We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desirable Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

To begin on a positive note, the breakfast offerings were varied and plentiful. The serving area for breakfast is inadequate: there is a (maybe) 10-12 ft. counter and all food offerings and small appliances along with plates, napkins, etc. are compressed into this area and an under-counter refrigerator below the counter. This motel accommodates a LARGE number of guests and needs to expand the breakfast area - - - both serving and seating. The room was adequate. It is time however to replace the mattresses. The toilet tissue is so thin it might be considered invisible. The room rates would suggest a higher over-all quality than actually exists. The location is desirable - - close to Stowe w/o being in the middle of downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GFCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

We appreciate your feedback on our property and value your input .Thank you for your review as your feedback will help us continue to work on improving the overall guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a road trip of New England. This place was the highlight of the trip for us. Friendly helpful people, nice clean rooms, all the facilities you could want, fridge, coffee maker, sink, cooker, microwave, cutlery, glassware and free Wi-Fi. Outdoor hot tub, free bicycle use, games room and nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAMA-a1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We really appreciate your wonderful comments. Thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in one of the smaller room configurations (2 queen beds in 1 room) with our family of 4, and it was great for the 3 nights we stayed. We were on a budget on this trip. They also had bigger room configurations with 1 & 2 bedrooms that looked great. We felt the value for money was incredible given all the extras the family that run the motel throw in for free:
- Free bike hire for guests (they also have some young kids bikes with trainer wheels & a kid buggy trailer for littlies)
- Free DVD hire & there is a pretty extensive selection, not just the odd DVD like you often get!
- Good breakfast options & room to eat in your room (table & chairs in all the rooms)
- Access to Lovely (HOT) hot tub
- Free tennis court use & racquets (just have to sign up). We borrowed the bag toss game gear so the kids were distracted and we could get a game in!
- Reception has a Keurig coffee machine with pods & many options for nice teas which is available for guests if you want something more than the coffee & filter option in the rooms (& is open until 10pm)
We have stayed in many motels where we paid more and had way less to do. The grounds are gorgeous and spacious so there is lots of room for kids to play around.
I would highly recommend walking or riding the scenic cycle path that leaves from near the back of the motel. Its about a 20minute ride along this to get to the gorgeous old church in Stowe. Great coffee just opposite at the Black Cap Coffee too.
A wonderful stay which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveLustR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

I can't thank you enough for posting such a wonderful review on our property! We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy all that we have to offer and take pride in providing you with a clean, comfortable and friendly stay at our hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor and I hope you can visit us again.

 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank LindyAussie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stowemotel, Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Carolee N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stowemotel, Owner at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Stowe Motel turned out to be exactly what we were looking for, for our 4 day stay in Stowe. We stayed in a king efficiency unit and took full advantage of the amenities from the free coffee in the office, to the recommendations from the office staff, to the free DVDs, and the amenities the efficiency room offered – fireplace, fridge, microwave. We especially liked the availability of the free bicycles and use of the bike path, a highlight of our trip.

Only detracting items were the lack of wifi (generally not a big deal for us, but when it’s advertised as free and I counted on it for an online course I’m currently taking it turned out to be a small issue …. it worked on the balcony but not in our unit), and the dishes which were not all that clean (food stuck between plates and coffee rings on the bottom of the mugs).

Overall though I still give it an “excellent” rating. The value was definitely there, the property beautiful, great amenities, well maintained facility (obvious pride and care taken), and very convenient location. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emptynestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stowemotel, Front Office Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your great feedback.. While I am pleased that you had a nice stay at our property, I would like to apologize for those details that you noted in your review. Although all our buildings all have wi-fi, it does go down from time to time. We also are trying to work with a local company for more bandwidth. I will also share the housekeeping dishes oversight with our head housekeeper so she can address the issue. I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy our many amenities, such as our dvd library, continental breakfast and bikes. Thank you again for recommending us on Trip Advisor and I hope you can return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stowe can be a very pricey area, Stowe Motel offers a reasonable rate for a comfortable room with many amenities. The room we booked had a fridge, microwave, stove top, sink, pots, pans, utensils, pillows, with extra ones in case, plus additional blankets, more towels than we could ever ask for, free bike rentals, great location, small DVD library to rent movies from (many titles were new and popular!), hot tubs, continental breakfast and a gas fireplace in the room. There were other places that looked more modern, however my husband and I were very happy and comfortable. My only two complaints are that we were in the corner room on the second floor by the staircase, and we heard EVERYTHING. The walls were very thin, so anytime the guy below us or next to us turned on the fan in their bathrooms, or if someone walked up the steps, we heard it. The steps are very very loud, I would recommend management find a way to stifle the sound of people going up and down the steps, maybe replace the carpeting they have on the steps or pour concrete into the steps. Additionally, if anyone around us was showering at the same time, we had to compete for the hot water. I could literally tell when the guy below me turned his water hotter because mine got colder and vice versa, that was a bit frustrating. Otherwise, very nice, if you are on a budget, this place will give you the value for your dollar so you can enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stowemotel, Front Office Manager at Stowe Motel & Snowdrift, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our property. Your detailed feedback is very helpful and we appreciate the items that need improvement as well as the things we are doing right. I apologize for hot water fluctuation and will have our maintenance person look into what may have caused that. Soundproofing and guest noise levels are certainly one of the toughest problems all lodging properties face and although we don't have many noise comments, unfortunately noisy neighbors do happen from time to time. As we renovate rooms, we also will look into soundproofing options and possibly offer ear plugs for light sleepers like other properties sometimes do. I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy some our amenities such as our new dvd library and hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.1 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.9 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
143 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,342 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Motel & Snowdrift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Motel & Snowdrift

Address: 2043 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4768
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#3 Family Hotel in Stowe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £84 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stowe Motel & Snowdrift 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between picturesque Stowe Village and the Stowe Mountain Resort, the Stowe Motel & Snowdrift is situated on 16 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, bordered by the pristine Westbranch River. A variety of lodging including rooms, efficiencies, fireplace efficiencies, apartments, suites and houses is offered. Guests can partake in our continental breakfast, mountain bikes, snowshoes, hot tub, heated pools, tennis courts, game room and more. Free wireless is also available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Stowe Motel & Snowdrift reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Motel And Snowdrift
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift Hotel Stowe
Stowe Hotel Snowdrift
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing