We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3.5”

Snowmobile Vermont Stowe
Ranked #4 of 18 Outdoor Activities in Stowe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Snowmobile Tours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3.5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Two things are a turn off 1. The smell of the fuel that runs your snowmobile 2. No stops enroute. Other than that it was really good and our guide was amazing . also this was our first time snowmobiling, will we do it again? No... Should you do it at least once? Definitely!

Helpful?
Thank Gaurav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, Owner at Snowmobile Vermont Stowe, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks for coming out with us. Sorry your experience was different than you thought. We always strive for 100% satisfaction and when we hear the trip wasn't perfect we reach out to find what we could do differently. Snowmobile fumes effect all people differently. It does bother a very small percentage of our customers and we are sorry to hear you were one of them. We also guide all our trips with the direction of the customer. We apologize your wish to stop more didn't get forwarded to the guide. Im not sure if the other people were more into continued riding. If you ever do go again or have friends, pass on the tip to discuss with the guide your requests. Also if the manager at that location knew of you concerns at the time we would of and still will offer a complimentary gift to show our appreciation to you as a customer. Thanks howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    9
    1
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bloody Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

What a great way to spend 2 hours. We are in Stowe, VT primarily to ski but took a day out to try Snowmobiling for the first time and chose Snowmobile Vermont based on the great Trip Advisor reviews.

We started out at the shop to get kitted up and watch a brief safety video and were very well looked after by Cali. We then drove 10 mins down the road (with good directions) to meet up with our guide Nick. For the 13:00 slot we were also lucky enough to be in a group of 1 (with 2 of us on 1 snowmobile)...Bonus!

There was a fresh dusting of snow and we set off gently, which allowed time to get used to the snowmobile. Having existing experience with on and off road motorcycles definately helped me to progress quickly and gain confidence in the machine, behaviour on the snow and my abilities.

Nick lead the way and set the pace but kept a constant eye on us and also paused for the occassional thumbs up to ensure all was well.

Turning tight corners in deep snow was a struggle at times and a great tip is to stay out of the ruts created by other snowmobiles.

We would recommend Stowe Snowmobile Tours for anyone visiting the area during the snow season and wanting some alternative fun on the snow.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank donutbrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, Owner at Snowmobile Vermont Stowe, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Were so glad you had a great time. Thats what we strive for. Hope to see you again. Thanks Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was our first ever snowmobile ride. The guides split up as we wanted to take things a bit slower that others in our group, and I was grateful for that. I felt that they really did cater to differing abilities, and I was happy that we weren't slowing others down. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladydoc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Great experience !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We can't wait to do it again.....
The Staff were very friendly. We Definitely recommend it.!!!!
Done this before but nothing like this

Helpful?
Thank Gabby09-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and I did a tandem 2 hr ride this past week. What a great time. The staff was the most friendly you could ask for. When I called to book they were very helpful. Then when we arrived in VT I noticed that the day I had the excursion planned for was going to rain. So I called up and without hesitation they had room on another day so they switched my tour.

When we arrived it was a bit early so we hung out and they told us about all kinds of things that we could do in the area from how to get Heady Topper to what festivals to attend in all seasons. Then they fitted us for helmets and boots and helped us with what clothing would be appropriate for the driver and the passenger.

We then hopped on a quick shuttle ride to the location of the snow mobiles. We got a quick safety and operations video and then another lesson actually on the snow mobile. Then off we went. What a blast. Our guide was awesome. We went up the trails to the top of the mountain took a break and then back down again. Then we had time to play around in the open fields for a while.

The snow mobiles were in great "like new" condition and had more than enough power to put a permanent smile on your face.

I had a blast, Thanks and I can't wait to visit again!!
Mike

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikez428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Snowmobile Vermont Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing