other guests was fun as MaryAnne and George entertained us with their charm. The shops and restaurants are very close by and MaryAnne was available to make recommendations. I even told one of the salesgirls in a craft shop in Stowe Center if anyone comes in and is looking for a place to stay, tell them the Brass Lantern Inn. I hope you are getting a picture of how wonderful this Inn truly is. I would recommend this B&B without hesitation and cannot wait to visit again. MaryAnne and George - Once again Thank you for a Magical Weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Oh my goodness, thank you for your validation of all of our previous reviews! And thank you for taking the time to share these comments. A priceless reward for sure.

So now you know why we love being here in Stowe so much! While only being residents of this town and stewards of this amazing Inn now just a bit more than 4 years, we love discovering new aspects of this area each season.

We are so glad to know that our hospitality and the town of Stowe made such a positive impression on you. Hope to host you again soon!

Your Stowe Friends,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Vermont, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Brass Lantern. They are thought of everything to make our stay here wonderful. So many little touches and room amenities add-up to a great value. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for the very kind words. We always appreciate the opportunity to host our not so distant neighbors here in Vermont!

And thanks for noticing the details of our service. We too recognize how important each element of your stay is to the overall impression and sense of hospitality. We are so appreciative of your recognition and sharing here in this forum.

We hope we can host you again. Happy Spring!

Best,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

An overnight stay at the Brass Lantern Inn was a birthday treat for my 83 year old mother and it fulfilled all our expectations. The innkeepers' personal service was amazing, the room beautiful and comfortable and the food a treat for the two of us who are normally the ones cooking breakfast for our guests. A comfortable living room to relax in and a sun-drenched dining room with that marvelous view of Mt. Mansfield added to the charm for us. Top it all off with great conversations with our hosts, Mary Ann and George, and you have the perfect recipe for a getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinamonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
We feel so greatly rewarded by your comments and thank you for taking the time to share your experience here.

We felt instantly like good friends chatting over breakfast.

It is our pleasure and great fortune to be here giving us the great opportunity to meet such wonderful people as you and your mother (even so briefly).

Thank You,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We are a Canadian couple in our 60s who thought we might offset our midlife crisis by skiing downhill, we'll try anything! We did know about the forecast for a big snow storm but the Hertz Car Rental in Burlington, VT assured us all season tires would be sufficient. NOT! Thank goodness for George and Mary Anne the owners of the Brass Lantern. The day we had planned to get up the big mountain was a blizzard, our car was not going to make it. George was right there with his truck to get us into Stowe and onto the ski shuttlebus. George and Mary Anne fed us a different fabulous homemade breakfast every morning of our four day stay and also made sure we arrived at our destinations safely. On the night of the storm George drove us the short distance into town to our dinner reservation. The next day George even went up the Mt. first after the storm to test the snow conditions and saved us from what would have been a really hard, hard day of skiing. We spend that day nosing around the sweet little town of Stowe instead. I cannot say enough about these genuine, honest, and in-it-for-the-right-reasons Inn owners. They made our stay one for the books.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you very much for these kind words, gracious comments and of course for making us your home base here in Stowe. And wasn't that snow storm a great event?!! Of course we love all that comes with each distinct season (ok, some of mud season could be excluded from that statement) and you two seemed to embrace that same excitement and appreciation of whatever the season brings to the table.

And I truly wish we could have skied together on your last day but even the most diehard outdoor enthusiast knows some conditions warrant a pass for that day. All the more opportunity for us to invite you back to try this downhill skiing again! This month of March has had the most amazing conditions and the mountain is open until April 20th this year (just in case... wink, wink).

You two added such warmth and cheer to our Inn during that wonderful snowstorm and your stay and we are just so thankful that we had that chance to cross paths with you. We hope to have that opportunity many more times as the fortunate Innkeepers of the Brass Lantern Inn.

Best to you both,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Mary Anne & George,
Thank you so much for the wonderful hospitality! Your inn is a haven of rest for two weary parents of little ones in search of peace, quiet and romance. Breakfast was decadent and the room was beautiful. We love Stowe and all it has to offer, including the Brass Lantern Inn. We can't wait to visit again soon!

Room Tip: A whirlpool room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyLCBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments regarding your stay here. We too remember how beneficial time away can be and we are so glad we were able to be here for you for your respite weekend! Always great to have the opportunity to recharge the batteries....

And we look forward to hosting you again when your travels bring you through Stowe.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
191 reviews
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,267 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,803 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing