We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Northern Lights Lodge
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too noisy to sleep”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The place was a bit of a disappointment.
It looks nice from out outside (and some parts inside), but the rooms are pretty basic and run-down (paint peeling off the doors, crudely nailed-together furnishings, tiny TV).

The main problem though, is the noise.
The heater is making such a racket that it sounds like a jet-plane is taking off outside the place. Even with ear-plugs we had a hard time getting any sleep. On top of that, due to the poor sound insulation it sounded like people walking by outside, in the hall, were trampling around on our ceiling.

Oh, and no heating in the bathroom. Very nice in the winter, in Vermont...
And what's with the breakfast hours? 7-9am on weekends??? I'm there on *vacation*, not to get up at 7am to milk the cows! Breakfast hours are actually EARLIER on weekends than they are during the week. (Not by much, but still — what's the logic there?)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frescard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    136
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
98
137
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a great time at the Northern Lights Lodge this week. Mike and Shannon were extremely friendly, the location was terrific and breakfast was top notch. Hot tub came in handy for apres-ski. Great value and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattnub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Clean, very close to Stowe ski area, and affordable. The breakfast is very good and plentiful and changes each day. If you are planning a ski trip it is a great place to sleep, eat, hot tub, swim. It is close to restaurants and all Stowe activities.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerome W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2012

we stayed at Northern Lights during the off season so were a little shocked by the cost of the room. However, it was late and we were desperate to go to sleep. The room is standard but a bit dated. The bathroom was beyond dirty - it was disgusting with hair on the floor, mold in the bathtub. Perks - the breakfast was really delicious and came with the price of the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The room in which we stayed was simple and fairly clean, the bathrooms however, could use a refresh. If you are doing outdoor activities during the day which is what we were here for it was an adequate place to sleep. The breakfast which was included with our stay was nothing to write home about. The cookies in the lobby are definitely worth grabbing and will come in handy if you're going for a hike. We had read a review here that they had free bikes for the guests, unfortunately this is no longer the case, due to insurance reasons. Bit of a shame because of all the bike trials/paths around. You can rent one close by though. Was not a negative experience but would likely consider another place for next time. The staff was very polite and helpful with tips about local tourism.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalcyonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed at the Northern Lights Lodge this past Columbus Day weekend with my parents, my boyfriend and my younger brother. I saw a lot of mixed reviews so I didn't really know what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised. The two rooms that we booked were on a corner close to the pool. The pool, by the way, is absolutely adorable and the hot tub took up many of my hours while the Patriot's game was on the Sunday we were there. They also have a game room, which my twenty-something boyfriend and I admittedly spent a few too many quarters on the "Buck Hunter" game (I imagine this room is geared toward children after a long day of skiing - board games and such were available). I had a great time here and the next time I come to Stowe this will be the place I'll book! It's close enough to downtown for a short drive but far enough away that you don't feel like you're in another tourist town. I do have one suggestion though; The TVs in the rooms have DVD players attached but there are no movies to be found. Supplying some movies would be great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Our family recently had the pleasure of staying at Northern Lights in Stowe, Vt. The owners, Michael and Shannon (nine months pregnant at the time), bent over backwards to make our visit special. Everything--from the service and accommodations to the majestic view from our room--had a special touch to it. A stone's throw from world-class skiing, hiking, and shopping, Northern Lights is a like a living postcard. We won't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room by the Little River. The sound of it is enchanting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
3.8 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Lodge

Property: Northern Lights Lodge
Address: 4441 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Lights Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Lights Lodge is family owned and operated and located on the mountain road in Stowe. We are the closest affordable hotel to Mount Mansfield and the Stowe Mountain Resort. We are just minutes away from many great dining options and activities. Our amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room. In the summer, both kids and adults enjoy playing in or lounging along the banks of the west branch river, located directly behind the Lodge. All of our rates include a hot country breakfast daily. We hope to welcome you to the Lodge soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Northern Lights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Stowe
Northern Lights Stowe
Northern Lights Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing