We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible management/service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible management/service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Terrible customer service! We checked in and were given a room that wasn't cleaned by housekeeping since the prior guest. That wasn't the bad part. The man who checked us in was actually very nice and he handled the mistake beautifully until a manager showed up and took over because shifts were switching. We were late for dinner by then so we asked if they could correct the problem and then give us our room key when we get back from dinner. The woman (manager) told us that it wasn't their fault that we had to wait because we didn't have a reservation (which we did). We brushed that rude comment off and went to dinner. When we got back we had to page someone because there wasn't anyone at the desk. The woman from earlier came out and we asked for our room. She then proceeded to tell us that we never checked in because we left for dinner. But we had checked in and just needed a clean room. The woman then continued to tell us that everything that happened since we'd showed up was our fault. ZERO concern for customer service and zero management skills of any sort. The room was cute once we got a clean one! One employee (who said she was the only person we could talk to when we asked for a supervisor, manager or owner) completely ruined our experience and is single handedly ruining the business at The Mountaineer in Stowe VT.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    20
    17
    15
See reviews for
24
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

My recent experience with the Mountaineer was not a positive one. On checking in to my room, there was garbage left by the previous guest. I alerted the front desk before I went to dinner. When I returned more than 3 hours later, the trash was still there & the front desk was closed until morning. Also a problem was the fact that the toilet flushed itself every few minutes. Another unresolved issue even though I left a note for housekeeping! Also, the shower doors were so off track I had to squeeze into the shower. With all of these issues it is obviously time for staff retraining, if they were ever trained at all. I traveled with a group, and although I had no issues with rude staff, I witnessed one of my traveling companions being spoken to with unwarranted surliness when she mentioned that the room she was checking in to was unmade. All things considered, I would NEVER in good conscience recommend this inn to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KITTY1KAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stowe hotels

Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

The hotel is very well situated 1/2 between the base of the mountain and the center of town. The rooms were basic and a bit dated but very clean and pleasant with a supportive bed. More than adequate for the reasonable price which includes a continental breakfast served at 7:00am(early enough to get to mountain shortly after it opens the main quad lift). In my case the staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAG596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Most important things in a hotel stay are cleanliness and comfort, truly. My friend and i found this place last minute on an impromptu ski weekend in December and were given a room on the bottom floor. We stayed for one night. It was clean and I felt comfortable using the bathroom and sleeping in the bed so I suppose it did the trick, but overall the experience was just not a great one. The floors between the first and second floor are not sound proof so when the herd of elephants checked in to the room above us around 2:30 am, I was wide awake, I was steaming angry about this. The hot tub felt kind dirty but any indoor pool/hot tub usually does. The breakfast was free but so depressing. The room they serve it in is totally dark, tables are set, no music, and a mish mash of chairs and tables all over the place. I also had to endure the weakest cup of coffee I've ever had and after my broken sleep I really needed the coffee. I wouldn't stay here again. The hotel has immense potential. It's in a great location and the owner either doesn't have the money or doesn't care, but it could use some real TLC. If so it could be a great little hotel.

Room Tip: Demand a room on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

My room was swarming with bugs. Initially I didn't notice, but when my friend found one on my chest (she thought I had developed a mole) I immediately called the manager she slammed me with a 75 fine for smoking in the room and never apologized for the infestation! the bugs where everywhere, I noticed the bedspread moving; it was the bugs. The rooms have a lovely home style decor, with doors opening to the beautiful outdoors. Her own staff tells me she drinks and smokes while on the job. The jacuzzi which i once looked forward to was cold. When i asked for a towel, i was told to wait by the pool area, No one showed and I was left having to use the towel in the room. It's a pity because I had written a wonderful review the past year! It's a lovely place if only managed properly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vee_vergara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Room was clean, bed comfort acceptable, internet strength good, continental breakfast really poor. The check in was pleasant but my request for a quiet room was not honored even though there are less than 5 rooms booked. Overall a poor value. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have stayed here very summer for 9 years. It is a great place just to relax and also they are very dog friendly. Our dogs are so excited every year when we arrive. Once we are in the room, we open the door to the outside and the dogs run in the wide open field out back. The people here are very friendly and make us feel welcome year after year. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. We highly recommend this wonderful Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Mountain Road Resort
1.4 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe

Property: The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Address: 3343 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget Inn that is located just 3 miles from Main Street, and just 3.5 miles from the famous Mount Mansfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountaineer Inn At Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Mountaineer Hotel Stowe
Mountaineer Hotel Stowe
The Mountaineer Inn At Stowe Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing