We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A pleasant winter stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Portland, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A pleasant winter stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed at the Mountaineer Inn back in the winter of 1990 on a college ski trip, and I remember having a pleasant stay there with the indoor heated pool and the crackling fireplace in the lobby. 22 years later when I planned a family ski trip, I wanted to return but I was concerned about what toll the past 20+ years might have taken on the place. I was pleasantly surprised to find the Mountaineer to be a clean, hospitable place to stay. It's a small older hotel (my grandmother even stayed here in 1967!), but the owners obviously keep the place up well. The rooms weren't fancy, but they were clean and freshly-painted. We had a room with a nice view out the back door of a babbling brook, and there were dedicated locking closets outside the rooms where we could store our ski equipment. A basic continental breakfast was a nice start to the day (especially when food at Stowe is so expensive). It's located only about 4 miles from Stowe, so it was a great place to stay on our trip. And the large hot tub downstairs was a pleasant place to relax after a day on the slopes. I'd like to extend a big thank you to the staff at the Mountaineer for taking such good care of the hotel--and their guests. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 108 was nice because there wasn't a room above, and it was close enough to pick up the lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    25
    19
    17
    14
See reviews for
23
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed there as part of a group. It is a very cozy and warm setting. The breakfast was delicious, with a huge variety of dellcious plates to choose from. The pool/jacuzzi was so inviting, I couldn't get enough of it! The staff was very accommodating, professional and friendly. I definitely will be back! Great Place!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vee_vergara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

4 miles away from the Mountain; you can't get much closer than this! Unlike most things in Stowe, the Inn was not overpriced. We got a great deal as part of a ski group.

The free breakfast is hearty but nothing to write home about. That was OK as it served well as fuel for the skiing that came soon after.

The indoor pool and hot tub were a nice surprise and were enjoyed by our 5 year old.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionysia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We came up to the Mountaineer Inn last weekend as part of a group ski trip. The manager was very friendly, happy to give us advice and tips. Rooms were clean, and the giant, 20-person hot tub downstairs is great after a day of skiing. There was almost always a pot of coffee ready, and the manager was happy to brew more on request. The inn is about 4 miles from the base lodge, and getting in and parking was a breeze. There's also a shuttle that will pick you up on the road. Our package included breakfast both mornings: not gourmet, but a step up from continental breakfast. It included eggs, bacon, sausage, and pancakes or french toast, as well as bagels, muffins, and cereal. These were served buffet-style. The only downsides were a slight musty odor in the halls when we checked in (old building with a pool, not too bad), and the fact that we never saw the downstairs lounge and bar open. I think it's only open late on Saturday nights--though if you want to go drinking in Stowe, there is no shortage of options. Overall, a very serviceable, not too expensive option for staying in Stowe in the winter.

Room Tip: Though the rooms boast private decks, you won't be spending much time on them in winter. Ours ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Branden55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Recently stayed 3 nights in the Mountaineer Inn in Stowe and were quite happy with the hotel and overall stay. The price was very reasonable for Stowe (about half the cost of any other hotel in the area for the week we were there). The rooms were basic, but quite large and very clean and were adequate for our needs. The complementary breakfast was good- all the basics (pancakes, eggs, bacon, bagels, etc) that provide a good base for a day on the mountains!
Everyone who worked at the Inn was extremely friendly and willing to help with any questions and provided great suggestions for dinner and drink locations in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Perhaps the reviews previous to this (all 2009 and before) applied in their day but they might as well be talking about a different place now. My girlfriend and I stayed here for a wedding over a long weekend, we found the room to be pleasant, clean and pretty well appointed. We loved the little individual porches that each of the room at the front of the hotel had, while we didn't have a chance to check out the swimming pool and hot tub/jacuzzi we heard good reports from others in our party. The service was excellent for an establishment of its size, the manager (?) even opened up the bar for us after he had closed up and responded very quickly to our many and varied requests throughout the weekend.

All told we very much enjoyed our stay, the only negatives were that there was no hairdryer or iron (but were brought prompted upon request) and the chairs on the outside deck needed to be wiped down (but then in fall everything outside does).

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front, not noisy and you get a private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed here mainly because they allowed pets. The location and setting were great. The room was clean but needed some cosmetic work. The staff was very friendly and provided great suggestions for restaraunts. We did have one complaint. We asked that our room not be cleaned as we were leaving our dog in the room while we went out. She is very shy and were afraid she would be frightened. I had also been told when I made the reservation that they would not clean a room if a animal was not penned-she was not. When we returned the room had been cleaned and the dog was hiding in the closet.

Also, they do not have a restaraunt. They did provide a contiental breakfast, which was cereal in tupperware containers and bagels. There are great places to eat nearby though.

It was very quiet and great for just a relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#13 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Mountain Road Resort
1.4 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe

Property: The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Address: 3343 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4800
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget Inn that is located just 3 miles from Main Street, and just 3.5 miles from the famous Mount Mansfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountaineer Inn At Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Mountaineer Hotel Stowe
Mountaineer Hotel Stowe
The Mountaineer Inn At Stowe Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing