We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ski Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Northern Lights Lodge
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great location, minutes from the ski hill. One of the closest hotels to the hill without paying way too much $$. Hotel was clean and had rustic charm. Owners very personable and easy going. Went with a group of friends and facilities were great. Hot tub was great to relax in after the hill with others. Hot buffet breakfast in morning (free!) was fantastic. Great value! Will go back next time in stowe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is a dump. Two nights without hot water, a bathroom that had hair all over it and looked like it hadnt been cleaned in months, hair on the blankets and a condescending owner. Paper thing walls were really awesome for the 3am german techno music fest heard on the first night there, this place sucked. The only good thing about this place is that it was close to mountain. Do yourself a favor and avoid the Northern Lights Hotel in Stowe. Id rather drive a half hour to the mountain then over pay to stay in this dump.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

you keep hearing how stowe is so expensive, but the northern lights lodge was very affordable' It is not high end, but if you are skiers looking for a clean well run facility with a great staff, nice breakfast and affordable, this is the place. we stayed for four nights and were very pleased with the accomodations and it allowed us to ski three of the nearby areas. we will stay here again. what a nice find!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drew a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We want to thank the Innkeepers Mike & Shannon for the hospitality they extended to us during our recent stay. We enjoyed our stay last year and decided to stay again this year and we were not dissappointed. They have done a great job since taking over a few years ago. The breakfast that is provided was more than ample with Fruit, Cereal, Fresh Muffins, Breads, Bagels, Coffee & Tea along with Eggs, Waffles or Pancakes and Bacon or Suasage. OOPs I forgot the chocolate chip cookies :-) The rooms are clean and very comfortable, The staff was freindly as well. If I had one suggestion, it would be to place rubber floor mats inside the individual guest doors so boots and shoes would not track in, either the salt or sand mix that is put on the parking lot after the snow is removed. We had such a great time we are looking forward to another trip at the end of February. Thank You!

Room Tip: We have only had good rooms both times we stayed, If you don't have a pet perhaps the main lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polin8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I have recently spent Christmas at the Northern Lights Lodge and I have to say I cannot recommend it enough.
Let me start with the room. We had two queen size beds that were extremely clean and comfortable. The room had a great wooden surround that set the atmosphere for the entire place. Although we only turned it on once there were enough tv channels to keep you happy. The shower was adequate although it did slow to a trickle on two occasions. We assumed this was down to peak use. It was, however, very clean. I particularly liked the fact that the heating was on for when we arrived.
The breakfast area and the breakfast itself was a very pleasant experience. It was well stocked at all times and we could eat in front of an open fire.
The jacuzzi, pool and sauna were a fantastic way to relax after the slopes and the people we met seemed to fit the welcoming and released feel to the hotel.
The couple who ran the place are professional and efficient. They added to the stay.
For me the draw back was a lack of a bar to start or finish the evening even though they seemed set up for it. It could be such a great meeting place for the guests to meet each other.
This said the next time I visit Stowe I shall be booking here.

Room Tip: Check for the noise of the heater. Our rooms heater was too noisy to leave on when we slept
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greedy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Pros: Conveniently located, about 4 km from the ski area. Breakfast is good. Rooms are pretty big, clean, no smells. Friendly owners. Sauna, indoors swimming pool, Jacuzzi.

Cons: Sauna is probably too small when the hotel is busy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

i went to NLL on a weekend ski trip. The place was very clean,comfortable, and cozy.It was everything i expected a vermont ski lodge to be.Northern lights was close to Stowe mt. and the town of Stowe. Our meals were included with the trip and were great.

Room Tip: 22Part of the lodge was in a separate building and you had to go outside to get to those rooms. No b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.0 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,342 reviews
3.3 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Lodge

Address: 4441 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £73 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Lights Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Lights Lodge is family owned and operated and located on the mountain road in Stowe. We are the closest affordable hotel to Mount Mansfield and the Stowe Mountain Resort. We are just minutes away from many great dining options and activities. Our amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room. In the summer, both kids and adults enjoy playing in or lounging along the banks of the west branch river, located directly behind the Lodge. All of our rates include a hot country breakfast daily. We hope to welcome you to the Lodge soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northern Lights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Stowe
Northern Lights Stowe
Northern Lights Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing