We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good night's rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Northern Lights Lodge
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Va
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good night's rest”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

After a day touring Vermont, we were fortunate to have made reservations at the Northern Lights Lodge. We were greeted by the young couple lodge keepers who were very pleasant and informative about the area. Our room was clean and roomy with an enjoyable view of the local folage from our picture window. We were given information on the local eaterys and made the choice of a good Italian restaurant. After dinner we returned to the lodge and had easy access to the ice and vending machines, also a washer and dryer were available. After a good night's sleep, we enjoyed a breakfast buffet in the dining room that served a good variety of breakfast fare. I would definitely recommend Northern Lights Lodge for a quaint enjoyable stay in the Stowe area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing highway are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshinegirl4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    136
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
98
137
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our overnight stay was very pleasant. A comfortable, well furnished and warm room and excellent breakfast. The couple running it were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend this very attractive motel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MSH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. As mentioned in previous reviews, the furnishing and decorations were a little well-worn. It's quite basic in some ways, but other touches make this a very good place to stay - good value for what you pay. We appreciated the hot drinks on tap, especially the apple cider and cookies, and a place to sit with our friends at any time to discuss our travel plans. Also a good array of books to borrow. One of our party enjoyed using the pool and hot tub - it looked quite plain there, but obviously had what you needed for a short swim and relaxation. I particularly loved the scenery behind the hotel - we didn't realize it was there straight away. There's a very pretty river and gazebo that are well worth enjoying for some moments, especially in the sunshine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiennah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at the Northern Lights for one night to look at the foliage in Stowe and the surrounding area. The owners were extremely helpful, providing driving directions from New York to Stowe to ensure we visited a number of smaller towns along the way and saw some of the foliage throughout the area - which was exactly what we were after.
The standard room was large, clean, comfortable and warm. Breakfast the next morning was excellent, with a wide range of fresh food available that was constantly being topped up from the kitchen. We had a nice chat with the owners during breakfast and they were once again helpful in providing directions and advice for seeing attractions around the area - definetly above and beyond what was expected.
The hot apple cider and cookies in the foyer were a nice touch!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doogie850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Northern Lights Lodge is well-located, close to town and the places to see near Stowe, Vermont. The room we had was a good size and clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful with advice on things to do and see. Breakfast was good but tasted best if the items were fresh from the kitchen. Furnishings were well-worn but adequate. We had some problems with the Wi-Fi connection but when it was rebooted, all was well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49CAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, Somerset ,UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here in the second week in October. The standard room was large and clean. The breakfast was excellent, all produce was fresh and everything was kept topped up. The young owners were extremely helpful and made the stay very enjoyable. The motel also has an indoor pool and indoor hot spa and sauna.The motel type accommodation is close to the Shows rec path which is a safe way to reach Stowe either by foot or by bike which can be hired close by. Excellent value and thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheddarJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We just stayed at the lodge for a second time ths year during Columbus Day weekend 10/11 2013 to10/14/2013. Michael and Shannon were awesome as usual.
We brought my Emotional Support dog Luna with us and she was welcomed with open arms. We stayed in the rear building that contains efficientcy rooms with a queen size bed in bdroom, a set of bunk beds off kitchen are and themost comfortable couch in the livingroomarea. The efficientcy was well equipted with everything one could ask for. Clean, comfortable and well priced, we really enjoyed ourselves.
We even spent 1 day hanging out at the property cooking out n the lodges grill andenjoying the pool, as well as relaxing by the river and running around with the dog in the field. The breakfasts which are included were fantastic and Michael and Shannon go out of thier way to do all they can to make the quests welcome and appreciated!
Thisis the only place we stay when visiting our daughter at college.

Thanks for a great place to relax!
The Biscoe family

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
3.8 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Lodge

Property: Northern Lights Lodge
Address: 4441 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Lights Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Lights Lodge is family owned and operated and located on the mountain road in Stowe. We are the closest affordable hotel to Mount Mansfield and the Stowe Mountain Resort. We are just minutes away from many great dining options and activities. Our amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room. In the summer, both kids and adults enjoy playing in or lounging along the banks of the west branch river, located directly behind the Lodge. All of our rates include a hot country breakfast daily. We hope to welcome you to the Lodge soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Northern Lights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Stowe
Northern Lights Stowe
Northern Lights Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing