We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not more than nice”
Review of Commodores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not more than nice”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

nice hotel but not more than that. room was nice. but there was no guest laundry services. the reception girl sent us to look for laundry at Stowe.
from the hotel point of view - room was clean but it looks like there is no much to do during fall or spring. I guess that during the summer or winter it is better hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yossiw1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    181
    83
    29
    19
See reviews for
133
149
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Location was very good.

The room we had was lovely, with a lot of space and very comfortable beds. The bathroom was ok, except I found it rather odd that the wash basin was in the bedroom part of the room, not in the same room as the bath & toilet.

The facilities in the pleasant guest lounge are useful. The pool looked a bit cloudy, but the hot tubs looked fine.

The food at the buffet was quite good, but not as warm as it should have been. What really lets this hotel down is the almost comical apathy of its staff! The receptionists were fairly efficient but not at all welcoming. The one man in charge of the dinner (yes, ONE, poor guy) was very nice, but the girl at breakfast was something else. No good mornings, no service. I had to ask for more plates, glasses and coffee to be brought out as nobody bothered to check if anything needed replenishing. On our second morning, when we came down for breakfast, when the girl finally noticed us, first thing she said was "Oh. Yeah, the breakfast's the same as yesterday. Food's a bit different I guess" before turning her back on us and carrying on doing something else. And they stick an automatic 15% service charge on for this!!!

Perhaps we were just unlucky, but come on Commodores, you could do better!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshire_Cat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here ages ago but it was hands down one of the best hotels I've ever been to. The food was great, the staff were friendly. I don't remember a swimming pool or a lake being there despite staying there for 5 days...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pizaaaaa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnsonville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent one night at the Commodore Inn recently. Our room was clean and satisfactory. The king bed sat way too low to the floor and you dropped onto the bed and had to climb out to stand up again. Strange. The bathroom had an in the wall door requiring a person to pull it shut with the light switch on the outside. The florescent light bulb was dim at first and took time to brighten up. The bathtub had nice grab bars but was shaped strangely like an egg timer and was narrower in the center and curved upward with a seat in the center along the back. I think if a person sat in the recess it would be difficult to stand again since it was narrow there. The staff are helpful and the lobby area is nice. We didn't eat in the dining room but it appeared well organized and had a nice buffet we were told. The location of the Inn is about a mile south of Stowe and the place would be nicer if cars weren't permanently parked under the drive in area making it difficult to get around. More handicap parking spaces should be created on the south side of the inn as there is only one there and another in an awkward space near the covered entrance. The inside could use a little more updating and maintenance with the walls pretty banged up in places. The place is pet friendly. I usually don't like to stay in places where there are pets as I've seen their messes in hallways at times.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast and dinner buffet very nice. However the entire facility is in desperate need of an update. Walls need to be stripped of old wall paper and painted. Carpet needs to be changed. There are no microwaves or refrigerators in the rooms. The TV was an antique.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sweethooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Commodores Inn. We really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. I am glad that our staff was helpful and friendly and that the breakfast and dinner were good. As far as the updating we are slowly working on that. We did just put new carpeting in all of the public areas. We have also painted the whole exterior and parts of the interior and put up some new wall paper in some of the public areas. We do have refrigerators in every room and we have a microwave in our main Lobby for anyone to use at any time of the day/night. We have also slowly been updating the TVs in different areas of the hotel.
We wish we could afford to do all of the updating at once. In the mean time we are trying to move forward as fast as we can. We look forward to welcoming you back again someday soon.
Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatamy, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I were there last night, just to eat. We're actually staying at a different Inn. I read a few of the other reviews from 10/13/13, and I agree. The poor manager/waiter was doing it all. When we came in, there was only one other couple there, and I felt bad. The same guy seated us, got our drinks, bussed our table, got our check... he was doing it all. And along with that, came the wait. Waiting for him to get back to us because he had other tables to take care of.
Yes, the decor was a bit dated. Kind of "early 90s mauve", but I thought it was fine.
I actually liked the prime rib. The mashed potatoes I thought were a bit cold though, the asparagus was a little under and the corn chowder a bit watery. The one staff member working behind the buffet was very very sweet and funny. I'd go back just to talk to him!
Overall, I'd go back again. I just hope they get more staff to cover the tables.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starwoodinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to come and eat with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that over all your experience was all right. I am sorry that our dining room manager seemed to be short of staff that evening. He is also one of those who want s to do everything himself. We have spoken to him about this reminding him that he needs enough staff to assist him so that people don't feel as if they are waiting too long. I also apologize that the potatoes were not warm enough, the asparagus were underdone and the chowder was watery. We have spoken to the chef about these issues and the importance of keeping things warm. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.
Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This a nice located hotel which is older in age. Rooms were nice size and very clean The bed which was king size was not very comfortable to sleep in There was a lot of movement when one of us moved in the bed The rooms need to be updated with many of the things other hotels offer. The property itself has a nice little lake with things to do.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
4.0 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,266 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.9 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#14 of 24 in Stowe
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Property: Commodores Inn
Address: 823 S Main St, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous coconut chicken, sesame beef tips, salads, pastas, vegetables, seafood, beef, poultry and vegetarian specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe
Commodores Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing