We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion and a surprise birthday party”
Review of Commodores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had about 58 people from grandpa and grandma to kids
The place was spotless, the quality is topnotch for sure.
The staff are friendly with full attention to details.
The kids stayed for a couple of night, loved it, they really did enjoy the pool.
The owners are personally involved with hands on approach, they welcome you and bid thee farewell.
I like that.

Room Tip: Enjoy the pond view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for 1 night and arrived in Stowe to heavy snow.

The lobby looked quite nice with a big fireplace (not lit) and sofas. There was free coffee.

The room was like something from the 1970's! The bead spread was dark and patterned so you couldn't tell if it was clean. The sheets were cream not white, so looked dingy and old. The bathroom (presumably for disabled guests) had a bizarre shower/ bath unit with a seat in it, and a very high disabled toilet seat. The sink unit was old and cracked! All the woodwork was scratched and chipped. It seemed clean.

The rooms need a total refurbishment including new bathrooms, furniture, bedding and décor. The photographs on the website must be very old as it does not look like it does in the photos.

Only one member of staff was pleasant and the others tended to just sit around the hotel lobby and made no contact with us whatsoever.

We didn't eat there because we felt awkward being the only guests staying there.

Stay somewhere else to encourage these people to spend some money and update this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XerxesL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We do understand that the Inn needs some updating which we have been working on as the finances permit. We have put new carpeting in the public areas recently and also have painted the whole exterior and some of the interior. We are currently putting new shingles on the roof and will be doing new bedding this spring as well.

I am sorry that the fire was not lit upon your arrival because the staff know that it is supposed to be lit during the evening hours to welcome all guests during the winter months. I also apologize for any staff who may not have been welcoming. Rest assured that we have spoken to all staff of your concerns. We remind them that they must treat our guests just as they would like to be treated when they are away on vacation.

Thank you again for your review.

Carrie Nourjian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Clean but dated. Felt like stepping back in time 10 years. TVs are terrible. Fitness center is a joke.

Decent dinner at the bar, and friendly bar tender.

Coffee in the lobby was good.

Super nice people though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We understand that we are outdated but are doing everything we can to bring things up to date as the finances permit. We have been gradually replacing the TVs with new ones. We have also put new carpeting in all of our public areas and we have repainted the outside and some of the inside of the hotel. We have also done some new wall papering. We are currently working on re-shingling the roof of the building. We will also be doing some new bedding as well.

We do not have a fitness center. We have 3 Jacuzzis, 2 saunas and an indoor pool.

Thank you for the nice feedback on our staff. We work hard on trying to keep a very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Our housekeeping staff do an amazing job of keeping everything clean even if it is outdated.

Thank you again.

Carrie Nourjian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

-we stayed 2 nights. On the first night we decided to sit by the fire to read. Nobody was there besides us and the staff. The fire was turned off while we were right there and the tv turned up loudly. We politely asked for it to be turned down. The woman staff said they had to leave it in and less than politely turned it down.

-on our second night, we went in the hot tub. The tub and pool were clean. Then a couple drunk people from outside the hotel came in WITH the beer glasses. They even went to the front desk to get towels and were not stopped. They got into underwear and jumped in trying to get our names and room number. We left and called the front desk. Later that night we went to sit in common area. The staff was talking loudly about what happened and even saying rudely and two guests called us to report them! In front of us! It was maybe 30 min later a staff rudely loudly cursed. Oh and of course the fire was off again. You can't advertise a sitting room with a fire and keep it off when guests are there!

The rooms were old but clean. The location is great. But if you want good service...I wouldn't stay there. Lack of professionalism.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honestreviewshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize that our front desk staff were rude and unhelpful during your visit. Please know that we do not tolerate this sort of behavior.
We have spoken to all of the staff addressing your concerns so that this will not happen again.

I am very sorry that they did not have the fire going for you because they know that whenever someone is sitting in the Lobby the fire must be going. When we are busy the fire is supposed to be going at all times throughout the evening because it is a wonderful way to welcome our guests as they arrive along with cookies and juice.

I am also sorry that the TV was too loud. We do keep the remote for the TV at the front desk but anyone may take it at anytime to change the TV to whatever channel or volume they would like. Again I apologize for any lack of courtesy from our staff. This will not happen again.

Carrie Nourjian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel is tired and needs an upgrade - which is clearly reflected in the lower prices compared to other nearby hotels. The buffet breakfast is standard American eggs, pancakes, meat - nothing to rave about. The rooms are very dated and the location is slightly off the main route up to the mountain - in case you're going to Stowe to ski.

It's definitely an economy play if you stay here. Nothing special at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewJerseyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Commodores Inn. We do understand that the hotel needs an upgrade. We do as much as we can according to the current finances. Not long ago we put new carpeting in all of the public areas, painted the whole exterior of the building and some of the interior as well as some new wall papering. We are currently putting new shingles on the roof and will be doing new bedding as well.

We are also working on a new menu which will be available very soon. We are actually getting away from the buffet and going to a plated dinner and breakfast except when we are very busy with groups in house.

We are 6 miles from the ski area. During the winter the town shuttle leaves the Inn every 1/2 hour to take anyone to the ski slopes.

Thanks again for your review.

Carrie Nourjian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Commodores Jan 26 – 31, 2014 with the subject ski club. The place was a delight. Yes, it’s not crisply new but it’s very comfortable and has all the amenities we were looking for. Our stay included breakfast and dinner. Food was very good, plentiful with plenty of selection. Everyone in our group seemed completely satisfied. The wait staff was very attentive and paid particular attention to a few of our number with special dietary needs and preferences. Kudos to the Commodores Inn!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days on a ski trip with our local club. The hotel is obviously older and could use some modern touches. The lobby has complimentary coffee, a large common tv and a fireplace with some board games to relax.

The rooms need some work. Comforters are worn and a little stained and so was my mattress (black questionable stains) a few of the lights in the room also didn't work. This was all okay with the two of us since we were just in Stowe to ski and by the time we got back too tired to do anything else. Bedding was a little hard, but not the worst.

Breakfast is served every morning, it is scrambled eggs, a type of meat, and either pancakes, french toast or waffles. It is like being in a college dining hall, with the same immediate effects on your digestive tract.

A lot of reviewers have commented on the friendliness of the staff, but I found them to be the complete opposite and not at all concerned that they were rude while employed in the customer service industry. James (Turtle) in the bar is hot and cold.While there we were watching the Eagles game, the bar was semi full and he began to close up all around us at 10 pm!!! He is only semi-attentive, but the drinks are cheap. The TV's need to be upgraded in the bar as well.

I found Floyd at the front desk to be extremely rude. He answered every question with a question and was very unhelpful. We asked him to call us a cab and recommend a bar. He recommended the most expensive place in town, gave our cab to another couple and watched from the front desk (while flirting with another guest) while we stood in the vestibule of the hotel for 30 minutes. I also went down to the front desk and asked "do you have a hair dryer' and he responded with "i don't know, do i?"

Overall, I found the staff to be rude, complaining about their owner in front of and to guests, and ungrateful. Our group was reminded to tip at breakfast after a staff complain. It is a buffet and all the servers do is take your plate. I can bus my own plate.

One redeeming quality is this hotel is on the free shuttle stop so you can get downtown for a decent meal but the staff at the Commodores is either misinformed or reluctant to explain when the shuttle leaves because we were told multiple times that it is off between 5-8 and definitely took the shuttle during this time.

All this being said, if you're just in Stowe to ski and pass out when you're done, this place is acceptable. If you want to be treated like a guest instead of a nuisance, spend a few more $$ and go somewhere else. I know I will.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CP6785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
commodores, Owner at Commodores Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do understand that we may be a bit outdated. Unfortunately at this time we cannot afford to do a complete renovation. We do update certain areas which are in immediate need. We have recently updated some of our carpeting in our public areas and painted the exterior. This summer we need to re-shingle the roof. We will also be ordering new bed spreads for some of the beds.
We have spoken to the breakfast staff about your breakfast comments and have been working on upgrading the food.
I apologize profusely for any rudeness from our staff. They all know that this is something we do not tolerate. I also apologize for the wait staff asking for tips. That is completely unacceptable.
I am sorry about the misinformation on the shuttle. They all know that the shuttle runs from 6:30 in the morning until 10 at night throughout the ski season.
Rest assured that we have spoken to all of our staff and reminded them about the importance of the fact that we are here for our guests and we want to be very welcoming, helpful and do everything we can to give each and every guest the best possible experience. Rudeness is not tolerated.
Again thank you for writing a review.
Carrie Nourjian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,411 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
291 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Address: 823 S Main St, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range: £79 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous Coconut Chicken, Shepard's Pie, Clam Chowder, Waldorf Salad, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe
Commodores Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing