We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time at a wonderful inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic time at a wonderful inn”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our first time in Vermont, as well as the first time at the Brass Lantern. Wonderful host family! Wonderful food! We even got personal directions for our tour of covered bridges in northern Vermont. I recommend the Brass Lantern without any reservations.

Room Tip: They have excellent pictures on their website - the room was exactly as advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your stay and these very kind words of recommendation. Covered bridges do kind of say, "Vermont!" and we are so glad you got to experience this area in such detail.

It was very nice to chat with you on the back porch and over breakfast each day. We hope to see you two again in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    39
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
476
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a first visit to Vermont and first stay at the Brass Lantern...wow, did we ever make the right choice! It truly did feel like staying in a favorite relative's home. From the hospitality and accomodations to the fabulous breakfasts (prepared by George the owner!), there's nothing I can think of to improve upon the experience. Would definitely return... :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLIowner, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
And can I say, "you would never have to wonder if you had exceeded your welcomed stay, never, ever!"? We felt instantly at comfort with you and hope we helped to create some wonderful memories of your travels through Vermont.

Thank you for your stay and especially thank you for taking the take to share these comments. As they say, "Priceless."

Happy Travels,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We selected this place based on the location and all the informative tripadvisor reviews. Our experience certainly matched all the positive comments that have been provided. Both of the owners are wonderfully congenial and accommodating. They genuinely want your stay to be comfortable and memorable. We very much appreciated this friendly place and are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We had a comfortable stay with 3 people in the Spruce Peak room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2newenglanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLIowner, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for contributing to this review forum. As you identified, we truly see each and every comment here as a gift to our family owned and operated B&B. We recognize and appreciate that informed guests are our best source of our continued success in the art of Innkeeping. We especially appreciated your confidence in staying with us and your thoughts/plans for a return stay.

And while these comments are invaluable to our business success, the opportunity to meet you gives us a wonderful reward of our daily efforts.

Thank you for noticing and for sharing that experience.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Bruno, Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After nearly two years of absence, my family and I finally made it back to the Brass Lantern, our favourite spot to stay in Stowe, Vermont. In fact, since 2012, our only place to stay and a familiar and charming site as we approached the front door and stepped into the foyer. Quick as a wink, we were greeted by Mary Anne and George and prepared to settle in for a wonderful weekend. As usual, the rooms were impeccable, the atmosphere at the inn, cozy, comfortable and highly conducive to that special Vermont feeling of relaxation. In addition to seeing the sites, we took some time to enjoy the inn itself, with a game of ping pong, some tunes on the piano and a thrilling game of Frisbee on the beautiful grounds, with the setting sun over Mount Mansfield as the backdrop. In the mornings, we came downstairs to enjoy George's now-famous breakfasts that my husband and I had bragged to our children about. Wow! They are better than ever, a refined country breakfast that will keep you going well into the day. Mary Anne and George are always delightful hosts, prepared to help their guests with any detail, great or small, that can make their stay more rewarding, and always with exactly the right mix of friendliness, humour and professionalism. There are many complimentary epithets that can be used to describe the Brass Lantern and its innkeepers, but what comes to mind the most is genuine, hardworking and dedicated - genuine in their approach to others, hardworking in ensuring a smooth-running operation and dedicated to the absolute satisfaction of their guests. It's always with mixed feelings that we prepare to take our leave of the Lewis family and their wonderful inn and so it was this time - Happy, relaxed and a little wistful that it had come to an end so soon and already looking forward to our next visit, whenever that may be. I always take a little part of the Brass Lantern experience with me to lift me up and tide me over to the next time. I know there will be reminiscing over dinner about it or encouraging friends to go there, or coming home after a long day's work and opening up a jar of Purely Patrick Country Soup Mix to serve my family and be reminded, once again, of the comfort and hospitality of Vermont. Thank you, Mary Anne and George - and as we Quebecers say: À bientôt!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLIowner, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Oh my goodness, how do we even begin to thank you for these comments and more importantly for the warmth, graciousness, and great humor you and your family and friends bring to our small B&B with each and every visit? Now, as I clear away a tear drop or two to compose myself and this reply -

When we dreamed of having the opportunity to experience this Innkeeping life we could have never, ever, imagined all of the wonderful people we have been so fortunate to serve. Your family, especially, have been just amazing and we are forever grateful for the chance to cross paths with such kindred spirits.

Our other guests that were staying at the same time as you, mentioned how wonderful it was to have such wonderfully kind guests (i.e. your family) here adding so much energy and warmth to our Inn and grounds. They mentioned the fun of watching your family play in the back yard. “No need to turn on the television…”

We are so richly rewarded by the experience of your repeat visits and are so very appreciative of your time to share your wonderful words regarding your longstanding relationship with us! We never take these comments for granted and hope you truly understand that it is our pleasure to host you as we feel this is exactly where we are supposed to be in this chapter of our lives. And yes, we recognize how blessed we are to be in this location, both on a physical and emotional level.

And we are so very fortunate that you have had the opportunity to meet our ambassador of the Brass Lantern Inn (also known as our son!), Patrick, and through his business, Purely Patrick. Of course we are so very touched by your expressions of kindness towards Patrick as he also adds so much life to our home and this Inn. Thank you for helping us recognize how wonderful he is and how lucky we are to be here with him.

Till we meet again, our warmest affections,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent 3 wonderful nights and 4 days at the Brass Lantern Inn. The room was very nice and made up daily. The breakfasts were delicious and served quickly. Mary Anne was very helpful with suggestions for where to hike and sightsee and George sent us a list of their favorite restaurants which were all wonderful. They have a hot tub and we spent time in there after a long day of travel which was so nice. Best of all, this inn sits on a lovely piece of land and the scenery is beautiful. The price was reasonable and I highly recommend it if you plan to stay in Stowe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevadagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLIowner, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. We hope it is the first of many! It was our pleasure to host you and are greatly rewarded knowing that we left a favorable impression.

Thanks again and Happy Travels,
Mary Anne and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a lovely experience we had. Mary Anne and George were so friendly, they made you feel like family. The location is outstanding with beautiful views and the grounds are spectacular. A very cozy Inn and the breakfast was fabulous! Our only regret was not having planned to stay more than 1 night. If we ever head back to Stowe we will most certainly stay at the Brass Lantern.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLIowner, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words of recommendation. And Welcome to the Extended Brass Lantern Inn Family!! We really are very fortunate to have this opportunity to meet great people like you, even if ever so briefly. All the more rewarding when we see that we created some memorable experiences for you as well.

We do hope that we can cross paths with you again, soon.

Happy Travels,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My sister and I started planning our "sister trip" 3 months ago. After researching places to stay in Stowe, we decided on Brass Lantern Inn. We stayed 5 nights there, and it proved beyond what we could even imagine. I would recommend Brass Lantern Inn to anyone!! The location is great with a beautiful view of Mt. Mansfield from the back porch. The grounds are so groomed, and the flowers in the window boxes and around the inn so beautiful and colorful. Our room was immaculate!! It was spacious, cozy and had wonderful comfortable beds. The entire inn was spacious, and every room so inviting. The breakfasts were excellent! There was a different menu each day, and plenty was served. It was more than adequate to provide us with the nutrition we needed to bike and hike each day. George and Mary Anne are PERFECT innkeepers! They went out of their way to answer questions about trails to hike and paths to bike. Their friendliness made you feel like you were part of the family. It is hard to adequately express my appreciation for such a wonderful inn and innkeepers. So, you just have to go and see for yourself! Yvonne -from Texas

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne2142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLIowner, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for giving us that opportunity to provide you with a memorable Sister Trip. You two brought such wonderful southern charm with you from TX. Always, always, appreciate guests that bring such warmth from home!

You two were just so very nice. Not sure how else to describe or thank you for that but hope you understand your comments have left us without much that we can say in return except, Thank You, very much.

And finally, so glad that you felt like extended family here! The opportunity to meet such great people as the two of you is certainly a great bonus to us.

Happy Travels and hope to see you again,
George and Mary Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,765 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 23 in Stowe
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple Street, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing