We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stoweflake is a great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stoweflake is a great place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 May 2008

My husband and I were in Vermont for the weekend, and thought that we would stop by Stowe and see the surrounding areas. We were debating between Stoweflake and Topnotch. Two of the luxury resorts in the area and chose Stoweflake since the room was cheaper and had a jacuzzi tub. The property is located on a 50 acre lot with golf course, tennis courts, pool and fitness facility. Our room was above the spa and facing the golf course/small parking area. The room was quite nice- with fireplace, king size bed and jacuzzi. Everything seems quite new. We also got to enjoy 9 hole golfing for free and borrow equipment from the sports club. There was no one playing at the time. The only downside of the property is the spa. I know it's rated as top 50 spas in the US, but prices were outrageous. We were inquiring about a couples massage, and it costs $250 for 50 minutes massage. I just couldnt bare to spend that much money for 50 minutes and it costs as much as the room. The restaurant onsite - Charlies B had great services, however the food was a bit salty and my steak was tough. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this resort for couples and families.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bellamiagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    223
    83
    46
    22
See reviews for
183
277
28
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

A group of 6 of us stayed at the Stoweflake for a weeks ski holiday. We found the hotel to have great facilities which we're also free.

The games room was good, although it did close a little early. The pool, sauna and steam room were all of a good standard, and the changing rooms were great, and it was all included in the stay. There was also free internet access in the lobby which was very handy.
The daily treats of free tea and cookies in the afternoon was great after a day on the slopes.

We had a room on the ground floor near to the lobby and restaurant. We had no problems with noise and the rooms were clean and of a good condition.

The staff were very friendly and gave us good recomendations for restaurants- try out Harrisons!
We only ate in Charlie B's restaurant in the hotel, which was nice food, although for breakfast we found it a little on the expensive side.

All in all it was a great and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JacksonLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPNY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

My boyfriend and I had a great relaxing stay here! The room was nice and very clean, loved the fireplace! Our room was down by the spa so every time you walked into the building you could smell the spa and were immediately relaxed!
Food: We ate all of our meals right at the Resort. Charlie B's was great for both breakfast and dinner. We really enjoyed the live music during dinner and the casual atmosphere with great menu selections (Try the crab cakes!) . We ate at Winfields on our last night there, and the food was excellent and we loved the ambiance.
Spa: I had the Maple sugar body scrub and massage in the Spa, the therapist was great and very sweet and the treatment was also great! Just what I needed after a long day of skiing!
Overall it was a great stay! We loved our room, the food and the Spa! It was our first time in Stowe and we really enjoyed the whole experience! Hope to return and experience Stowe in the summer!

  • Liked — Room/spa/dining
  • Disliked — Loved it all!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipper3372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2008

We have recently returned from our third trip to the Stoweflake, spread over a near 10 year period. Over that time the resort has changed a fair bit (it has got bigger!) but we still enjoyed our stay very much and we will doubtless be back. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff extremely friendly and courteous (without being in your face).

Rooms are a good size and the Queen doubles fine for a family of 4 (leastways for us - our kids are only 9 and 7). They are warm and welcoming and the fire is a nice touch.

Restaurants on site are good too - we did not on this occasion eat in Winfields but enjoyed a few meals at Charlie B's and breakfasts were reasonable and plentiful - good energy booster before a day on the slopes!

The pool area is excellent, although I would urge the hotel to replace the non-slip blue tiles close to the door to the outside hot tub as they are very hazardous - I saw 2 people take a tumble. Tiles elsewhere are fine, but the one area by the door is sub-standard.

The outside hot tub is great fun - epecially with snow flurries in the air, and the outside pool is also a strange experience in the snow.

I would give the hotel 5 out of 5 but think it is just not quite that standard - it looks slightly tired around the edges in one or two places, but this in no way means it is not a very enjoyable place to go and it gets a positive 4 (I would give it 4 1/2 if I could!).

  • Liked — Comfort and surroundings
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Katmiccollou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altus ok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2008

The Stoweflake Resort was fabulous!! We loved the outdoor hot tub with snowflakes drifting down, the spa facilities were extraordinary. Also enjoyed a day of snowshoeing and visiting a sugar house to see how maple syrup is made. Rode the horsedrawn sleigh. Everything at the Stoweflake was topnotch.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank arciero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Spent an enjoyable weekend in ski season with two children. Check in was seamless. We had the lowest category room and it was very clean, well laid out and fully functional. Amenities were all in great condition, especially the impeccable spa.

Breakfast in Charlie B's was fresh and fairly priced (for Stowe prices), real maple syrup, attentive service.

Overall feel of the property is one of order, cleanliness and focused on guests' needs.

Only criticism is the Stoweflake Dollars program which is a bit vague and seems to be administered arbitrarily, although generous.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, spa
  • Disliked — affinity plan, frost heaves!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiveoclockcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

I loved the property, service, and activities offered at Stoweflake. I was a little surprised, then, at the simplicity of the rooms. I thought there would be a bit more luxury in them to match that of the rest of the resort. The rooms on the first floor could have had a bit more privacy - they have big windows that look out onto the parking lot. When other guests had forgotten to close the shades I could easily see into their rooms. It made me a little nervous, safety-wise.

Great rate at $10 for a yoga class. Cheaper than most in NYC.

Overall a very positive experience.

  • Liked — Great outdoor jacuzzi!
  • Disliked — Rooms were plain; rest of the place was above average.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank figenschiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.9 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672-5099
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Business Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#9 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa is a full-service resort ideally located in the heart of Stowe. Owned and operated by the Baraw family for fifty years, the AAA 4-diamond property is home to an unparalleled array of amenities and facilities, including a 50,000 square foot world class spa, an award-winning restaurant, elegant accommodations, and the largest resort-based conference center in Vermont.Stoweflake is situated on 60 acres and includes golf facilities, clay tennis courts, play areas, indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and groomed XC trails. Within walking distance is a wide variety of popular restaurants, pubs and specialty shops to explore.Visit us soon for a relaxing retreat or an adventurous mountain getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoweflake Mountain Resort And Spa
Stoweflake Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing