We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Northern Lights Lodge
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Although it smelled a little musty, (probably from the hot and humid weather), everything else about the lodge was top notch. Super service, nice buffet breakfast included, indoor and outdoor pool, indoor hot tub, and very helpful husband and wife innkeepers. Very clean rooms also.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    142
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
103
138
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband & I enjoyed a 2-night stay here recently. We arrived on a slack midweek day, but even though we booked through a third party discounter, the innkeeper Mike offered us an upgrade to a recently remodeled deluxe room. The room was clean and comfortable. We used the pool, hot tub and sauna and they were all well maintained. Breakfast included both hot & cold items, and there were cookies in the lobby. The real standout thing about the motel were the young owners: Mike was very gracious, accommodating, and full of ideas for us of what to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

There were insects. The room was moldy and so out dated the Partridge Family would have gagged. This motel was nothing one would have expected in afluent Stowe and we think the town should politely ask the inn to shut down and leave.

It is located close to the mountain but the poorly lit bumpy lot is too hard to deal with at night and since we didnt feel clean and eventually left, we found it to be too far from town for general needs

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank watatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Watatic,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were extremely surprised to read your review. Customer service is our number one priority and we always try extemely hard to create a pleasant, family friendly atmosphere and make sure all of our guests have a great time in Stowe. As you can see on Tripadvisor and other similar websites, nearly all of the reviewers have made positive comments about our customer service. Had you brought your concerns to our attention, we would have done everything possible to work with you to make sure you had a pleasurable stay.

We are an affordable hotel, and we try to strike a good balance between affordable and modern furnishing and while our furnishings are not be as modern as what you would find in a few of the 4 or 5 star hotels in town, most of our guests comment find the rooms to be tastefully decorated, clean, comfortable, and an excellent value..

We take great pride in our housekeeping so we were very surprised to see your comments about mold or an insect in your room. Being in the mountains, surrounded by nature, the occasional spider or other insect will manage to sneak in, but we do everything we can to chase them back out. Had you brought either of these problems to our attention, we certainly would have addressed it immediately or relocated you to a different room.

We would really appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience with you in further detail. We are always trying to improve the Lodge and your feedback would be very helpful to us. We would also like to offer you a free future night stay as we are sure that you would have a very different experience on a future visit and we would do everything in our power to exceed your expectations. Please give us a call anytime at 802-253-8541.

Have a great day,
Mike Seaberg
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixfield, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is our second stay here and it was just as great as the first. We stayed in a room that had brand new queen mattresses. My daughter and I stayed here for four nights and were sad to leave.Breakfast every morning at this place was amazing. It contained eggs, homefries, pancakes, waffles or french toast, and a meat every day. It also included baked goods from scones and muffins that were hot and fresh. Shannon is a fabulous cook. The outdoor pool looked completely redone, and the inside pool, hot tub and sauna were just perfect. We cant wait to go back next year! The inn keepers were pleasant and very accomidating. Thanks Michael and Shannon for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mykidsfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I booked at NLL out of last minute desperation without much research. I must say that Mike (owner) was very friendly and accomodating, however the room and a little run down and the one of the two mattresses in the room was really saggy. If you must stay here, then make sure you check the mattresses first. Otherwise, the place was clean so no complaints there. Make sure you check out the stars at night right outside the lodge. Amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia...via Florida...via Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2012

As a new skier this was my first ski vacation. I thought the lodge was perfect. I do agree with some of the reviews about the rooms not being the best, but the reality of it was, we were there to sleep, not hang out at the hotel all day. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. The hot tub and sauna were nice to come back to after a day at Stowe. There is no doubt in my mind that the next time we got to Stowe, we will be staying at the Northern Lights Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhsoc721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed at the Northern Lights Lodge during a ski trip to Stowe Mountain. When we first walked in the owner was there and extremely helpful! He greeted us with a smile (and a chocolate chip cookie!) and explained all the insider /local information about the skiing news in the area. The room was comfortable and clean. We also a had access to their great bar/fireplace areas for our group party! They also offer a buffet breakfast that was unbeatable! I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#14 of 24 in Stowe
265 reviews
2.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,267 reviews
4.0 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#13 of 24 in Stowe
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Lodge

Property: Northern Lights Lodge
Address: 4441 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Lights Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Lights Lodge is family owned and operated and located on the mountain road in Stowe. We are the closest affordable hotel to Mount Mansfield and the Stowe Mountain Resort. We are just minutes away from many great dining options and activities. Our amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room. In the summer, both kids and adults enjoy playing in or lounging along the banks of the west branch river, located directly behind the Lodge. All of our rates include a hot country breakfast daily. We hope to welcome you to the Lodge soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Northern Lights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Stowe
Northern Lights Stowe
Northern Lights Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing