We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable, if you're more interested in skiing”
Review of Commodores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Acceptable, if you're more interested in skiing”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days on a ski trip with our local club. The hotel is obviously older and could use some modern touches. The lobby has complimentary coffee, a large common tv and a fireplace with some board games to relax.

The rooms need some work. Comforters are worn and a little stained and so was my mattress (black questionable stains) a few of the lights in the room also didn't work. This was all okay with the two of us since we were just in Stowe to ski and by the time we got back too tired to do anything else. Bedding was a little hard, but not the worst.

Breakfast is served every morning, it is scrambled eggs, a type of meat, and either pancakes, french toast or waffles. It is like being in a college dining hall, with the same immediate effects on your digestive tract.

A lot of reviewers have commented on the friendliness of the staff, but I found them to be the complete opposite and not at all concerned that they were rude while employed in the customer service industry. James (Turtle) in the bar is hot and cold.While there we were watching the Eagles game, the bar was semi full and he began to close up all around us at 10 pm!!! He is only semi-attentive, but the drinks are cheap. The TV's need to be upgraded in the bar as well.

I found Floyd at the front desk to be extremely rude. He answered every question with a question and was very unhelpful. We asked him to call us a cab and recommend a bar. He recommended the most expensive place in town, gave our cab to another couple and watched from the front desk (while flirting with another guest) while we stood in the vestibule of the hotel for 30 minutes. I also went down to the front desk and asked "do you have a hair dryer' and he responded with "i don't know, do i?"

Overall, I found the staff to be rude, complaining about their owner in front of and to guests, and ungrateful. Our group was reminded to tip at breakfast after a staff complain. It is a buffet and all the servers do is take your plate. I can bus my own plate.

One redeeming quality is this hotel is on the free shuttle stop so you can get downtown for a decent meal but the staff at the Commodores is either misinformed or reluctant to explain when the shuttle leaves because we were told multiple times that it is off between 5-8 and definitely took the shuttle during this time.

All this being said, if you're just in Stowe to ski and pass out when you're done, this place is acceptable. If you want to be treated like a guest instead of a nuisance, spend a few more $$ and go somewhere else. I know I will.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CP6785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do understand that we may be a bit outdated. Unfortunately at this time we cannot afford to do a complete renovation. We do update certain areas which are in immediate need. We have recently updated some of our carpeting in our public areas and painted the exterior. This summer we need to re-shingle the roof. We will also be ordering new bed spreads for some of the beds.
We have spoken to the breakfast staff about your breakfast comments and have been working on upgrading the food.
I apologize profusely for any rudeness from our staff. They all know that this is something we do not tolerate. I also apologize for the wait staff asking for tips. That is completely unacceptable.
I am sorry about the misinformation on the shuttle. They all know that the shuttle runs from 6:30 in the morning until 10 at night throughout the ski season.
Rest assured that we have spoken to all of our staff and reminded them about the importance of the fact that we are here for our guests and we want to be very welcoming, helpful and do everything we can to give each and every guest the best possible experience. Rudeness is not tolerated.
Again thank you for writing a review.
Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    184
    85
    29
    19
See reviews for
135
150
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Not a bad hotel, its obviously an older hotel but is in good condition, room was nice, good size, very comfortable and clean. staff are nice and Paul is hilarious, have the buffet in the restaurant one night just to see Paul and Ernie (might have been Eddie) in action.... made our stay enjoyable. Food was ok, you could probably get better in the main part of town but i would eat there again for sure, especially if you have had a long drive and don't want to drive again that night. you won't go hungry, but then that's impossible to do in the USA anyway. I would stay here again just for the staff being so helpful and funny. Fawlty Towers eat your heart out!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexBonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

this was a great find. private lake in back with complimentary canoe use. conveniently located near civilization so we were able to pick up things for our stay and not get lost on mountain roads. excellent dinner buffet,well worth it and the view of the lake while dining made it more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAMABEAR919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great hotel with an excellent staff and a chef who is a hidden jewel. We have been going to this hotel for several years and have never been disappointed. The staff is excellent. Close to the shopping and attractions. Rooms are average and bedding is a little hard, but it is clean and well kept. Pet friendly, two king size hot tubs , an indoor heated pool with a third hot tub, restaurant and bar, and during the summer, yacht races on the lake (motorized toy boats) and free use of canoes.

Room Tip: limited number of king beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My netbook was in my duffel and placed along the far side wall out of the way.Returned to my room to a cracked screen.Only housekeeping was in the room besides me.Inn refused responsibility of damage.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Psyman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We would like to say that we are very sorry for your damaged netbook. This is the first that we have heard about it almost one year later. It is not possible for the Inn to assume responsibility for something which may have happened prior to the report. Again we are sorry for the mishap.

Sincerely,

Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Not the best place we stayed during our trip in New England. Skip breakfast it's lousy. Most of my reviews talk of good staff, this lot were the unfriendliest we've ever encountered. You cannot walk into the town, so if you want to go to out for a meal you have to drive and not drink or get a very very expensive taxi for a one mile trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHMShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy to take any input constructively. I am very sorry that your stay was not the best. I have spoken to our breakfast chef over your concerns about the breakfast. I am especially disappointed that you felt that the staff was unfriendly. Rest assured that we have addressed this concern on our weekly meeting. There are plans in the very near future to continue the sidewalk to the Inn. Right now for the first 1/8th of a mile you can walk on the lawns on the side of the road until you reach the side walk which will take you into town. Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Carrie Nourjian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent one night at the Commodore Inn on a trip through New England in the Fall. Our room was clean and tidy with an ensuite bathroom.The staff were helpful and the lobby area with a lounge was nice. We didn't eat in the dining room but looking in it appeared good and seemed to be well used. This Inn is about a mile south of Stowe and quite convenient to sightsee. The Trapp family Lodge and estate is a few miles away as is the famous Ben and Jerry's Ice cream factory. Stowe is such a pretty place and it is well worth a walk along the Main Street and then off behind on a footpath on the outskirts of the village.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.0 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
407 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,285 reviews
3.9 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#14 of 24 in Stowe
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Property: Commodores Inn
Address: 823 S Main St, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous coconut chicken, sesame beef tips, salads, pastas, vegetables, seafood, beef, poultry and vegetarian specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe
Commodores Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing