We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great accomadations in a relaxing atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
“Great food, great accomadations in a relaxing atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

OK...I've read these reviews for that last 3 years when travelling down south, restaurants and hotels arou a nd the world. So, when it comes to exagerations I've seen them all!! First, when you arrive, you are immediately received by George or Mary-Ann (owners of the Inn) and are shown around the premises and into your room. Our room was more than we expected. We took a sweet-heart package that included champagne and chocolates...what a start!! A beautiful view of the mountains and a the soft chirping of the birds complimented the room to the max!! If possible ask for room #9...you won't be disappointed!!
Let me tell you that George is pretty handy with his skillet...what a fantastic breakfast he can prepare! Mary-Ann will surely delight you with her charm and sense of humour. My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights and couldn't resist in using the hot tub under the stars every night!! Nice touch guys!! Need an appointment somewhere in town? They took care of everything for us!! Nothing negative here folks...ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizzlybear_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    39
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
476
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

This is a wonderful B&B on the fringe of Stowe that is made special by the friendliness and hospitality of George and Mary-Anne. Nothing is too much trouble. The room was comfortable and there is plenty of relaxation space in the beautiful lounge and dining room. Tea, coffee and cookies are available through the day and Mary-Anne produces cakes in the afternoon. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

My husband and I travel to Vermont at least twice a year. We enjoy staying at different Bed and Breakfast Inns to add to the experience. We stumbled on the Brass Lantern Inn and were very impressed with the inkeepers Mary Anne & George Lewis. They were busy painting the dining room when we arrived, no advance reservations. They showed us each of the rooms available and we were able to take our pick. They were warm and friendly and made our stay a highlight of our trip. We would encourage visitors to Stowe to stay at the Brass Lantern.

The grounds were very well kept and we had a great walk along the road exploring the area and finding hidden streams. By the way, the breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dog14428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Mary Ann and George both made us feel very welcome, wonderful hosts, Breakfast was great and the teas and cookies after a day on the slopes was a nice treat, Location was fgreat a 5 minute walk into town and spectacular views of the mountain from our room # 9 and the breakfast room. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poolie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

The Brass Lantern Inn was a real special find for our recent winter getaway. We had a wonderful and pleasant experience from our initial e-mail and phone communication through each day of our stay at this inn. The hosts and hostess, George and Mary Anne, made our stay very special with their warm hospitality . The inn is impeccably clean. Our room is very clean, spacious, comfortable , quiet, and had a great view of the Mt. Mansfield. Our freshly prepared breakfast was most delicious and varied. Homemade scrumptious treats of cookies and pastries with tea awaited us each afternoon.
Overall, we highly recommend this inn ...a truly five-star B&B!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, NH
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Excellent service, spacious room ( and very comfortable bed), good location. Our hosts were especially welcoming and helpful -- cookies and tea in the afternoon, great breakfast in the morning. And after a day of cross-country skiing we loved the hot tub with its gorgeous view of the mountains. We would definitely come again !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xcskierNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Just a day removed from our stay (our second in three years) at The Brass Lantern Inn and we're already planning our next trip to Stowe, which will undoubtedly feature an overnight at this cozy and inviting bed and breakfast.

George and Mary Ann recently took over the Inn from the previous owners and have infused the property with their welcoming, warm energy. We were more than pleased to learn that they had upgraded us to a bigger room with a fireplace, but wanted to make sure that was OK with us first.

While we may have overdosed on the cookies (delicious medley of treats served from 4-8p), the warm, cozy living room provided a nice retreat to spend a few hours waiting for our reservations at a nearby restaurant (try Santos Cocina Latina if you like upscale Latin food).

The rooms are very clean and the gas fireplaces provide a nice, added touch for warming cold, wet socks after a day spent on the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank than76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple Street, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing