We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited Menu but Quality Food”

Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$42
Cuisines: Austrian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Limited Menu but Quality Food”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I had the crabcake appetizer and filet mignon. Both were delectable served with the freshest greens and artfully presented.
The wait staff was knowledgeable and attentive yet not at all overbearing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Swissdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    87
    38
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views but they need a new chef.”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at the Von Trapp Logde and ate dinner there the first night because it was easy. This was a mistake, our meals were awful and very over priced. However the hotel is nice, beautiful views and wonderful hiking trails.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayroad315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Von trapp for dining....”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I’m giving the restaurant 4 stars because I believe that they are too expensive. Now on to the compliments...My husband and I took his father To the lodge on Father day for a nice dinner..We had reservations at 5, right when they opened. We had one of their brewed beers on the patio (yummy!) before dinner. We were seated immediately by the matre' D to a nice table by the window. Nice table cloths and (delft type) china. Our server greeted us immediately and took our drink order. She was wearing a German costume/uniform. She was very nice and attentive to us. A piano played in the lounge and we could enjoy his music in the dining room. The online menu doesn’t have any prices, but their table side menu does. The better deal was the 3 course dinner because we wanted Weiner schnitzel (which is on the menu) but you get soup or salad and dessert for just a few bucks more. So, we all ordered the 3 course meal for $39. We started with ham and pea soup (DELICIOUS) with a touch of vinegar. GREAT idea! Im going to try that! Of course we had the Weiner schnitzel (veal). Crispy (bread crumbs) incrusted around a heaping serving of veal. Very tasty! Bring your appetites, but if you get full they will place it in a box to take home. Dessert we had APPLE strudel. My husband and father in law have NOT had good Weiner schnitzel and apple strudel since they were in Germany many years ago. They are of German decent. The strudel was served with ice cream on an amaretto cookie and a caramel crisp thin for décor. The coffee was delicious my husband expressed. Both my Father in law and husband bragged on their choices, a dark and a light lager. The dark beer that I sipped was delicious. Our bill came to 145.00 for three people. It definatly is a nice place to go and have a wonderful, traditional, authentic, Austrian meal. After dinner we enjoyed a nice walk in the gardens. WE also saw the garden and cemetery of the Von Trapp Family. The flowers were gorgeous; Peonies, roses, poppy and others. All in all our experience was very nice for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freeloaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good But Not Great”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

While staying at the lodge we had dinner in the lounge, a la carte breakfast in the lounge (dining room not open due to too few guests) and dinner in the dining room.
Food was generally high quality, well prepared and nicely presented with one very strange exception which I will get to. Staff pretty much universally friendly (maybe a little too much so) but that is better than the opposite.
Prices are flat out high, so from a value standpoint it is not there and really are higher than they should be.
A la carte breakfast menu is very limited, which is sort of strange given how easy it is to have lots of breakfast variations using the same basic ingredients.
The real disappointment was the weiner schnitzel for dinner in the dining room - somehow when I think about this dish, and the Alps - I just do not think about "panko" for breadcrumbs. Know it is the in thing - but please this is a traditional dish - treat it that way. And the veal really should not be chewy.
So mostly quite good but pricy from an overall standpoint particularly in the main dining room.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Etsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
151 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Glorious location”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The food, service and location was 5 star - the views frrom the restaurant were spectacular. We had a lovely lunch and were not rushed during our meal.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Norfolktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Dining Room at Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing