We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Get What You Pay For” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
New York, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

"You get what you pay for" is a good way to describe this hotel. We booked last minute for the weekend between Christmas and New Year ($179/night) and then ended up booking a second room for some additional people the next day.

The guy at the desk that checked us in was pleasant and friendly, but obviously not very well trained. We didn't receive any sort of an orientation about the hotel or any of its amenities and he was flustered when we mentioned our dogs (we had booked through www.officialpethotels.com so we were surprised he had no idea) and ended up having to reassign our rooms.

The rooms were small and outdated (think 1980's style televisions), but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was included in the room rate and was a nice spread of hot and cold options. There was also a big hot tub which was nice for apres ski.

The morning after our arrival I stopped by the front desk to let them know that we were out of the room and that housekeeping could go in- the young lady at the desk was surly and unhelpful, she seemed put out that we asked to have the room turned over. Housekeeping eventually came, but they basically only made the beds. Towels in the bathroom were not refolded or replaced, shampoo, soap and lotion were also not replaced. There was also an envelope in the room asking for tips- this is a practice that I see more and more often, but still find to be rude and horribly presumptuous. We always leave a gratuity anyway, but I think it's a classless thing for hotel management to allow.

We did have a number of dealings with Deb, the manager, and she was helpful and pleasant in all of them. It seems that there is not much money or resources being put into keeping the hotel up to date, but she seems to do a nice job with what she has.

All in all it was a great spot for what we paid. Very close to the mountain and allowed dogs which was important for us. It won't go down as our most luxurious hotel stay ever, but then again the price was right.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    20
    17
    15
See reviews for
24
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Credit not honored.
Reserved a night 2 months in advance with an employee that no longer worked there when we checked in. We changed rooms upon check in due to one less person in our party and were owed a refund. Management would not refund, gave me a credit, printed out which I saved. I returned 9 months later to book a room for a friend using my credit and they had voided the credit and would not honor it even with my paper credit. 2 of also got sick after our night stay, most likely from the dirty public hot tub. Our room had a number of unrepaired areas as well. Lots of noisy young guests that night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gcuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stowe hotels

Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel looks nice from outside, and the lobby gives people good impression. However, the mattress is too soft in the room. Most disturbing thing is the A/C unit. If we don't turn on A/C, the room temperature is too high (more than 80 F). We have to turn the A/C on. The A/C will keep working until the temperature reach your setting. Then A/C will stop. The room temperature rise again. Then A/C start working again. This kind of circle. However, every time when A/C start working, it makes huge noise. My wife and I were woke up several time at night when A/C start working. It is very annoying and we didn't sleep well all night. I don't know if this is universal condition for all room or only in our room. The thermal system need to be renovated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Reserved a king room and was put in a queen room with a saggy mattress. I ended up sleeping on the floor and my spouse slept in the bed. The manager gave a tired apology and refunded $10 of our payment. The place is run-down, overall. Had to constantly adjust the A/C during the night and the extra pillows were in a broken drawer that we could barely get open without pulling the entire piece of furniture over. No hair dryer, no iron, no coffee pot.

Room Tip: Confirm your reservation by talking to an actual person before traveling. Don't rely on your ema...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skwerllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel looks nice from the road and their website, however it is dated. A typical worn ski hotel that needs work. We had our room on the ground floor and the entire downstairs smelled musty. Hall was very narrow and kind of creepy feeling. The room smelled musty and you could smell the disinfectant spray that was trying to mask the smell. Not terrible, but not pleasant. The linens were clean but the room was out of date. Old 13" TV with staticy picture. Furniture needed to be updated. The breakfast was ok but nothing to get excited about. Cereals, breads, muffins, juice, and coffee. the coffee was good. If you want a good breakfast, go to McCarthys on the access road. Over priced for what it was and I would not stay again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

A very nice cheap and cheerful hotel . The staff were very friendly , nothing was a bother . The rooms were very clean , large and well appointed, but kind of "tired" The place could do with sprucing up a bit , but we enjoyed it very much
The hotub was the best I have ever been in , but the indoor pool was freezing , such a shame . Plenty of towels etc

Room Tip: Ask for a river view , if not , you are facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crocusgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I wrte a review last year when we stayed here but we were here again this past August and I wanted to write another review. It was another wonderful experience. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They let us keep our cold food and drink in their big walk in refrigerator which was so helpful. We had several meals outside of our rooms with friends and it was great. They are very dog friendly! We will definitely go back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Mountain Road Resort
1.4 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe

Property: The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Address: 3343 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget Inn that is located just 3 miles from Main Street, and just 3.5 miles from the famous Mount Mansfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountaineer Inn At Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Mountaineer Hotel Stowe
Mountaineer Hotel Stowe
The Mountaineer Inn At Stowe Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing