We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lil lodge for a couple's getaway skiing Stowe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northern Lights Lodge
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I had previously lived in Stowe seasonally and stayed at Northern Lights Lodge on a couple different occasions and always had a wonderful experience, so when my boyfriend and I wanted to plan a little mini vacation getaway, the first place that came to mind was Stowe. When the next thought came to accommodations it was an easy choice. I called to make a reservation a month in advance for our trip, and on the phone, the owner personally helped me choose the best room for the best price on the desired dates. When we arrived after a 12hr hour drive the check-in was super quick and friendly and our room was conveniently located right where we parked. The first day the weather was the absolute pits (45 degrees and raaaaain) but our cozy room and Green Mountain coffee served all day made for a relaxing arrival . As mentioned in other reviews its no joke. An amazing complimentary breakfast started each morning just right! Can't beat that in addition to the proximity to the mountain. Literally 5 minutes. After a long day at the mountain coming back to a warm homey lodge with a comfortable bed, friendly people, hot-tub, sauna, and pool topped it off. I would definitely recommend Northern Lights Lodge to anyone looking for a perfect little spot right on Mountain Road!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vittix87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here five years ago and just recently took my girlfriend for a snowboarding trip. It was a great experience. The innkeepers are very accommodating and kind. Two words: FREE BREAKFAST! How could you go wrong?! The pool is always warm and the hot tub is hot! It is only a 5 minute drive to stowe! Such a close commute. AND they give out cookies in the lobby! We were upgraded to a king size room! I cannot imagine traveling to Stowe and staying somewhere else. We were within 5 minutes of just about everything!

Room Tip: They often have specials and promotions depending on the year, so check their website or call them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lbryant44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were there in the middle of a very slow week, and I think that we were the only ones in the main building. Owners very friendly and room clean and adequate. Comfortable bed. We did have to wait a while for the water to run hot, but that was to be expected with no one else using it. They have a great indoor pool with a hot tub and a sauna. Breakfast was made to order , but I think that was because there were insufficient people to justify a buffet. At the price it would be hard to beat in Stowe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I recently stayed at the lodge and it was wonderful. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was fantastic and the owners are one of the most caring people I ever meet. I wish you continued success. You are the best!!

Room Tip: My room was in the back and it was wonderful to see the mountains from my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife and I just got back from our second stay at Northern Lights and we couldn't be happier. This lodge offers fantastic value. The facility is clean and the atmosphere cozy. The owners obviously take a lot of pride in what they do. The breakfast provided is great and the staff is very attentive. We will be returning and look forward to our next stay.

Jason and Kristin Smith

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel was perfect for our recent stay in Stowe Vermont. The room size was generous with our requested 2 queen size beds. The bathroom was basic but spotless. The price was extremely fair. The breakfast, included in the room price, was extensive and excellent. The cookies and hot cider in the lobby in the afternoon were very appreciated and delicious. The location is halfway up the mountain road, and just a quick drive to the mountain. The innkeepers are clearly are working hard to keep the inn in good shape, and are very friendly and eager to keep their guests happy. Remember your bathing suit because the pool, hot tub, and sauna looked very appealing. If you are looking for a fancy place to stay in Stowe you won't like this place. If you are looking for a clean, friendly, comfortable, well located, excellent value place, the Northern Lights Lodge will be exactly what you are looking for. I will definitely stay here again,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sufei10536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

After a day touring Vermont, we were fortunate to have made reservations at the Northern Lights Lodge. We were greeted by the young couple lodge keepers who were very pleasant and informative about the area. Our room was clean and roomy with an enjoyable view of the local folage from our picture window. We were given information on the local eaterys and made the choice of a good Italian restaurant. After dinner we returned to the lodge and had easy access to the ice and vending machines, also a washer and dryer were available. After a good night's sleep, we enjoyed a breakfast buffet in the dining room that served a good variety of breakfast fare. I would definitely recommend Northern Lights Lodge for a quaint enjoyable stay in the Stowe area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing highway are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshinegirl4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.6 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
287 reviews
2.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
3.3 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Lodge

Address: 4441 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £68 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Lights Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Lights Lodge is family owned and operated and located on the mountain road in Stowe. We are the closest affordable hotel to Mount Mansfield and the Stowe Mountain Resort. We are just minutes away from many great dining options and activities. Our amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room. In the summer, both kids and adults enjoy playing in or lounging along the banks of the west branch river, located directly behind the Lodge. All of our rates include a hot country breakfast daily. We hope to welcome you to the Lodge soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Northern Lights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Stowe
Northern Lights Stowe
Northern Lights Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing