We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Relaxing Stay”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2010

April 23rd-25th, I surprised my husband for his birthday with a weekend get-a-way to Stowe, VT. My husband and I (both in our 30's) had a great experience at the Brass Lantern Inn. I had never been to Stowe and had no idea where to stay. I found the Brass Lantern in on TripAdvisor and decided to book. Since it was during the off season some B&B's were closed the weekend we were there and it was spring break for the local school kids so the town wasn't busy at all.

When we arrived we noticed right away that the Inn and the grounds were beautiful. The Inn has a huge yard and patio furniture for the summer time. There is also a great porch you can use as well. The Inn also has a hot tub outside. We had no problems with parking.

When we walked in we were welcomed by Mary Anne (Owner and Inn Keeper). Mary Anne was very friendly and our check-in was quick and fast. She was very helpful and suggested restaurants for dinner...we chose one she recommended and it was great!

When we got to our room we were surprised by a birthday sign that they had made for my hubby! It was a great touch that made us feel welcome. Our room was very nice and roomy. It had a great view of the mountains. Everything was clean and our bed was comfy. There were nice extras in the room...bottle waters, information on Stowe and little chocolates at our bed table. The only thing that I would say was that our shower was a little loud...a little high pitched squeaking sound.

The breakfast in the morning was fabulous! George, Mary Anne's husband was the cook. The breakfast was very filling and kept us going most of the day! My husband didn't care for something on the menu and they offered to cook something else for him. They were very accommodating and also came out with a birthday candle in my hubby's banana bread.

We had a lot planned on Sat. and needed some directions to some local attractions. Mary Anne was very nice and printed directions for us. She also gave us some great information about Stowe.

We arrived back at the Inn late afternoon and grabbed a nice glass of lemonade and chocolate cookies that the Inn Keepers had out. The cookies were amazing. They also had tea and ice water as well for snacks.

So we had an amazing stay. It was nice, quiet and a relaxing weekend...just like we had planned. The best part of our stay was talking with George and Mary Anne. They were so nice and friendly I thought I had known them for years. I believe that is what makes a great B&B. We cannot wait to come back and stay at the Brass Lantern Inn again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2010

And we are so very happy to hear that the level of service we strive for every guest and every day was so warmly received and appreciated. It was truly a pleasure to meet and serve you. Oh yes, and we have replace that shower head! Thanks, George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2010

OK...I've read these reviews for that last 3 years when travelling down south, restaurants and hotels arou a nd the world. So, when it comes to exagerations I've seen them all!! First, when you arrive, you are immediately received by George or Mary-Ann (owners of the Inn) and are shown around the premises and into your room. Our room was more than we expected. We took a sweet-heart package that included champagne and chocolates...what a start!! A beautiful view of the mountains and a the soft chirping of the birds complimented the room to the max!! If possible ask for room #9...you won't be disappointed!!
Let me tell you that George is pretty handy with his skillet...what a fantastic breakfast he can prepare! Mary-Ann will surely delight you with her charm and sense of humour. My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights and couldn't resist in using the hot tub under the stars every night!! Nice touch guys!! Need an appointment somewhere in town? They took care of everything for us!! Nothing negative here folks...ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grizzlybear_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

This is a wonderful B&B on the fringe of Stowe that is made special by the friendliness and hospitality of George and Mary-Anne. Nothing is too much trouble. The room was comfortable and there is plenty of relaxation space in the beautiful lounge and dining room. Tea, coffee and cookies are available through the day and Mary-Anne produces cakes in the afternoon. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

My husband and I travel to Vermont at least twice a year. We enjoy staying at different Bed and Breakfast Inns to add to the experience. We stumbled on the Brass Lantern Inn and were very impressed with the inkeepers Mary Anne & George Lewis. They were busy painting the dining room when we arrived, no advance reservations. They showed us each of the rooms available and we were able to take our pick. They were warm and friendly and made our stay a highlight of our trip. We would encourage visitors to Stowe to stay at the Brass Lantern.

The grounds were very well kept and we had a great walk along the road exploring the area and finding hidden streams. By the way, the breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dog14428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Mary Ann and George both made us feel very welcome, wonderful hosts, Breakfast was great and the teas and cookies after a day on the slopes was a nice treat, Location was fgreat a 5 minute walk into town and spectacular views of the mountain from our room # 9 and the breakfast room. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poolie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

The Brass Lantern Inn was a real special find for our recent winter getaway. We had a wonderful and pleasant experience from our initial e-mail and phone communication through each day of our stay at this inn. The hosts and hostess, George and Mary Anne, made our stay very special with their warm hospitality . The inn is impeccably clean. Our room is very clean, spacious, comfortable , quiet, and had a great view of the Mt. Mansfield. Our freshly prepared breakfast was most delicious and varied. Homemade scrumptious treats of cookies and pastries with tea awaited us each afternoon.
Overall, we highly recommend this inn ...a truly five-star B&B!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Excellent service, spacious room ( and very comfortable bed), good location. Our hosts were especially welcoming and helpful -- cookies and tea in the afternoon, great breakfast in the morning. And after a day of cross-country skiing we loved the hot tub with its gorgeous view of the mountains. We would definitely come again !

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xcskierNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
274 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Stone Hill Inn
Stone Hill Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,892 reviews
2 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: £101 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing