We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly place to stay”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A warm and friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Situated slightly out of Stowe, the Brass Lantern Inn is a beautiful and welcoming place to stay. My room, and particularly the bathroom, were somewhat on the small side but spotless and comfortable. The only down side is that rooms on the side of the building facing the road are a bit noisy because of the nearby traffic. The inn itself had a very homely feel, filled with comfortable sofas, fireplaces, and books. Though I was here in August it's not hard to imagine what a cosy place this will be in the cold, snowy winters. The inn keepers, George and Mary Ann are kind and generous people who go the extra mile to make their guests comfortable, even providing a ride to the hiking trail for this traveler without a car. One thing to consider when traveling without your own transportation is the inn's location: it is about a 10-15 minute walk from the village center along the main road, which can be a bit uncomfortable at night since the road is poorly lit

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulipAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
486
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2010

What a fantastic B&B! Mary Anne and George are such terrific and lovely hosts. We were warmly welcomed from the moment we stepped through the front door and enjoyed every minute of the four days of our visit. By the time we left, we felt like family. George made amazing breakfasts and both he and Mary Anne went out of their way to make sure all our needs were accommodated. Mary Anne was also especially helpful in suggesting wonderful hikes in the area. The inn is in mint condition and our room was super clean, bright and cheerful with a fabulous view of Mt Mansefield. If you're looking for a place to stay in Stowe, look no further than this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJEck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Stayed at the Brass Lantern for a few nights this August with my husband. Inn is right on main street in the town of Stowe. Walking distance to the little town and some restaurants. George and Mary Ann were wonderful hosts, very warm and welcoming. Room 9 was very spacious, comfortable and clean with beautiful bathroom and views. Fireplace in room but not needed in August. Window air conditioner was much appreciated and used! No TV's in rooms unless you requested but we did not miss it at all. Also had a large paved private parking lot. Breakfast was great each morning. Outdoor jacuzzi was relaxing and well kept. The whole experience was just what we were looking for-intimate charm, and they delivered. Price was very good considering some of the rates I checked at other hotels or B&Bs. They accidentally charged us twice for one nights room and Mary Ann was very concerned and immediately told us what happened and explained the mix-up. It was a non issue and no problem at all for us...it was fixed but I thought ironic because we stayed at a larger resort hotel a few days later and were overcharged on our bill and the only reason we got it adjusted was because I noticed it! The Brass Lantern is perfect if your are looking for small town charm and personalized service with friendly hosts away from the hustle and bustle of larger hotels and resorts. Stay here...you won't be sorry...we weren't.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinfandela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepperell, Massachusetts, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My husband and I had a FANTASTIC stay at the Brass Lantern Inn. The owners were friendly and VERY accommodating. We were there for the Stowe 8 miler, so we had to stick to our usual diets. They accommodated our request for breakfast and even the time we wanted it since we wanted to eat before the race. I can't wait to go back up again. My husband and I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbkmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

As a frequent business traveler I'm a little spoiled on the amenities front and used to robot-like service. So Mary Anne and George's warm personal hospitality at the Brass Lantern Inn was a very welcome experience.

The breakfasts were absolute treats. George is a fantastic cook and Mary Anne the perfect hostess.

I had some trouble getting on to the internet but Mary Anne offered her laptop and then actually looked up what I needed herself and came over to our room with the information. She also told us about a hidden waterfall close by.

My 6yr old son and I played some soccer and football in the huge backyard. Even my wife came out to play some badminton. We didn't use the hot-tub but a couple who did raved about it. Room 9 - with a view of Mt. Mansfield - has a nice whirlpool tub and a fireplace. Very comfy and romantic.

I would highly recommend this place to those looking for warmth and hospitality in the true sense of the words in a very clean, well-maintained place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrickk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyertown, PA
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Brass Lantern Inn for our 6th anniversary, no-kids "get-away". The inn and its owners provided the perfect setting for that. Mary Anne and Roger were very friendly and helpful from our first contact on the phone. During our stay at the inn we relaxed in the simple, very clean room, tried out the outdoor hot tub, and enjoyed the delicious, home-cooked breakfasts in the morning and refreshments in the afternoon. The hosts were so hospitable, we feel like we left VT with new friends! They helped us out with our needs during our stay from dinner reservations to bug spray! :-) We would definately stay at this inn if we returned to Stowe on a future vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlieguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowell,ma
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Recently my wife and I stayed at the Brass Lantern Inn in Stowe. If you want a nice clean place,a great breakfast and really,really nice innkeepers that give you a nice clean room,this is THE place.And,as a bonus,it's reasonably priced.And,I've got to say,George is a pretty good cook.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken02driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
192 reviews
3.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,268 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,803 reviews
2.0 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Property: Brass Lantern Inn
Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe
Brass Lantern Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing